We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari for grown ups, except they make you feel really safe.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mana Pools National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goliath Safaris Luxury Tented Camp
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I were confident, calm and relaxed, well almost. I am not sure about our guides but they followed the advice from the tree, which was pinned on the wall of the bar, and 'stood tall and proud and went out on a limb' - taking us both along more happily that we could ever have imagined!
Our three days at Goliath were great, we loved it. We've been on many safaris. We've even been on one walking safari in Botswana, but never have we done anything like this. On day one we got very, very close on foot to wild dogs, after a long, exhausting and skilled tracking effort by Stretch. Boy was it worth it. It was fantastic. On day two we got very close on foot to lions, a whole pride of them, and for good measure 200 buffalo! On day three we got very close on foot to two lions and various elephants, one of whom was admonished for conducting itself in a manner unbecoming, amazing. I am pleased to say it calmed down.
Our thanks go to Stretch, Steve Barry and Reuben, all were excellent for taking us where we had never gone before. Thank you guys. We will never forget it.
Goliath is a comfortable, intimate and friendly camp. A wonderful place in a great setting at the heart of Mana Pools and right by the banks of the wide and beautiful Zambezi, crocs, hippos, sunsets and all. You live a little here. They looked after us royally, in and out of the Land Rover, and in the camp too, where Sarah and her wonderful team did a great job with good food and kind service.
We shall return and you must go too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is our fourth visit, and being African born and bred, this speaks for itself. Every year there are little enhancements in comfort and cuisine, so each trip becomes more of a treat. Stretch Ferreira is still a living legend and expertly tracks his lions, his dogs and his beloved eles, offering clients 'moments' up close with each and all. This year team members excelled in landing two giant vundu - both between 30 and 40 kgs, thanks to the skill of resident expert Siraaj. But it's unfair to single out any one person for praise as the Stretch experience is a team effort, whether its having the G & Ts ready for the sundowner, the picnic in a magical spot for lunch, the laundry folded and clean on the same day, or the canoeing expertise that is so necessary in a river full of crocs and hippo. We always fly down with Executive Air who bend over to fit into your needs and schedules. Counting the days to the next visit!

Room Tip: If you are scared of night noises take a tent nearer the centre of the camp! The eles crunching outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our 4th trip back to Goliath Safari's and our best yet. Close encounters with Elephant, lion, buffalo and my favourite - the wild dogs - we saw 7 pups this year. The Goliath experience can not be faulted - Stretch is an amazing guide with the most infections laugh and Flo and the rest of the team will make sure that you have a truly unforgettable experience. Mana is a magic place and Goliath make sure that you experience many magical and unforgettable moments.

Room Tip: They are all good - if you are new to safari ask for one closer to the main camp / entertainment are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was my fifth safari but I've never seen anything which could equal Stretch's ability to talk to the elephants. He got myself and 7 other guests to pose in front of a big bull elephant. I can only describe it as awe inspiring.
I also saw plenty of other elephants, lions, hyenas, eland, greater kudu, hippos, baboons,
and impala. It was incredible looking into the eyes of the camp's resident elephant. The birding was also superb. Stretch tracked a pack of wild dogs, but we only heard them bark. Nevertheless
it was interesting to see how the den and how one dog always acts as a sentinel for the rest of the pack.
Stretch is a very kind man with a great and self deprecating sense of humor. Yes I would agree that staying at Goliath Camp is one of the best wildlife experiences one can have in Africa.
Stretch's partner Flo and the rest of the staff also do a superb job. The dinners, desserts, and snacks were all excellent. I especially enjoyed the barbeque.
This is not a camp for those seeking luxury. However, the beds are comfortable and their is always hot water available. The location on the banks of the Zambezi is superb.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africanman_840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Goliath Safari Camp on the banks on the Zambezi is unbeatable.
There is a perfect blend between the ultimate bush experience and comfort.
No fancy air conditioners , and no cell phone signal .
The food is simple but tasty and the staff are excellent.
The star attraction is walking with a legend, one in a million, Stretch.
Take a good pair of walking shoes.
You will experience Elephants like never before.
If you are wanting to visit Mana, look no further.
It will change your life.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was recommended to Goliath Safaris at Mana Pools (an area I had never visited before) as a 'Game experience' with a difference, but I had no idea just how different this would be. From my initial contact with Flo who went out of her way to ensure that Goliath opened slightly earlier this season to accommodate our travelling needs, to the few days we had there - it was all just the most superb experience. The camp, right on the banks of the Zambezi offers 5 star quality and service. Stretch's passion, knowledge and humble demeanour made this a journey to remember - the long walks through the bush, the wild dogs only metres away, the elephants who open their ears and hearts to his gentle conversations, canoeing the Zambezi mindful that this is the territory of huge families of hippo, not to mention the wonderful birding - Lillian's Lovebird, the rufous bellied heron and a rare sighting of an African Harrier Hawk digging 2 days in a row in a dried up inlet. The lions were elusive this trip - but more than enough reason to return one day and for longer next time. A week's sojourn would do this wonderful area justice and would do wonders for your spirit too! We did this trip by road - which is long, dusty and corrugated - but well worth the bone rattling couple of hours. Check out their website - it is all you see there but just better!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanita066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to Goliath Safari's, each visit has been varied, special and memorable.

Stretch and his team are very special and passionate about Mana Pools and their insight and knowledge of the animal behavior contribute to the total safari experience. The tented camp is very comfortable and well situated on the banks of the Zambezi river. Bearing in mind the varied nature and interests of guests, Stretch asks upon arrival at the camp of each individuals expectations and tailors your stay accordingly. The experience of walking in the park on foot up close to lion, elephant and the like is akin to a life changing experience. Unfortunately, after being spoilt in this manner it makes one wonder how future safari trips will compare.

In addition to the game viewing, guided tiger fishing and unbelievable canoeing on the river is also available.

The food at the lodge is excellent and cannot be faulted.

A highly recommended experience.

I recommend that you log into Goliath Safari's web site and read Flo's news letters, if this does not inspire you, nothing will.

I recommend a fly in trip as the harassment by Zimbabwean police can be an unpleasant experience.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goliath Safaris Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goliath Safaris Luxury Tented Camp

Address: Mana Pools National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland Central Province > Mana Pools National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Mana Pools National Park
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goliath Safaris has operated and run walking and canoeing safaris in Mana Pools National Park for over thirty years. All safaris are tailor-made to suit the guests in camp. There are no set routines, only wish-lists fulfilled. The camp sleeps a maximum of 12 guests in luxury twin-bedded East African tents with ensuite facilities, all nestled amoungst the trees on the banks of the Zambezi River. Activities include game drives, walks, canoeing and fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing