We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Camping Sites at Mana Pools National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Limousin, France
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Not quite as luxury as across the Zambezi in one of those lodges of the Zambian side, but Zimbabwe has been though such a rough couple of decades that lodges at Mana Pools have definitely lost the prestige they had in the 80s and 90s and are in need of upgrade and... tender loving care.
Lots of animals, elephants, hippos, hyenas, baboons, kudus, crocs, buffaloes, impalas, waterbucks ... you name it! It remains an absolute fantastic African experience if you're not after absolute comfort, if you like the 'old fashioned' camping styles where you still have to bring everything along and cater for yourself. Great staff, very helpful and dedicated despite lack of means.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Philippe-Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“walks in mana pools”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

pretty awesome place and amazing exeprience.have camped in a lot of sites in the park for the past 14yrs and have had a breath taking moment each time lm in the park.its a little paradise on the bank of the mighty zambezi....awesome

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Bono L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Vundu Camp in Mana Pools! An Incredible 4 Nights!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Vundu Camp was our 4th stop on our 25th anniversary trip to southern Africa. While rustic, our large tent was very comfortable and safe. Each morning began with our "Knock-knock" wake-up call. Spike, our guide, was great (an incredible source of knowledge about all aspects of the bush). What is different in Mana Pools is that, in addition to game drives, guests can walk in the bush. On one walk, we heard impala snorting their alarm noises. But, they were not looking at us. Spike thought there might be some lions in the area, and we went looking for them. After a few minutes, Spike saw a pair of lions (still completely invisible to me) in the bushes. We paralleled their path for about 20 minutes, until they started looking at us and making little grunting growls. At that point, Spike decided it would be a good time to move on. I got some great pics and vids from about 50 yards out. One afternoon, we went canoeing down the river with the many hippos. The non-wildlife highlight of our stay at Vundu Camp was our anniversary eve dinner. The crew surprised us with a table set on a little beach area right on the bank of the Zambezi River (for those old enough, reminiscent of old Tarzan movies). Spike joined us with his “elephant gun” to provide security from the hippos that were snorting nearby in the river. Dinner ended with a cake with the following caption: “25 Years in Africa.” Nick and his team did a great job of making us feel welcome. And, our experiences were very different than at our previous camps.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Tuscans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mana pools magic”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We camped at the exclusive BBC camp at Mana pools. Althought the camp has only a very rudimentary toilet and no water, it is an excellent site for those who wish privacy and experience nature at its best. We almost saw two lion kills while sitting in camp: The one was an attempt on a Waterbuck and the second a charge ofn a group of hikers, which was fortunately aborted at the last moment, when we pressed one of vehicle's hooters to warn the group about the lions!

We also saw a large number of elephant, buffalo and hippo, while sitting in camp. Other interesting species that we saw while driving were: eland, zebra, impala, waterbuck, crocodiles, vervet monkey and baboon.

The main camp has proper ablutions with hot water although these are rustic and may be busy during high seasons. Mana Pools is definitely worth the while, although the 70km dirt road is VERY badly corrugated and it is not adviseable to tow a trailer, as is attested by the many wrecks along the way. Our offroad caravan was badly hammered with both coil springs coming out and a number of pop rivets breaking off.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank peetvdyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Camp Zambezi in Mana Pools”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Incredible, Mana is one of the Worlds best kept secrets - you have to travel to Mana once in your lifetime!!! Stunning Canoeing, Incredible Walking and hearing Lion call at night was awe inspiring - not to mention the Mana Elephants - such gentle giants!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly_Anne293760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camping Sites at Mana Pools National Park also viewed

Hwange National Park, Matabeleland North Province
 
Chiredzi, Masvingo Province
 

Been to Camping Sites at Mana Pools National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing