We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience and I would recommend a visit Bumi Hills to anyone wishing to relax by the Lake.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked 3 nights at Bumi Hills for my husband's 60th birthday on 12 June 2013. We drove to Kariba on 11 June and the Bumi boat was at Marineland to collect us and take us on a 1 hour journey over the Lake to the Bumi Lodge. The staff were waiting for us on arrival and escorted us to our lake view room. They went out of their way to make us feel very special and very comfortable. A surprise Bush Dinner was arranged for us on my husband's birthday, 12 June. We were whisked into the bush for an 'Out of Africa' experience. A three course meal was cooked and served to us complete with wine and birthday cake. During our stay we went on a sundowner game cruise, game drive and two very successful fishing trips. The guides were wonderful and the comfortable safai vehicles and the boats were a pleasure to ride in. The views from Bumi Hills Lodge are spectacular by day and night. The many lights from the kapenta rigs on the lake at night, make for a wonderful dinner experience. Thank you everyone at the lodge and the efficient booking office for making this trip so memorable.

Room Tip: The Lake View rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumiHills S, Public Relations Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

How heart-warming Linda to hear that Bumi was such an outstanding choice for your husband's 60th birthday. We have hosted an array of special functions these past few years, including many weddings on the beach (or on a heart-shaped island!), special 40, 50, 60 and 70th birthdays, corporate retreats, flying-safari groups and fishing parties.

Our major signature, of course, is the glorious vista overlooking the massive lake and 100% of reviewers are quick to mention this as a major WOW factor. The cake was made by our superb Chef Naison Lungu whose special story we recently published on our blog. If you go to our Bumi Hills web page bumihills dot com and click on the Blog I think you will enjoy reading about him and how he has risen from the village, to a cleaner to a master chef! Hayley Idensohn. marketing@bumihills.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 144 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

A well run operation.Staff delightful and courteous.The lake is magnificent especially at night with all the fishing boats and there lights.Spend the extra money and get luxury lake view room.It is worth it. We drove to Bumi from Harare which was a 10 hour tough 4 wheel drive.I would suggest being picked up by boat at kariba.

Room Tip: room with lake view.worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicholasMilne, Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review and we are very glad you enjoyed your time at the lodge! Having done the drive into the lodge a number of times I know how tough it is and am very glad you made it back safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I grew up in Southern Africa and together my British husband and I have been to dozens of bush lodges in several African countries.Without doubt, we have never encountered friendlier and more accommodating staff than those we had the pleasure of meeting at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge. At the same time their service was professional and faultless. During our 5 day visit we were taken fishing and on several game drives and boat cruises by Madison whose
knowledge of the flora, the animals, and in particular the abundant birdlife around Bumi left us astounded. His passion, expertise and determination in seeking out the animals we particularly wanted to see ensured that every trip into the bush or onto the lake was an exciting adventure. We were not surprised to hear another guest refer to him as "Madison the legend! The lodge is situated in a wonderfully peaceful position overlooking the lake and the rooms are tastefully furnished and have balconies that offer fantastic views of the lake and bush. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicholasMilne, Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on Bumi Hills. We are very glad you enjoyed your time at the lodge and we have to agree with you that Madison is certainly a real gem of a guide! Thanks again and we hope to host you again at Bumi in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've lived in 5 countries in eastern and southern Africa and been on safari in another five countries in the region. I decided on my return from Bumi Hills Safari Lodge today that this place is equal to any of my previous favorite safari destinations. We flew from Harare (with Chris as pilot) and so got a wonderful overview of the approach to Lake Kariba. All the rooms overlook the lake and are very comfortable and pleasant. We did two walking safaris, a game drive and sunset boat safari during our two night stay, plus spent a morning relaxing down at a tree-canopy-level hide by the lake shore. The infinity pool is beautiful and crystal clear. The food is healthy, varied and delicious. The furnishings, design and landscaping are all very pleasing. The view over the lake is superb. The staff are wonderful and all seem happy to be working there. I enjoyed the quiet time between outings for relaxing and sketching.I highly recommend Bumi Hills Safari Lodge.

Doreen

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Marketing Director at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you Doreen for your exuberant review and delightful endorsement of Bumi that does us proud. It's amazing how many guests rate Bumi as their favourite lodge of all time...anywhere. I know it's the major WOW factor of that glorious vista, but it's also the people, the vastness of the lake, the culture, the history...and the idyllic relaxation. Glen Byrom. Marketing Director.. glen@bumihills.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Bumi Hills Safari Resort in Zimbabwe ought to be on every tourist's "Must Visit" list. The staff are awesome and the location is stunning. Only a two-hour boat ride from Kariba (or a much shorter plane ride if you prefer) this resort is the perfect escape on Lake Kariba. The Bream fishing was a thrill, the safari rides took us to perfect sunrises and sunsets along with lions, zebras, impalas, crocs, baboons, and much more. Our favorite bird was their "live-in" hornbill Bill. The lodge has been renovated recently and the rooms are romantic, the pool perfect,and the masseuse beyond great! Absolute luxury in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainFriendsPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Marketing Director at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hello to you in California. Thank you for the outstanding endorsement you have placed on Trip Advisor, Such enthusiastic comments from seasoned international guests do us a power of good. I don't think I've ever been with anyone who first walks out onto the pool deck and can contain themselves from spluttering WOW!!!

Many destinations use the tired cliche of the "undiscovered secret." But Lake Kariba truly is a unique gem that truly transcends the ordinary. And Bumi Hills is the sparkling diamond! We're proud of it and happy you will spread the good word. Glen Byrom. Marketing Director. glenbyrom@yoafrica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked for a family group of 8 - for a week in February which is usually considered off-peak season. We were delighted to be upgraded to the premium rooms which are absolute luxury: tastefully furnished, well appointed, a comfortable king size bed under huge moquito nets and nice touches like freshly ground coffee for the in-room caffetiere and home baked biscuits to have with your morning cuppa!
The weather was warm but not oppressive and the staff went to great lengths to cater for all our needs. Meals served on the deck overlooking the lake shore were relaxed and delicious ; game guides were so friendly and interesting; tiger -fishing was exceptional; the spa was great for those of us wanting a little pampering out of the sun! Although the bush was quite thick following the rains, our guides, Willem and Madison, managed to find plenty of smaller things for us to see and we enjoyed close encounters with elephant and lion. It was very peaceful too, most days we had the lovely swimming pool to ourselves and we enjoyed the company of staff around the bar in the evenings. Definitely going back again!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Marketing Director at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you Marion for posting such a wonderful, heartfelt review on your experience at Bumi Hills.I can see that you come from a small town in Queensland, not from the rush and lights of a big city. Therefore the tranquility of the bush would have suited you.

Mareeba, your town, means "meeting of the waters" in Aboriginal. Bumi (Boo-Mee) translates to "Meaning of Life" in the local Tonga tribe tradition. I'm delighted life was so good for you and your family at Bumi. Glen Byrom. Marketing Director. glenbyrom@yoafrica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

An unforgettable break. We saw lions everyday, including a mom with 3 newborn cubs.
My 3 year old son caught his first fish, and I had great morning catching tiger fish
Our guide Madison was superb and very knowledgeable.
Pool area was a great respite from the midday heat.
Room was comfortable, spacious and had magnificent views of the Lake.
Excellent....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Marketing Director at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hello Marcus. Apologies for this late response, but thank you for your generous review of your stay at Bumi. It smacks of great excitement and enjoyment, especially your son's first fish. Send us a photo and let's put it on the Bumi Facebook page for 8,000 followers to see what a champion he is! Glen Byrom. Marketing Director. glenbyrom@yoafrica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
35.2 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
70 reviews
37.3 mi away
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
#6 of 13 in Kariba
5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp
#3 of 4 in Lake Kariba
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33 mi away
Hornbill Lodge
Hornbill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kariba
61 reviews
21.7 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#1 of 4 in Lake Kariba
151 reviews
8.9 mi away
Rhino Safari Camp
Rhino Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps

Address: | Bumi Hills, Kariba, Zimbabwe (Formerly Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa)
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Price Range: $482 - $1,269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge and Spa boasts one of Africa’s finest wilderness locations with an elevated position on a range of remote hills overlooking the vastness of Lake Kariba. Bumi is situated near the North Eastern border of the Matusdona National Park and is easily accessible by light aircraft and boat, allowing you to be swiftly transported into paradise without the stress of a long journey. The safari lodge has a total of 10 rooms, all with views over Lake Kariba. All rooms are premium rooms with balconies and uninhibited views over Lake Kariba. There are garden rooms available too, reserved for guides and tour leaders, with slated terraces, set a little way back behind and on a level above the premium rooms. Taking centre stage is the beautiful infinity pool that seems to blend endlessly into the lake horizon. The pool is surrounded by intimate wine and dining terraces on different levels. The lodge interiors have been beautifully finished in a fusion of contemporary western and African styles. Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is situated on an extensive wildlife conservation area. Bumi Hills is home to lion, leopard, big herds of elephant and buffalo, as well as a multitude of different plains game. Guests can indulge in superb fishing in the lake waters surrounding the safari lodge with bream and the fighting tiger fish in abundance. Birding and cultural experiences (with the rich local Tonga culture) also abound. Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is a dream wedding destination – an incredible setting for a small, intimate event (maximum of 46 pax) whilst enjoying special time with family and friends surrounded by Lake Kariba and a myriad of wildlife! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bumi Hills Safari Hotel Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing