We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience in the wilderness!”
Review of Somalisa Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Somalisa Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience in the wilderness!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great location and service, friendly staff, very professional guides, fantastic food and logistics. The highlight of this camp are elephants, they are just everywhere. We stayed 3 nights, we knew that the nights would be cold, but we did not expect that the temperature would go down to minus 2C!!!!! So if you go at that time of the year (in June), take your fleece!!!! I bought gloves and hat in the camp, this was very helpful.
Regarding animals in the concession, you have them all. we also enjoyed very much relaxing next to the pool a full afternoon, until the sunset. You can admire the show of the herds of elephants, coming and going to drink from the water hole, 3 meters from you. You do not need TV, you are in the middle of "Animal Planet". It is a unique experience.

Room Tip: If you are afraid of elephants, choose tent N°4 which is the closest to the main tent. However you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa-Urban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
88
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Quite simply, if you are fortunate enough to have an opportunity to go to Somalisa - do! The camp is about 50km from Hwange main camp and you really do feel very close to nature - and in the case of elephants who visit the camp, you are! Our guides, Mike and Calvet, were wonderful, not only just because of their knowledge of the wildlife but also the wonderful insights they provided into life in Africa.
The camp was very well run and all the staff were invariably friendly and really helpful. On the Acacia side (there are two parts to the camp), Sandra, Dolphas and Macbeth made our stay a truly wonderful experience. How such great meals were prepared remains a mystery. The elephants in Hwange are legendary and they didn't disappoint. We were also fortunate enough to see leopard, lions, crocodile, hippo, zebra, giraffe, oryx and sable to name just some, plus innumerable beautiful birds including the southern yellow-billed hornbill which seemed to be on almost every perch. And, as icing on the cake, we saw two painted dogs.
In June it does get cold at night, so be prepared; but this makes having porridge beside a blazing campfire a great way to start the day!

Room Tip: All the tents are great, on the Acacia side they all have a good view of the water hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marley1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whipsnade, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Big night skies lit up with a million stars, comfy tents, elephants wandering around camp, charming staff, great trackers with a deep well of knowledge, lion, leopard, zebras, birds, the mysterious pangolin, a sense of space and isolation, simple, understated luxury, good food, faultless courtesy, enthusiasm and professionalism, good company over blazing Acacia wood fires after nightfall, all in the beating heart of Africa. What more can you want?

It's not the Kruger or the Serengeti. But Hwange has a rugged, semi-desert beauty that sets it apart from the all-too-frequently over-hyped, over-priced lodges and camps which have spawned across Africa.

Flying in on the company's Cessna206 from Victoria Falls into the newly-constructed airstrip (just over an hour) is fun - especially if you're a pilot. (Just watch the big Acacia on the centre-line just before the numbers). Flying over the African bush gives you a sense of freedom quite unlike anything you'd experience in Europe or the USA.

Of course you don't have to do anything when you get there. Just being there, surrounded by so much and yet so little is enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Somalisa camp gives you a closeness to nature that is hard to describe. When two elephants come in around dinnertime to drink water from the pool (which is sweeter than the water in the waterhole) and you are standing 6 feet away watching then that is an experience for a lifetime! We saw lots of animals and our guide Mike was a star attraction all by himself! What he doesn't know about things in Hwange isn't worth knowing. The people who run the camp are both very nice and very professional so you are always being taken care of! The tents are nicely furnished and though they have bucket showers that just gives you a little more bush feeling. For a Norwegian it was a pleasant surprise that the assistant manager was a Swedish girl on a 6 month training course. I wish I could have that kind of training.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

4 days at this extremely well run camp was a highlight of our trip. Very attentive staff, great chef, and luxurious tents that were attended to in the perfect way. Hwange, of course, is the ultimate safari destination, the birding is first class also. Having elephants in camp, drinking from the pool every night, certainly enhanced the experience. African Bush Camps can be proud of this camp, a unique experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejnertsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My partner and I were at Somalisa for 4 days. The location is excellent by a watering hole and the elephant viewing superb. Our hosts, Alex & Karen, were unbelievably helpful and excited about what they had to offer. Our guide Doug was the best on our entire trip.

Driving in we saw that a pride of lions had just taken down a giraffe. We spent the next three days sitting with and watching the pride feed. It was an up close and personal time with this pride as we got to see the habits of each, the pecking order and the personalities come out over time. We did tour the park, too and saw amazing amounts of wildlife. The number of elephants in our camp was unbelievable. Our swimming pool was unusable, because it was the dry season and the elephants came from miles to drink. When they drained their trough, they started in on the pool. The pumps couldn't keep up with the herds. We didn't mind. Being 3 feet from these beautiful beasts as they drank was worth it!

Our tents were beautiful, large and airy. The baths were open air, behind the tents and they used the "bucket shower" technique. We asked for hot water and they brought it to us, pouring it into a suspended canvas bag with a shower head. At times an elephant would strop by, looking down over the fence to watch us bathe. Enchanting!

The food and drink were also world class. every meal was well appointed and served with a flair. I hope to go back!

Room Tip: All the tents are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently took 7 New Zealanders who were out in Africa for our wedding on safari in Zimbabwe and they fell in love with Somalisa Acacia. Alex and his team were incredible – so attentive that the service could not be faulted in any way. The food was just magical – it is really amazing what the team can whip up in the middle of nowhere (we informed them that we had a birthday late one evening and the next day there was a chocolate cake for breakfast). The setting is just beautiful and the tents are absolute luxury. Our highlight was Raymond, the most knowledgeable game ranger I have ever met who impressed our team no end. And of course our interactions with the very special Hwange elephants – such a privilege to get so close to these wild animals. Thank you to the team for an out of this world experience – we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
13.8 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 23 in Hwange National Park
439 reviews
32.5 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 23 in Hwange National Park
364 reviews
49.9 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 23 in Hwange National Park
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 23 in Hwange National Park
155 reviews
29.6 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 23 in Hwange National Park
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 23 in Hwange National Park
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somalisa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somalisa Camp

Property: Somalisa Camp
Address: Hwange National Park, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somalisa Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somalisa Tented Camp is set in the heart of Hwange National Park Zimbabwe, and is known as the land of the giants for its big elephant herds. Nestled in a stunning location tucked away on an acacia island along the edge of an ancient seasonal flood plain, Somalisa provides guests with breathtaking views of the savannah plains across the famous Kennedy Vlei line. Recently re-built, Somalisa Tented Camp has upgraded its level of accommodation to that of complete comfort and luxury whilst still maintaining its focus on the guiding and hosting of guests to ensure the ultimate guest experience. Consisting of seven elegantly furnished Sail Tents with gauze sliding doors, a glass wood-burner fireplace for the cold winter nights, and an overhead fan for the hot summer days, each tent has en suite bathroom facilities including flush toilets, an indoor and outdoor shower, as well as a copper slipper-style bathtub. The main decking area includes split level decking with a separate lounge and dining area, as well as a small splash pool for guests overlooking the “Elephant Pool” and a natural waterhole where herds of game congregate to drink and where guests can relax whilst soaking in the African bush. Activities include guided walks lead by qualified and passionate guides who will share their knowledge and love of the bush with you, game drives and night drives. Wildlife sightings include elephant, kudu, sable antelope, zebra, wildebeest, gemsbok, the rare and endangered roan antelope, buffalo, giraffe, lion, leopard, hyena, and many other wildlife species. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Somalisa Camp Hotel Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing