We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House boat on Lake Kariba”
Review of Lake Kariba

Lake Kariba
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kariba
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“House boat on Lake Kariba”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed on the Alister House Boat on Kariba. The boat itself is due for refurbishment which I think they delayed as we wanted to book it. Its the only smaller size houseboat advertised with three double rooms all with en-suite bathroom/showers with hot and cold water. The beds were comfortable and after the fresh air and sunshine of cruising we all slept well. The crew (4 men) were great. They managed all the routine chores on board including preparing and serving meals and cleaning up. They organised the tender boat so we could go and observe game on nearby islands and set up rods/bait so we could go fishing (and we caught plenty of bream for all to consume). They even organised an on-board brai. We saw a couple of tiger fish, elephants, impala and hippos along with lots of bird life. All in all it was a very relaxing break though it worked out quite expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank funferall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    45
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamberoo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Tranquil and quiet”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fishing is not too good due to overfishing. A ride to the dam wall is good as is a boat trip. Learning the history and viewing old photos is worthwhile

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Kariba is a small town but with lots to see, the with all the breath taking views while driving to Kariba and not to forget the wild life, elephant, lions, giraffe and baboons. Then onto a house boat for a few days island hopping. Fishing and game viewing and just enjoying the scenery and not forgetting the excellent service of the crew on the house boat. A must.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank natty260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kariba Bush (Island) Camp”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was an experience of a life time !!
We were 6 adults in the party departing with a slow boat cruse to an island in the middle of the Kariba lake consisting of only 4 luxury tents and each having its own on-suite bathroom with hot and cold running water and flushing toilet. Beds are comfortable and linen is clean. You can lie in your bed and experience the solitude, wild life and views of the lake. In the evenings you make a big fire i.e. for preparing food and for enjoying drinks and just experiencing the absolute wonder of the remoteness and the night sky filled with stars. I will recommend at least two nights and two full days on the island in order to walk all the routes and paddle on the lake
This is a must for your bucket list.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cattle Ferry”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The captain overbooked the ferry and it was terribly crowded with young people drinking and staying up late. You won't see any animals what so ever. I would highly recommend taking a flight and sparing yourself this nightmare you won't miss anything.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjpenn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Kariba also viewed

Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
Matobo National Park - The Matopos, Matabeleland South Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Chiredzi, Masvingo Province
 

Been to Lake Kariba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing