We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy living in the wild”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hide
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
314 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Easy living in the wild”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was our first trip to Hwange/ZImbabwe/Africa on a leisure trip. We were met at the Hwange airport by our guide and quickly on our way to The Hide. Leisurely pace when entering the park. Plenty of animals on the way in. As newbies we were happy to see anything and were rewarded with a large group of giraffes after less than an hour. Upon arrival we were briefed, checked in and told the major times for activities. Our drink preferences were taken and after a quick change we were off for a sunset drive. We had two young boys with us and the staff were very helpful in accommodating requests and suggesting activities to keep them entertained.

The drives were frequent and varied. We saw lions over a fresh kill, elephants, cape buffalo, giraffes and plenty of birds. Although the guides can't control the animals they all worked together to try and locate the best viewing and alert one another to their location. Jean was a budding photographer and he was very helpful in suggesting camera settings and shot types to get the best memories from the trip.

The rooms were nice and comfortable, food was excellent and the drinks were cold when they needed to be. Sundowners and snacks were a favorite along with the night drives. Everyone had a good time and for a family with children this was an excellent place to experience our first true safari.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the common area require an escort after dark. You can request an escort ahe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    37
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
114
181
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I loved The Hide in Hwange N.P. I was there November 2013 and thought it was dry I had a great time and met some lovely people.
Being Coeliac I have to ask for Gluten Free food, The chef at The Hide made some of the best G.F. meals I have had anywhere. Sitting around a big table or the smaller one when only a few guests is a very experience. On the game drives we saw a variety of animals and had plenty of information given to us.
I had buffalo and bushbuck grazing very close outside my tent and was great to be so close to such a large animal. I hope to go back in greener times. So a big Thank You to all at The Hide for giving me an experience to remember.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is an amazing place. The tents are spacious and comfortable with outside showers and a big bath inside. Meals are excellent and numerous, all cooked by the camp's chef and his colleagues, and the open bar is a bonus. The staff are endlessly helpful and sociable, so meals taken around a big table with guests, staff and guides, are a real pleasure. And there are more hours of games drives (morning, afternoon and night) than anyone could possibly wish for - lots to see and incredibly knowledgeable guides. For anyone who hasn't been on safari this would be a great introduction - but it might spoil you for anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Hide was one of three safaris during our vacation. Being our last lodge of the three we were ready to kick back a little more, relax and see some giraffes. This was the perfect location to unwind and soak up the luxuries. Our tent was gorgeous and the bath tub was a dream come true. We went on drives whenever we had the chance and also a walk one day. We witnessed two lions kill a buffalo right in front of during sun-downers. The food was five star, the beverage selection was also quite lovely... managed to get hooked on Savannah Dry during the stay. My fiance and I spent warm afternoons dipping into the pool, playing cards and chatting with other guests/staff... the common areas were in direct view of the watering hole and comfortable. The Hide is well Managed, has a very courteous staff and all the details were taken care of that you would ever wish for. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelodiousTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
413 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Hide provides what I have called a "5-star tent" lodging experience, with a big picture window overlooking a fantastic watering hole teeming with wildlife. Their food service is top notch, and the stay even includes an open bar but with limited selections. Of most importance is the quality of their guides and their ability to take you into the Hwange wilderness directly from their encampment. The Hide is located adjacent to and connecting with the National Park, and the animals wander into and out between their large property and the park. They offer all kinds of drives, morning, afternoon, evening, and even night. They have a tree stand, and if you are courageous enough, you can spend the night there but you cannot leave until they come and get you and the potty could be a problem. They also have underground viewing areas close to the watering hole and you can spend some time there. They are very safety conscious, and ensure that you are either enclosed somewhere or that an armed and trained person is with you.

Room Tip: The tents are the rooms, and they are all great locations fronting the watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

After 4 years I have returned to The Hide to many improvements, I was very pleased to see all the improvements from the propane heated showers, new bar to the redesign of the safari tents, this made a for an even better stay not to mention the food it was just 2 notches higher than my last visit. The game viewing and birding in Hwange Nat'l Park was excellent. The management team was excellent and Ian was very accommodating to all our needs. If you visit Hwange you must visit "The Hide" you won't be disappointed. I will be returning soon a must stay.

Room Tip: They are all good and set in a beautiful locaton
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here recently with my boyfriend and some family visiting Zimbabwe.

The service here is impeccable - all the staff are friendly, professional and helpful. Nicholas was our guide for the two days and there wasn't a question he couldn't answer, he really made the game drives and walks something special. The location of the Hide is perfect and you can enjoy a g&t from the main tent before dinner or from your personal veranda in your tent. The watering hole attracts a steady stream of game (in dry season, I can't vouch for wet season), which you can experience from the two actual hides right by the pool.

The tents were beautiful, the outdoor shower and bath tub in the room were a lovely touch. On the second night my boyfriend and I stayed in the 'Dove's Nest', this is a treehouse in the bush - very romantic. The food in the Hide is also very good - the most memorable was the homemade blueberry ice-cream dusted with cinnamon, the chefs do a wonderful job.

I can't wait to go back some day, absolute luxury in one of the best parks in Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emsmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
25.5 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#2 of 22 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 22 in Hwange National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
54.7 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 22 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide

Property: The Hide
Address: | Hwange National Park, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hide 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known and much loved, The Hide Safari Camp is situated within Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe's largest game reserve, renowned for its abundant and diverse wildlife. Built in 1992, The Hide has justly earned its reputation as a great wildlife experience wrapped in warm and welcoming hospitality. Accommodating up to 20 guests in comfortable, spacious, en-suite luxury tents under thatch, The Hide prides itself on having a family of experienced, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides. Activities on offer include guided walks with a professional guide, day and night game drives, ‘hide’ sits, sleepovers at the romantic Dove’s Nest and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your The Hide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide Hotel Hwange National Park
Hide Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing