We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Certificate of Excellence
Kamuela, Hawaii USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great memories”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A few weeks ago my family and i visited your wonderful lodge with the "Hawaii Connection" We all had such a wonderful time both at the Lodge and on the lake. We truly loved our trip to Mola and to experience how the wonderful people cope with their difficults lives. Everyone was so friendly and we loved the children. Our grand children even got to kick the football with the kids at school, they loved it!
May I make one suggestion? Please install handrails and more lighting. The steps are difficult to maneuver especially at night.
Thank you also to Nick and his Assistant for taking such good care of my husband after his fall. He did have 5 fractured ribs and is healing now.
Our grand children also loved the little snake hunting dog!
We had a wonderful time and took great memories back with us. Aloha from Hawaii!

Room Tip: Rooms on "the cliff" have fabulous views and the elephants come right up to them at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hi Kathrin

We are so glad that you came all the way from Hawaai and fitted in a visit to Bumi Hills! It was such a pleasure hosting the two of you and the rest of the group. We are very grateful for your advice about the lighting, which is something we must look in to improving.

Sending you our very warmest wishes from
Team Bumi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
64
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We flew in to Bumi from Vic Falls with another couple. We all had a great time. The designers of the public areas, gardens and rooms have done a great job. Great to see mob of buffalo, elephants and impala at the watering hole below the platform in front of the dining room, and there was always game on or beside the road up to the Lodge.

Room Tip: The front rooms closest to the Lake are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thanks for your great review of Bumi Hills! We are so happy that your stay was a truly special one. Please come back and visit again soon!!
Our best wishes from the
Bumi Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is right on the shores of beautiful Lake Kariba. This place is amazing! 3 meals a day included, small but varied and absolutely delicious; caters well to vegetarian; soups glorious (hubby wants the recipes!!)... compliments to the chef. Bar prices reasonable. Book a room overlooking the waterhole & lake - well worth it. Great king bed, decor is gorgeous, clean room with the extra touches. Elephants at the watering hole, even early morning visits just under our balcony. Loved the drum call to dinner! Staff are super friendly, special thanks to Never & Member for making our stay so special - so considerate, warm & entertaining. Went on the early morning hike with Dean - I can now identify poo from 10 metres!! Fun & enlightening experience. Rogers is the fisherman to beat all fishermen - he knows all the spots, the tricks and those "wiggly worms" worked a treat. Thank you Rogers, our family loved our special time on your boat. And Sam - thank you for being so gracious & friendly. Sammy took us to the local village, the school and a wonderful scenic tour of the area. Two activities per day are included in the price, the rest are add-ons. Great concept & works well - you just have to pay national park costs which was very fair. The sunset cruise is a must-do, as the sunsets on Lake Kariba are just magical, moments that left us speechless, even with wine in hand!! Massage & pamper packages are available and overlook the park and lake. Yummmy! Overall, this was an incredible experience for us. We saw eles, hippos, crocs, abundant bird life (there is an observation deck for the serious bird watchers), impala, baboons and of course fishing. We learnt much, as all the staff are thrilled to share their knowledge.
We stayed 3 nights, though we were seriously looking for ways to move in permanently!!! Bumi Hills is a MUST DO on the bucket list.
PS: Nick, the Nyaminyami stick is now pride of honour in our lounge room! Big Thank you for finding us a very healthy (!) and perfectly beautiful piece of 'history' and art. Regards Janie & Steve McLean (Australia)

Room Tip: Lake view room are perfect. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LazyDays4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonyaZim, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We are so grateful for the time you've taken to review your stay at Bumi Hills. Your words of thanks are very well received by the whole team! It is particularly special and encouraging for us to receive such warm compliments from guests that have come from afar to visit our beautiful country, Zimbabwe! We look forward to your return again one day soon!
Our very best wishes from the
whole BUMI team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimbabwe
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our recent visit to Bumi Hills was a great reviver. The venue on the shores of Lake Kariba is stunning and the views are spectacular. Having a premium room with a great view of the lake and waterhole ensured sightings of loads of birds and other wildlife. It was tempting not to leave the room at all. We went on game drives, pampered ourselves with massages and generally relaxed. The food is wonderful and the staff very attentive but not intrusive. It is not the easiest venue to visit, boat rides across the lake can be choppy, but well worth the effort. Fly in if you can. We had a great four days there with a large party of friends and Bumi management and staff made it a complete success, loads of fun and yet very relaxing.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a Premium room, the view is just fabulous and it has a wonderful vibe, like you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonyaZim, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Erica
Many thanks indeed for your kind review of Bumi Hills! We really do appreciate your comments greatly and we are thrilled that your stay was a good one. We certainly hope you will return again soon!
Our best wishes from
team Bumi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Lake Kariba is an incredible place made all the more special by the unbelievable hospitality and dedication of all the staff at Bumi.
We filled the lodge with our family and friends from Zim and the UK to celebrate our wedding and it proved to be everything we hoped for. We wanted a relaxed yet romantic wedding on the floodplains of the lake and Bumi provided everything and more. We could not have enjoyed our day more thanks to the dedication of Nick, Denise, Justine and all the other staff. The fantastic wildlife entertained everybody on numerous drives with particular highlights being Dean's guided walks!
There are very few places where one can get married on the shore of a lake in wonderful weather as hippos wallow, elephant wander and baboons play. My uncles (from the UK) said to his daughters that they were not going to be able to top our wedding when they got married! This sums up the simply incredible time we all had. Many guests have phoned to say that they experienced the best holiday of their lives and it is very unlikely to be beaten!
Thanks to Bumi for helping us to have the most romantic yet relaxed wedding we could have hoped for. It feels like it was a dream and we both look forward to returning on our anniversary!
Thanks are not enough for the dedication of all at Bumi from Luke and Suzanne in Head office to the all the waiters and house keepers at the lodge. Nick and Denise provided everything we wanted and more.
Bumi is a must for everyone wanting a luxury holiday in southern Africa, let alone Zimbabwe.

Room Tip: Chose a premium room and you can watch elephant playing on the beach while having morning coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonyaZim, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Matty,
Thank you so much for your great review of Bumi on Trip Advisor. It was a real pleasure for the whole team to look after you, Carolynn and all your wedding guests. We are so thrilled that you had such a good and memorable wedding with us and we wish you both eternal happiness together!
We hope to see you up at Bumi again sometime soon!
Our very best wishes
The Bumi Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The newly renovated Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is a great place to base yourself to experience both lake and land based activities at Kariba. The hotel has been recently renovated. The rooms are very contemporary and have spectacular views of the lake. The common areas are also lovely with beautiful landscaping and a wet-edge pool. The staff are very friendly and really helped us out when our flight was cancelled by BA. The food was also great with a very varied menu.
We spent alot of time fishing and Madison, our guide knows all of the great fishing spots. He also helped us track down the resident pride of lions.
All in all, we had a great trip.

Room Tip: Premium rooms get the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonyaZim, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of Bumi Hills. We are very grateful for all your positive comments and reviews. We are thrilled that you had a great trip and we hope that you will come back and visit us again soon!
Warm regards from the
Bumi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a stunning location, and the staff is outstanding. Jonathan Hudson, the General Director of the Lodge, is a charming guy and totally professional in his effort to make each guest's stay memorable. During our visit Mr. Hudson's wife, Melanie, and their delightful little children, Travis and Chelsie, were also visiting the Lodge and--in fact--traveled with us aboard the same small plane we used from Victoria Falls. (Incidentally, Herman--our pilot--couldn't have been better!) This hotel is beautifully located at the edge of Lake Kariba, the largest man-made body of water in the world, and there are daily opportunities for fishing, sunset cruises, animal viewing, etc. The hotel has an exceptional young chef named Maxwell and the restaurant produced delectable dishes and mouthwatering creations daily, some of which even featured the lake fish we had caught. All staff members were outstanding, including Rogers (the man in charge of our fishing expeditions) and Andrew (Director of Activities). The waiters were very well-trained, too, and one of the best was a young Zimbabwean named Brian. All in all, a stay here is an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonyaZim, Head of Marketing at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi William
Thank you so much for your great review of Bumi Hills. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Jonathan is now the General Manager of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and he is doing a fantastic job there as well.
We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon!
Our very best wishes
from the Bumi Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
35.2 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
65 reviews
23.8 mi away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#2 of 4 in Lake Kariba
120 reviews
3.4 mi away
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp
#3 of 4 in Lake Kariba
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zimre Lodge
Zimre Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Kariba
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Big Cave Camp
Big Cave Camp
#3 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa

Property: Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa
Address: Bumi Hills | Lake Kariba, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bumi Hills Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge and Spa boasts one of Africa’s finest wilderness locations with an elevated position on a range of remote hills overlooking the vastness of Lake Kariba. Bumi is situated near the North Eastern border of the Matusdona National Park and is easily accessible by light aircraft and boat, allowing you to be swiftly transported into paradise without the stress of a long journey. The safari lodge has a total of 10 rooms, all with views over Lake Kariba. All rooms are premium rooms with balconies and uninhibited views over Lake Kariba. There are garden rooms available too, reserved for guides and tour leaders, with slated terraces, set a little way back behind and on a level above the premium rooms. Taking centre stage is the beautiful infinity pool that seems to blend endlessly into the lake horizon. The pool is surrounded by intimate wine and dining terraces on different levels. The lodge interiors have been beautifully finished in a fusion of contemporary western and African styles. Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is situated on an extensive wildlife conservation area. Bumi Hills is home to lion, leopard, big herds of elephant and buffalo, as well as a multitude of different plains game. Guests can indulge in superb fishing in the lake waters surrounding the safari lodge with bream and the fighting tiger fish in abundance. Birding and cultural experiences (with the rich local Tonga culture) also abound. Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is a dream wedding destination – an incredible setting for a small, intimate event (maximum of 46 pax) whilst enjoying special time with family and friends surrounded by Lake Kariba and a myriad of wildlife! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bumi Hills Safari Hotel Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing