We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years”
Review of Lake Kariba

Lake Kariba
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kariba
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“New Years”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Went to Kariba for the new years party, what a place.
Such a lovely place with many fantastic aights, history and wildlife.
Superb, will definately visit sometime in the future

Helpful?
Thank ScottMcGhee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    45
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sea lion kariba ferry”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I had a great experience on the Sea Lion with the company Kariba Ferries
I needed to get to Vic Falls as I did not have a vehicle
It was a long trip approximately 22hours but all meals are included in the price
The chairs are collapsible to make sleeping a pleasure
Staff are friendly and service excellent
Will recommend it any day

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank swan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Forgotten Gem of Africa”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Kariba offers hundreds of kilometers of untouched and wild lake shore teaming with animals. Hire a houseboat and cruise these spectacular shores or stay at any one of many lodges and camps along the Lakeside and National Parks.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jimfromzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Visited Lake Kariba and the Charaya National Park in September 2012. We stayed in the Nzou Lodges.

We had an amazing time, seeing crocodiles, elephants, zebra, hippos etc. Some of our group went out tiger fishing and had success. My boyfriend grew up here in the 1980s/90s and during that time you apparently could swim in the lake, now we had warnings of not to even walk by the lake or put our hands in the water from the boat else a croc would get you!

The Dam wall was the hottest place on earth but great views.

Kariba Heights is a ghost town but luckily we had brought all our provisions up from Harare. Did go up there to do a geocache however!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Man made lake full of tiger fish, surrounded by the best wild life in the world. Really relaxing and fun too!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mark Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Kariba also viewed

Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
Matobo National Park - The Matopos, Matabeleland South Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Chiredzi, Masvingo Province
 

Been to Lake Kariba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing