We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
96
7
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
96
7
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zambezi river fire pit an unforgettable experience wildlife safari bush camp tent mana thrilling
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 106 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2019

My wife and I have recently returned from four nights at Little Vundu and although I normally refrain from leaving reviews, I feel compelled, in this case, to offer some feedback. This trip was our 10th Safari and our first visit to Zimbabwe and Mana Pools. We were met by our guide, Garth at the airstrip and immediately felt we were in good hands. Little Vundu in my opinion is the perfect example of a simple, no nonsense Bush Camp. It's location on the banks of the majestic Zambezi is spectacular, with game and bird life moving through the camp on their way to the river. The food provided was plentiful and delicious, the tents were spacious with very comfortable beds and the camp staff were very attentive with cold beers and laundry.... in other words " everything you need and nothing you don't ". We visited the main Vundu Camp and shared a beer with the delightful owners, Nick & Des and their excellent staff. The main camp is also fabulous and we were made to feel very welcome, but we preferred the intimacy of Little Vundu.... just our personal preference.
The highlight of our stay at Little Vundu however, was our guide Garth. It's fair to say, we have never had a better guide and enjoyed fantastic, informative game drives, whilst stopping to track Lion, Cheetah and Buffalo on foot... and back in camp we engaged in lively conversation round the dinner table. The highlight of our trip came on our last morning, where an early morning start found us spending 45 mins in the bush with the Nyakasanga Wild Dog Pack, Violet and her five pups.... absolutely magical !!

Nick & Des and especially Garth... thank you for hosting us at Little Vundu... we had the best time...

Bryan & Jan Ferguson
East Lothian
Scotland

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushlifeSafaris, Owner at Vundu Camp - Bushlife Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Hi Bryan,

We loved this review and we so very glad you had "everything you need and nothing you don't!"
Garth is a real gem in our team, and a wonderful professional guide. What an awesome sighting to see the painted wolves - especially Violet and her five pups - a special treat. Thank you for coming on safari with us - it really means a lot for the whole team to hear that you had the "best time!".
Thank you, Des.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

We (4 adults) stayed 3 nights at Little Vundu Camp, a fairly short distance from the main Vundu Camp. We were the only guests, which was very nice. This was our 5th African safari, and we have experienced mobile tented camping to very nice lodges. I have to say this was our most disappointing experience, camp-wise. The tents were very spacious, but sparsely accommodated - the large bathroom had one sink, shower, and drying rack -- there was no table to place anything. The inside of the tent was very dusty. Though no fault of anyone, our tent was located under a tree where baboons slept, and we constantly had an odor of baboon poo. Amenities were lacking. The staff was very nice, but occasionally lacked attention to detail. The camp manager from the main camp didn't appear to meet us until the day before we left, and said she would see us the next day before our departure. She never appeared. However, the highlight of this camp was our guide Garth. He was so knowledgeable, friendly, and so very accommodating to us. We appreciated his experience tracking animals and his overall knowledge about everything. Really enjoyed our conversations with him. He was absolutely delightful.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThomasS11002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushlifeSafaris, Owner at Vundu Camp - Bushlife Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, and for coming to stay at Little Vundu. We do appreciate your comments and will do our best to address the attention to detail that is required to maintain our normal high standards. We are very glad that you were happy with our passionate and knowledgeable safari guide, Garth, and that you had some excellent sightings of the painted wolves and the iconic elephant bulls of Mana Pools.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

We loved the view from our accomdation, looking out to the Zambezi river and the escarpment in the backdrop with Zambia on the other side. The room was comfortable with en-suite bathroom. The staff was great. We had Jim as our guide and enjoyed his personality and guiding very much. We chose the camp with the understanding that Nick (the owner) puts an emphasis on high quality guides and Jim did not disappoint. The highlights were to see wild dogs and Boswell on foot. We had the vehicle to ourselves with generous and flexible game drive schedule, which were very important to us. A great stay overall.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank First L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushlifeSafaris, Owner at Vundu Camp - Bushlife Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely, positive review.

Both Nick, and myself, are qualified professional guides with many (many) years of experience and we ensure that all of our professional guides on our team are the very best, so we are delighted to hear that Jim did not disappoint! Jim has a wealth of experience and his passion for the bush is only matched by his vast knowledge. Thank you for coming on safari with us, and for letting us know you had a "great stay overall"!
Thank you, Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

Little Vundu is a few kilometers away from the main Vundu Camp. It is a bit smaller and during our 3 nights - we were the only 2 in camp. Our guide Mitch met us at the air strip and drove us to the lodge. We had already been to Kenya, Tanzania and Botswana where we had seen the big 5 many times over. On our way to the camp, Mitch saw some buffalo, hippos and baboons so we got out of the jeep and walked for a bit - which is not allowed in most of the parks. Our camp was beautiful - overlooking the mountains and the Zambezi River. The tent was huge with an on suite and running water. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the linens were perfect for the cooler nights. The food was excellent and the service unreal. The 2 of us were very spoiled! We visited the Vundu Camp to use one of the boats and met the manager Natalie who could not have been nicer. She kept checking with us (as did Mitch) to make sure everything was to our liking. Natalie saw we were going out on the boat without hats and quickly went to get us a couple to borrow. She was very thoughtful! This is one exceptional camp and if you are in Zimbabwe - you MUST come here. Mana Pools turned out to be one of our favorite of the entire trip and the camp cannot be beat. Thank you Natalie for the wonderful service and Mitch Riley - thank you - you are one outstanding guide!!!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DMR-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushlifeSafaris, Owner at Vundu Camp - Bushlife Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2019

Wow - thank you for this excellent review!

We know that there are many places to go on safari in Africa, and we are so glad you chose to come on safari to our little piece of paradise in Mana Pools. Thank you for all your lovely words about the service, accommodation, Natalie our manager and Mitch - one of our incredible professional guides...it means a lot to hear that you so enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for coming on safari with us, and we are chuffed to be chosen as your " favourite camp"!

Thank you, Des.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

This was our fifth trip to Southern Africa and by far the best. What Nick and his staff at Vundu Camp is able to provide is simply so much above what you get with a "typical" vehicle based safari that there is simply no comparison. At Vundu Camp the truck is just a way to get to your starting point. It's when the engine shuts off that the adventure begins. From tracking lions (and finding them) on foot, walking with a pack of wild dogs, getting close enough to elephants to count their eyelashes or dodging hippos while canoeing the Zambezi; a trip to Vundu Camp is a fully interactive few days of sensory overload in the bush. We were extremely fortunate to have the owner and lead guide Nick as our private guide. He has a reputation for getting "extremely close" and did not disappoint as we were able to walk with elephants, lions, hyenas and wild dogs; all at very close range. This is not your "typical" safari where you are driven from sighting to sighting. At Vundu camp you are as much participant as observer and that brings everything to another level.

Of the many highlights we had was spending an evening with one of Nick's favorite elephants, Tusker. The relationship he has with some of these bull elephants and Tusker in particular truly amazing.

The camp itself is an amazing touch of luxury in an exceptionally remote location. The main dining area is gorgeous with a beautiful view over the Zambezi and the chalets are spacious and comfortable. Natalie, the camp manager, keeps everything running like clock work with amazing service and great food prepared by head chef Lloyd.

We cannot thank Nick, Natalie and their team enough for making sure everything was perfect. I once read a review from an Africa Travel Guide that said the only bad thing about Vundu Camp and Mana Pools is that it's "just too good" and will ruin you for every thing else. They could not have been more right and we will definitely be back on our next trip in 2021.

Joe & Deb James

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushlifeSafaris, Owner at Vundu Camp - Bushlife Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2019

Hi Joe and Deb,

Thank you for a wonderful review and beautiful title as that is exactly what we try to offer to our guests - " an interactive, all sensory, totally immersive safari!"

We can't really add too much more to this review except to say you are as good with words as you are with a camera for sure! Thank you for coming on safari with us, and our whole team is so happy to hear that you thought we were "by far the best!"

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in 2021.

Thank you, Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews