We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Paradise”
Review of Hornbill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hornbill Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Reviewed July 30, 2013

After a rather long (22hours)but fantastic ferry ride across the lake Kariba we had the great pleaser to meet Jacky and her outstanding cooking skills with wonderful wines ,all inclusive . A full days rest and the evening was full of laughter .
This please is paradise !
Go visit , say hello from Dorothee& Georg

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDorothee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

After a long drive from Harare, cold drinks and warm smiles awaited us at Hornbill Lodge. Right from arrival we were made to feel at home, treated more like visitors rather than unknown guests. Cold drinks by the pool, a few snacks, some conversation, and some time alone to soak it all in. Hornbill Lodge is situated on a hill, overlooking scenic Lake Kariba. Our accommodation was a treat. Beautifully decorated, spacious, clean, comfortable and with magnificent views of the Lake. The attention to detail throughout Hornbill Lodge really impressed me. The decor, the finishes, the landscaping were all a visual treat. And Jackie's cooking was the best I had had in Zimbabwe.

The day after we arrived, we were off again, on a Natureways Safari for three days. Highly recommended! I loved the safari and the camping, but I also enjoyed the knowledge that after our adventure on the Zambezi we would be back at Hornbill Lodge for another afternoon, evening and morning. A dip in the plunge pool, a stroll around the lovely gardens, some downtime to just sit and relax before dinner. The food was, again, delicious, and a relaxing evening with our hosts followed.

We had to leave after breakfast the next day. I don't think I have ever been so sad to leave a holiday stay before. We are planning our return visit in a few years. Another safari, and a few days at Hornbill Lodge to look forward to.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bpperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights in June 2013 on separate occasions before and after a canoe trip on the Zambezi. We were gobsmacked when we first saw the accommodation - a beautiful chalet with magnificent views of Lake Kariba. Jackie and Tom are wonderful hosts. All wine and food was included in the price and both are plentiful. All meals are home cooked and Jackie's skill in the kitchen is legendary. Jackie even packed us a breakfast "to go" on our last morning when we had to leave at 5:00am. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I have travelled around the world and this is by far the best place I have ever stayed. I would go back to Kariba just to stay in the Hornbill Lodge again.

Room Tip: All of the chalets are great with fantastic views of Lake Kariba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Hornbill Lodge with my wife's two brothers from UK. We live in Zimbabwe. Have visited Kariba many times but Hornbill Lodge was a first. Absolutely fantastic views, food and hospitality. Jackie and Tommy Millar were superb. Great welcome. Excellent company and very good selection of wines. Very reasonable rates and worth every penny. No two-tiered system. Will not stay anywhere else in Kariba in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hornbill the night before setting off for a canoe safari from Chirunu to Mana pools by Natureways safaris. The place was great. Jackie the owner was friendly, invited us for COLD beers immediately on our arrival from Lusaka. Since we had arrived Lusaka 6:30 AM after a double redeye from JFK, we sorely needed them. they have a tiny pool but it really hit the spot.
Dinner with wines was great. breakfast superb.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinfallspuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

From the moment we walked in, we were welcomed in. Drinks on arrival, taken to out room. Wow, what a fantastic view from the chalet. The food was wonderful and the hospitality great. We wanted for nothing, all provided. Snacks with sundowners by the shimmering pool over looking the lake. What a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monique312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at Hornbill for 3 days and Tommy, Jackie and Sunera were really great hosts. Very attentive, great food and good company too. Rooms very nice. Just excellent. Strong recommendation for a few days of rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
3.7 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
90 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
64 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
#7 of 14 in Kariba
4 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cutty Sark Hotel
Cutty Sark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill Lodge

Address: 797 Mica Point, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Price Range: $141 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a small intimate lodge, situated on Mic Point, Kariba. Hornbill Lodge offers very comfortable accommodation for twelve. The main satellite thatch 'A' frame includes a bar, lounge and dining area. With a double room upstairs with en suite facilities. There are four thatch 'A' frame bedrooms, one King, one family, two Twin, each with en suite facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing