We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Tiger Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiger Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Entire family getting together for the first time in 10 years - family from Australia, SA and Zim. Wonderful to be on the lake again after so many years, but such a disappointment in Tiger Bay. She is looking "old and weathered".
Lunches running out due to extra visitors. Very poor / slow bar service. Very often the breakfast orders were painfully slow and incorrect when they did arrive.Furniture in some rooms literally rotting away. One of the rooms had a fan which produced sparks when turned on - thatched roof !! Holes in mosquito nets, drains not draining, swimming pool green, but chlorinated by one of the guests,etc etc.
Very pleasant staff on site however - but with limited resources.
All these points were brought up with the owner/manager who happened to be visiting at the time, and the food suddenly improved during his stay.
Unfortunately we had to pay the total amount in full before arrival otherwise we would have most certainly withheld some amount.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms were
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dwakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

I travelled to Tiger Bay for a fishing trip with 7 other men from Australia based on the reputation it had as a great venue. I should have smelt a rat from the beginning because Mr. Peter Marchusson, the owner of Tiger Bay, contacted me and asked if we could transport a few supplies to Tiger Bay as we were travelling by road from Harare. I agreed but was astounded when nearly half a ton of goods arrived at my friends home the night before our departure. I rang Mr Marchusson and told him we could not transport such a large quantity of goods but his only solution was to offer a refund on the morning of our departure and I had 7 blokes who had just arrived from Australia waiting to go fishing. This was no solution and Mr Marchusson knew this and he offered no other possibilty. I then had to hire a trailer to transport the supplies and as such was delayed in our departure. When we finally arrived at Kariba some 400 kilometres later we found our boat could not transport the added weight and we were forced to hire another boat to transport Marchusson's goods. Unfortunately a storm blew up and we were forced to abandon the crossing of the lake as it was far too dangerous. We then had to find alternative accommodation at our own expense. In the morning a boat arrived from Tiger Bay but it to was too small to transfer the supplies and this is when we found out that Mr Marchusson had another boat all along that could transport everything but he had tried to save money by getting us to cart his goods. I should add that it is a good 90 minute boat crossing to Tiger Bay and the costs in fuel and oil are considerable hence his attempt to use us. When we arrived at Tiger Bay we found it as the other reviewers had, run down, in need of major maintenance and poorly equipped staff. Even so, the staff were the highlight but we were astounded to find out that Mr Marchusson had not paid many of them for months and that he often did not send the supplies that they needed so they went hungry. What an abomination!
After our stay I contacted Mr. Marchusson and requested a refund for the night we missed but he was not only unwilling to do so he became beligerent. I should also add that the travel agent with whom I had booked Tiger Bay, Jacquie Brymer of Conquest Tours in Harare, was no more helpful. As her clients I asked her to get our refund but she simply ignored the entire situation.
What a disgusting situation to occur and how sad is it that two people such as these can disgrace the good name of honest travel agents and hard working lodge owners who have struggled to get Zimbabwe back on the map.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JohnCWoyWoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I highly recommend you not stay here when visitng Lake Kariba until the owner injects some money into the Lodge.

What a dissapointment. Rooms with no privacy, a used bar of soap in the shower, mosquito nets with holes, sparking fans, dirty rooms.

The food at lunch ran out everyday. we had to share a very small pool with random families who'd come over in boats.

The only good thing was the boat cruises in the evening, fishing and game viewing.

I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tara_wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Would not recommend this lodge to anyone visiting Kariba. The lodge is run down, very old fashioned and lacking proper working facilities. Staff service was good considering the limited resources they had. Uniforms were also shabby. We were very disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poel6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Afrikatouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inifel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xavier-nogent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
0.4 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
64 reviews
6.0 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
#7 of 14 in Kariba
4 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cutty Sark Hotel
Cutty Sark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Bay Resort

Address: Kariba, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Kariba
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Bay Resort is situated on the banks of the Ume River and overlooks the magnificent Matusadonha Mountain Range and National Park and is set on several hectares of shady forest on the steep western bank of the Ume River, an area which has been described by many as one of the most unique and scenic parts of Lake Kariba. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiger Bay Hotel Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing