We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kariba Bush Club”
Review of Lake Kariba

Lake Kariba
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kariba
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Choma, Zambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Kariba Bush Club”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed 3 days at the Kariba Bush Club.
The staff were most accommodating, the food was delicious
and it was an extremely relaxing time. The en suite chalet
was decorated in typical African style and the area was quiet
and peaceful. The sunset cruise and dinner was a memory
I will always cherish. The surrounding islands are full of a
variety of wildlife.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaerond d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    43
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“How to cross Lake Kariba”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We loaded our 15 cars and 30 people onto a Kariba Ferry to take a 22 hour cruise down the length of Lake Kariba from Kariba to Mlibizi.
The ferry is small and you dine and sleep on one of two decks on comfortable loungers where mattresses, pillows and blankets are provided. There is a bar and a food serving area where you are served lunch, dinner and breakfast. The food is simple but very good.
There are excellent separate men's and ladies showers and toilets.
It is a great trip and the scenery, sunsets and sun rises over Lake Kariba are something else.
Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kariba Dam Wall”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

An amazing piece of engineering and African history. Lake Kariba on one side and the mighty Zambezi River on the other. Well worth a visit - watch out for the vevert monkeys. Remember to take your passport, which is left with the authorities whilst you visit the dam.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank choochoomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“House boat on Lake Kariba”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed on the Alister House Boat on Kariba. The boat itself is due for refurbishment which I think they delayed as we wanted to book it. Its the only smaller size houseboat advertised with three double rooms all with en-suite bathroom/showers with hot and cold water. The beds were comfortable and after the fresh air and sunshine of cruising we all slept well. The crew (4 men) were great. They managed all the routine chores on board including preparing and serving meals and cleaning up. They organised the tender boat so we could go and observe game on nearby islands and set up rods/bait so we could go fishing (and we caught plenty of bream for all to consume). They even organised an on-board brai. We saw a couple of tiger fish, elephants, impala and hippos along with lots of bird life. All in all it was a very relaxing break though it worked out quite expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank funferall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Tranquil and quiet”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fishing is not too good due to overfishing. A ride to the dam wall is good as is a boat trip. Learning the history and viewing old photos is worthwhile

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Kariba also viewed

Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
Matobo National Park - The Matopos, Matabeleland South Province
 
Mana Pools National Park, Mashonaland Central Province
Chiredzi, Masvingo Province
 

Been to Lake Kariba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing