We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Yet”
Review of Caribbea Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kariba
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to Kariba for Christmas and truly grateful for that decision. We stayed 3 nights. From the start, everything was smoothly done. Got to the reception and was escorted to our room, the room was neat and tidy although it still needed a bit of improvement. The place is just beautiful with loads of activities esp for children. There is a bar open 24 hrs. We ate outside at night which was so beautiful and a live band for entertainment. The food was so nice. The stuff are so helpful and so well trained. would recommend sun screen because Kariba is so hot and also keep receipts everytime because when we were checking out, they tried to charge us extra of what we had already paid for. Despite this, really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ye2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 68 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I visited kariba with my children early december and chose to stay in caribbea bay after much research and it proved to be a very good decision.the hotel was in the process of being repainted but that didnt affect our stay.the hotel is very child friendly with its family rooms tht hve up to three bunk beds in one room incl a double bed.the rooms are very spacious and they r air conditioned wch is very good as kariba is very hot. The hotel has two pools wch r very big and quite deep and we made sure to utilise both pools during our staystay.it also has a super tube wch is very adrenaline pumping and is great entertainment for both adults n kids as long as you can swim . There are tour companies tht organise the activities and I would recommend the sunset cruise and the catamaran tht has a net to allow u to swim in the lake. The food was delicious and very tasty and the caribbea bay burger was the best.the sourveniours r very affordable n u cn get very nice things.overall I would recommend this beautiful hotel by the lake to anyone, it gives a feel of being in an island wen u r in a land locked country and kariba in itself has lots of attractions and lots of history with the interesting tales of the nyaminyami. The thunderstorms can be quite harsh though in the area so I suggest u dont go in the rainy season and my tip is carry lots of sunscreen and big hats.my kids rate it the best holiday yet..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is not a bad hotel as such - but at USD 185 per night I found it significantly overprized! The room had seen better days, although not in a bad shape (yet). But the a/c made a lot of noice and wasn't very effective. I eventually decided to turn it off for the night, even though that meant the room was rather warm to sleep in. The TV set was old style - and the remote only partly worked... Else, OK room, but no charm. Breakfast was adequate, but not great. The same goes, to a lesser extent for the rather pricy buffet (USD 27) they served in the hotel restaurant in the evening. But, there isn't much choice in the area, so what to do if you need to stay overnight!?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeenAroundABitToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We paid $180/night incl breakfast for two nights. We arrived when it was dark and drove quite slowly to reach the hotel because signs are hard to see in the dark. We eventually found it and there is a big petrol station called Total where you turn left from. You keep driving all the way down the windy road before reaching the hotel. There is a security guard at the entrance of the hotel.

Check-in was very easy and we were taken to our deluxe room. The room is quite big and basic – a large hard king sized bed, tv, combined bath/shower, airconditioning. There was a balcony but it was facing other rooms so we didn’t spend much time there. There is no fridge or safe deposit box in the room. They also say that it is safe to drink the tap water there as the source of the water is from the Lake and the residences drink that.

There was a good variety at breakfast – buffet breakfast with the standard hot food items, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, juice, tea and coffee. The view from the restaurant is amazing and you can see the Lake while eating breakfast.

We also had dinner both nights at the hotel. I would recommend doing the a-la-carte menu rather than the buffet ($25 pp). On the second night, we ordered from the bar which has a larger variety of food than the restaurant.

We also did tours from the tour offices near reception – game drive and sunset cruise. Both were a reasonable price and the staff was also very helpful about where to go in the area. One even took is to the dam observation point and kariba heights. This was helpful as we made our own way there later.

Service at the hotel is amazing – everyone was very friendly and helpful. We even had our car cleaned. There are baboons on the grounds and they like to cause havoc during the day (jump on cars). It’s quite amusing but we parked our car near reception to make sure the baboons didn’t come near the car. They say it is a resort and casino but the casino consists of 10 pokie machines. There’s also free wifi (limit of two hours per password) and you get a slip from reception. This was very handy.

This was the first hotel I stayed at in Zim so I’m not sure whether the price is reasonable.. things are expensive in Zim so i think it is a reasonable price considering it includes breakfast. There aren’t a lot of international tourists in zim generally so many hotels might not be up to scratch. You definitely need a car to get around Kariba or if you are part of a tour then it is easier. There isn’t really any public transport unless you want to take a Kombi. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I think this is probably the worst place I have ever stayed in relative to price. I paid $200 per night for dinner, bed and breakfast for two. The resort is very tired and doesn't look like it's been refurbished since it opened. The pool was dirty, the paint peeling and the bedroom furniture was tatty. The restaurant was also dirty - I wasn't impressed by the standard of food hygiene and by the quality of the food on offer. It was very basic. The pool area had a very loud sound system on throughout the day, which felt like we were on some 18-30 clubbing holiday but without the clubs.

It's also worth noting that there really isn't much to do in the local area without a car. It's not located in the best part of Lake Kariba. The hotel doesn't offer much in the way of activity options - I paid for a sunset cruise which was 40 minutes late in leaving and only went to a tiny part of lake.

Caribbea Bay needs to up its game if it wants to keep charging these prices. Having said that, Lake Kariba itself is stunning scenery. But it's much better to experience it at a different resort or on a houseboat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ke1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The location of this place is absolutely beautiful just as what the previous reviewer has said. The staff do an excellent job. Their services are great. The swimming pool out here is cute and inviting. I spent some time relaxing there. The garden is quite beautiful and serene. The rooms are clean and basic, but definitely comfortable. What else one requires for sleeping there only during the night time? Most of the day, you will be on the resort premises. The restaurants at this resort serve good food and the waiters are quite well behaved. I had a lot of other fun activities at the resort. Altogether, my stay at this resort was fun filled and comfortable. I highly recommend this resort for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cenciy_dedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We have recently stayed at Caribbea resort in Zimbabwe for one week as a RCI timeshare swop.
We have attempted to place our review on their web page however this is not currently operational....
so, let's summarise our experience!
Overall, the resort is more than acceptable.
Zimbabwe, as a country still has many challenges which has an impact on the day to day maintenenance of any establishments and subsequently Caribbea Bay.

Dodgy roads.....
No access to day to day 'normal ' needs

However, the location, view,the standard and the 'cabana' configuration was more than acceptable.
The restaurants, pools, gardens and common areas are fine. The roads, paint work and general maintenance are a challenge. The service and attention from the timeshare staff is exceptional....we did not have hot water for the first two days and as soon as the the weekend was over and cabanas became available, Cuthbert ( the timeshare 'king' and Felicity , our 'lady-in-charge, promptly moved us to another cabana. We never met 'Alisha' the name in the guest information...
The actual hotel management are not able to make any decisions and wait for the 'supervisor'.....not sure whether African Sun should have their name associated as yet?
The casino is ....well...do not expect much, few machines in a non-airconditioned room, with a few very old machines!!
We recommend cabana's 1 -4 which are right on the Kariba Lake, these are the prime cabana's with their own little swimming pool and uninterrupted view of Lake Kariba...
Finally, our RCI agent did not warn or inform us of the following....
So...If you are planning to stay at Caribbea our recommendations are as follows:
- bring cash..dollars or rands, there is NO access to cash...no credit cards, atms etc;
The management of Caribbea Sun, albeit part of the African Sun group' were not prepared or in a position to assist us with ANY of our suggestions on how we could get cash to pay for houseboats etc.
- bring ALL provisions, particularly fresh foods, we shopped in Zambia prior to crossing the border.
- be patient when crossing the border, very arrogant attitude and they are VERY sticky about car - papers etc.
- do not book your houseboat or any other excursion in SA..wait till you get to Kariba, we went straight to Tendai at Kingdom Calls, Marinaland to book our houseboat, securing a 4 berth (claimed to be 8 berth???) Royal Game, with a captain and cook for about $300 a night plus petrol, was really fantastic...!!!! Caught Tiger Fish...had a close experience with an inquisitive elephant... game viewing from the luxurious houseboat,,,diffrent experience!
Kenference as the Captain and Stanley as the chef really looked after all our needs..
Besides the snags..... in a nutshell..we cannot wait to do this trip again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank richardpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
5.7 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
65 reviews
6 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
#7 of 14 in Kariba
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
109 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hornbill Lodge
Hornbill Lodge
#3 of 14 in Kariba
61 reviews
3.8 mi away
No photo provided
Luna Accommodation
#8 of 14 in Kariba
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbea Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbea Bay Hotel

Address: 425 Impala Drive, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kariba
Price Range: $158 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbea Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbea Bay is the ultimate one-stop entertainment and leisure hotel in Kariba. With a dedicated play area for children offering a range of activities including the popular Supatube Waterslide, Caribbea Bay is the perfect retreat for family vacations. Not only that, but a choice of 2 restaurants, 2 swimming pools and an array of conferencing facilities makes this hotel the perfect location for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caribbea Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbea Bay Hotel And Casino Resort
Caribbea Bay Hotel Kariba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing