We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumi Hills is truly one of Zimbabwes hidden gems!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

By far the BEST holiday experience my husband and I have ever had. Nathalie and Willem and their entire team are a class act! The bush dinner blew us away....it was the absolute highlight of our honeymoon experience. Maxwell, our tour guide, made us feel so at home and was an amazing host on both our fishing trip and game drive. "Captain Ed" provided plenty of laughs on the boat ride to and from Kariba. The food was exquisite and the attention to detail all around is what set this experience apart. Bumi Hills is truly one of Zimbabwes hidden gems! Since our return to Canada, we have shared our experience and pictures and have recommended to anyone's who will listen what an amazing place this is, and that it's a must see destination when one visits Zimbabwe. If you have an online gallery, we'd be happy to email our pictures for you to share in your marketing efforts. All in all, one heck of an adventure! THANK YOU Bumi Team!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were top notch! All of them face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thanks for the amazing feedback! It sounds like a magnificent experience. And so happy to be a part of it.

See you back with us soon!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed at Bumi Hills twice now and have had the most amazing trips, the staff are friendly, food excellent and there is wild life at every turn! On our last trip we were even lucky enough to spot a male lion. Would highly recommend Bumi Hills.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank YOU Tarryn. We just loved having you.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We decided to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary by having a holiday with our three children (ages 27 to 32). Therefore it had to be special. Boy was it special. We chartered a plane and flew into Bumi landing on an airstrip that later had lions sitting in the middle of it. We were met and driven to the lodge where the greeting was friendly as well as efficient. Other reviewers have commented on this and they are so right. We stayed in premium rooms overlooking the lake and the water hole a view which is stunning. In fact it was hard to remember that we were not on a paradise beach holiday the view is so beautiful - but the area is so dangerous! An amazing combination. Maxwell took us out every day - game viewing and fishing and ensured that we didn't miss anything that was available to view or do. Obviously what you see is really a lucky dip. You should always see Impala but if they are not there is it because the lions are? We were "lucky" to see lions eating a dead elephant and the next morning frolicking on the grass next to the lake. We have some fabulous photos. Maxwell knew the lions' habits and advised us where to go when and ensured we passed them even on our way to the lake to fish. We didn't catch anything other than bream but I always think on safari that nothing is a given. The lake is teeming with hippos. Elephants were often in the water, on the beach or at the lodge's watering hole. Buffalo watched us fish. The lodge put on an amazing dining experience for us on our last night which our family won't forget and for which we would like to record here a special thank you to all the staff. We were very lucky (three line whip) to have our family together and our daughter voted it her best holiday ever so thank you Bumi Hills for your contribution to our celebrations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eangelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Wonderful to be a part of your 40th wedding anniversary. It was a special occasion requiring special attention. Thanks for including us!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This lodge has to be one of the best places on this earth. As you walk in through the lodge doors and see the pool and the view you are absolutely blown away. There is no other place that gives you this "Wow Factor". It is simply brearth taking and straight away you feel that you have arrived at something special.
The staff are so welcoming and friendly and as you sit at the bar over looking the lake you can feel the pressures of the world lifting and an unreal calm takes over. You can sit for hours at the bar or lying in the pool with that spectactular view and you will always see game such as elephants, impala, crocodiles, many other species of buck and a lot os bird species especially eagles that sour above you in the thermals.
The accomadation is world class, (try book one of the front rooms as they too have a view that is awesome) and the food is just out of this world.
Game drives are amazing and on this trip we saw so much, even a couple of lions from the odd 18 that are in the area. Fishing for bream and tiger fish are a must and you can even take a speed boat and do a gme drive as so many animlas come down to the shore to drink. The place is teaming with game.
This is my 6th time to visit this wonderful place and I can honestly say that it never fails to disappoint me. In fact it always surprises me and I always leave with the most amazing feeling and just cannot wait till my next visit.
This place has to be on everyones bucket list as once you have been and experienced this unique and very special place you will want to come back.
Thanks to all the staff, guides and awsome kitchen staff for once gain making this such an amazing trip.
Till we meet gain. I cannot wait.

Room Tip: Try for the 10 front rooms as the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Paradise revisited! Wow - thanks so much for such a wonderful and comprehensive review. Looking forward to your return soon.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed three nights at Bumi for our wedding anniversary from 13th October 2013. We flew in from Vic Falls in a very small Cesna 182 aircraft, all along the Zim coast of Lake Kariba which was amazing. We arrived at Bumi mid PM in hot conditions but were warmly welcomed at the lodge with cold towels and cool drink. Within the hour we were on our first of many game drives in and around the concession area adjacent to and on the Lake. Apart from the breath taking location with stunning views, large spacious room, and great facilities and food, the thing that will bring us back again and again will be the friendliness of the staff and the management who were truly awesome. The other guests we met at the amazingly situated lake view bar were also friendly as too were some of the owners who visited. Our guide, Madison, was an absolute star, very warm and friendly and knowledgeable on the local wildlife, who was relentless in tracking down the pride of lions and the elusive herd of buffalo. A "must do" and we cannot wait to go back to Lake Kariba and visit Bumi again.

Room Tip: Try and book the premier rooms over looking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 517Dissatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Bumi is a historic Kariba venue where the staff do an amazing job under trying circumstances in a country facing many challenges, but possessing amazing natural gifts and attractions.

Rooms are excellent, massively spacious, with views unparalleled on Lake Kariba.

The pool/bar/restaurant area is excellent, and if you run out of evening options, they have a full size snooker/billiards table - old colonial Africa personified.

Game viewing is excellent, see below.

We fished on 3 mornings of our stay from boats, and had amazing success with bream (tilapia) - between 20 and 40 "keepers" (edible sized fish) which we enjoyed with evening meals, sub-size fish released, a wonderful way to introducing children to fishing. We fished off Starvation Island twice, on both occasions elephant entered the water 20 meters from our boat.

Bumi has an excellent little spa serviced by Chipo, a very competent masseuse and beauty practitioner.

For me the highlight was head game ranger Dardley Tafuruka, an enormously experienced and knowledgeable man who constantly surprised me with new and insightful information, and I grew up in the African bush veld. He was ably assisted by Max and Student, but Dardley is a class act - reason alone to visit Bumi.

The one area Bumi can improve is on their food - while perfectly adequate, it falls short of the quality one finds in South African lodges.

In 3 short days we saw (in no order of significance or rarity):


Ground hornbill
Lion
Kudu
Waterbuck
Crocodile
Baboon
Impala
Fish eagle
Elephant (approached our vehicle to within 4 meters)
Goliath heron
Brown snake eagle
Steenbok
Bushbuck
Egyptian geese
Great white egret
Gymnogene
Vervet monkey
Zebra
Hippo
Saddle bill stork
Warthog
Hare
Open billed stork
Grey loerie
White browed sparrow weaver
Fork tailed drongo
Namaqua dove
Trumpeter hornbill
Lilac breasted roller
African hawk eagle
Ground squirrel
Black smith lapwing
Ox pecker
Cattle egret
Pied kingfisher
Glossy ibis
Sacred ibis
Sand piper
White-crowned plover/lapwing
Grey heron
Black-winged stilt
White winged tern
Grey headed gull
Batleur eagle
Redwing starling
Cape turtle dove
Helmeted guinea fowl
Emerald spotted wood dove
Giant kingfisher
Crested frankolin
Spurwing goose
Paradise flycatcher

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hi Adam. Thanks for your amazing review. Its responses like this that make us get up in the morning! Wow - what an incredible bird list. You saw some real gems there. Gymnogene, Giant Kingfisher - wow. And well done on the fishing efforts too.

It looks like your stay was just perfect, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pride of lions racing along side of our Cessna as we land on a dirt runway, a delay waiting for Elephants to cross the road followed by a pack of baboons...all this before we even got to the hotel. Delightfully small but has pool and fantastic view of the "hang out" hill in the lake, where all the Elephants gather daily. Each room, tastefully decorated,perched on the hillside, a balconies equipped with telescopes
Game rides, boat trips, fishing, etc Guides are outstanding1.

Room Tip: The higher the better for great lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baronessa3332013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenbyrom, Public Relations Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello to you in Mexico. Thank you for such a rave review of your stay at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa. Where in the world could you beat such a WOW WOW WOW arrival of seeing lions running alongside your light aircraft on touching down on the Bumi airstrip?

There are now about 15 lions, including several cubs, in the Bumi area and our guests are enjoying some spectacular sightings and, of course, photographic opportunities. I hope you had your cameras out and took some great photos? We would appreciate it if you would post these in our gallery on the Bumi Trip Advisor page.

From your enthusiastic review we feel certain you will spread the good word and that we might expect even more guests from your happy country, Mexico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
35.2 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
69 reviews
37.3 mi away
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
#6 of 13 in Kariba
5 reviews
33 mi away
Hornbill Lodge
Hornbill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kariba
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#1 of 4 in Lake Kariba
148 reviews
3.4 mi away
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp
#3 of 4 in Lake Kariba
112 reviews
8.9 mi away
Rhino Safari Camp
Rhino Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa

Address: Bumi Hills | Lake Kariba, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Price Range: $663 - $1,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge and Spa boasts one of Africa’s finest wilderness locations with an elevated position on a range of remote hills overlooking the vastness of Lake Kariba. Bumi is situated near the North Eastern border of the Matusdona National Park and is easily accessible by light aircraft and boat, allowing you to be swiftly transported into paradise without the stress of a long journey. The safari lodge has a total of 10 rooms, all with views over Lake Kariba. All rooms are premium rooms with balconies and uninhibited views over Lake Kariba. There are garden rooms available too, reserved for guides and tour leaders, with slated terraces, set a little way back behind and on a level above the premium rooms. Taking centre stage is the beautiful infinity pool that seems to blend endlessly into the lake horizon. The pool is surrounded by intimate wine and dining terraces on different levels. The lodge interiors have been beautifully finished in a fusion of contemporary western and African styles. Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is situated on an extensive wildlife conservation area. Bumi Hills is home to lion, leopard, big herds of elephant and buffalo, as well as a multitude of different plains game. Guests can indulge in superb fishing in the lake waters surrounding the safari lodge with bream and the fighting tiger fish in abundance. Birding and cultural experiences (with the rich local Tonga culture) also abound. Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is a dream wedding destination – an incredible setting for a small, intimate event (maximum of 46 pax) whilst enjoying special time with family and friends surrounded by Lake Kariba and a myriad of wildlife! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bumi Hills Safari Hotel Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing