We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unforgettable break”
Review of The Hide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hide
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An unforgettable break”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I would like to express my gratitude and appreciatin to all the team at The Hide who contributed to give my boyfriend and I, one of the best holiday experiences we have ever had. We have not stopped talking about our time at The Hide.

All of the team individually and separately, made our time at The Hide memorable. So many happy memories. Their care and attention to detail throughout our stay was appreciated. Their professional, yet personal touch, so good! Simple thing , like walking us to and from our tent on an evening; practical but pleasant!

The guide team were kind, informative, generous and so helpful. Special thanks to Nkosi for the informative and interesting night drives, very special. Thanks to Peter for sharing his vast knowledge and experiences of the Zimbabwean bush, its flora, fauna and game, with us. And being so so entertaining, too. All the guides' attentiveness to ensure we managed to partake of all the activities, including an afternoon in the hide. And their openness and friendliness at all times.

Thanks to Peter for talking to me at length about "The Friends of Hwange Association" and the work The Hide and its counterparts do to maintain the watering holes in the National Park. Piqued my interest to be involved.

Of course, not to forget the chefs and waiting staff, who prepared, presented and served us a lovely tasty, varied menu selection for all our meals. Some of the best scrambled egg I have had the pleasure to eat! The waiting staff were polite and helpful at all times.

Never forgetting the special homemade picnics and savoury treats we got on our various activities. We still speak of the amazing spicy chicken pies, we had as part of our picnic lunch, watching a wonderful array of game at the watering hole, en route to The Hide from Hwange Main camp on our first day. What a welcome.

Additionally, the housekeeping team who ensured our accommodation was immaculate at all times. And the hand washed laundry returned beautifully pressed in a hand-woven presentation basket, with a local trinket, plus personalised note on top. Such attention to detail and care with presentation made for a lovely welcome back to our tent at all times.

Last but not least, warm acknowledgment to Katie and Lindsey, the front of house team, who were always pleasant and cheerful, and happy to help with all requests. Plus just happy to chat..

Highlight of the stay was the spacious bathroom area - bathtub and shower under the open skies! Best experience ever! Watching the elephant herd in the watering hole as you bath/shower.. Such fun!!

The Hide is a stunning property, but made so so much more by the whole team who work so hard to ensure we had an amazing stay. And we did have an unforgettable break.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a deluxe luxury tent = spacious bathroom area with shower and large clay f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyBeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    37
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
115
183
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ok, this was the last stop on our African vacation. I was having such a great time away from work that I didn't want to leave Africa. But I also didn't want to leave this wonderful place because it was just a little slice of perfection.

The permanent watering hole attracts all sort of animals, from cape buffalo, impala, babboons, warthog, elephant, giraffe, viewable from the comfort of your room (tent) or the open air restaurant and lounge. It really gets special toward dusk when wave after wave of elephant come to the watering hole for drinks and socializing. We booked a 2 hour slot in one of the two "hides" which are hidden blinds for watching animals. We saw some incredible up-close animals and highly recommend it. We also booked a night in their "Dove's Next" tree house and had a great time being all by ourselves out in the middle of absolute darkness, armed with a 2-way radio for safety and a great cache of snacks to tide us over until the following morning when we were picked back up.

The staff is VERY helpful, VERY friendly, and we had the same knowledgeable and fun guide (Peter) from the moment he picked us up at Hwange Main Camp until the day we left. It was nice to have that consistency and to get to know your guide through repeated game drives together. The meals were delicious.

All in all, I would return to this place in a heartbeat and would unreservedly recommend this to anyone! It's even accessible to folks with mobility issues as one of the ladies we met was travling by herself in a wheelchair and was able to get around and go out on the game drives.

Having the sounds of nature at night, the grunts and howls of animals as they come past the tent to go to the watering hole -- the sounds of trumpeting elephants -- the howls of babboons -- just magical. You would think it would keep you up at night but it's very relaxing and an integral part of your African exprience.

One of the great benefits you will appreciate is free laundry service! Pack light, get your laundry done.

At night they escort you to and from your tent due to the unfenced compound where animals can get to you really easily. Hey, it's Africa, folks, and you're out in the middle of nature and wild game without fences. But the fact is that they don't, but there's always the possibility of it. So they are cautious and like to escort you when it's dark. I appreciate that.

The private outdoor shower was a really fun experience!

Go here! Stay here! You will absolutely love it.

Room Tip: All of the tent huts have great views of the watering hole, I don't think there's a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
564 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed three nights at The Hide. It truly is a very top notch camp. The water hole out in front is lighted so you can see the animals that come in to drink. The food was delicious. Their tents are real quality. It was a very special treat when we got in bed and there was a hot water bottle on each side of the bed.
Our guide, Nicholas, was very experienced and made all the drives very enjoyable. We stayed in three different camps, this one was the best.

Room Tip: All the tents face the water hole so they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at The Hide ( one night out in the Dove's Nest) . We were treated like a king and a queen. Staff is very professional and in tune with the environment. Our guide, Nicholas, amazed me with his knowledge of the animal and plant communities and his uncanny ability to track and site animals in the bush. The meals, prepared by Amon, were outstanding. Amon even made a special sweet cherry tart upon my request. He should be a contestant in Bush Top Chef. Our evening in the tree house, Dove's Nest, was too quiet....I must return someday when the animals are more frisky.

Room Tip: Request a room at the end of the path..quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We drove in from the South of Hwange on sandy roads but found our way in perfectly.
Staying in Sept with temperatures rising and before the food and grazing is short was perfect timing.
We were welcomed on arrival and although later than the scheduled lunch time were served lunch in a short time. We found our rooms very comfortable and the outside shower and bath were a bonus as cleaning oneself with animals feeding at the waterhole seems so surreal!
Apart from the early rising, which is necessary when there are big groups staying, (yet flexible when they are not - which we convinced Nicholas was more our style!) the setting, food, and care shown by all staff could not be questioned!
We were treated to great birding by a very knowledgeable Nicholas who explained identification processes so easily – lets hope we remember it all! Although on occasions we travelled long distances without seeing game we were able to fill the gaps with birds and there are plenty!
Visual from the camp were Elephant, Kudu, impala, Waterbuck, Sable, Elephant, Giraffe, Elephant, Baboons, Monkey, Zebra, Elephant and on our last morning also Lion! Yes....lots of Elephant! Walking was a bonus and safety was not an issue with the cautious and experienced guides.
A goods night sleep with the raucous sound of nature was not really possible but that’s the experience and also why you have a long time between lunch and afternoon activities!
All in all a worthwhile experience with a company that does so much for the Friends of Hwange Trust which helps to ensure all the wildlife do not go short of water in the Park.

Room Tip: Anywhere is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayBeeZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Hide was a place I wanted to visit on my previous visit to Zimbabwe. Unfortunately, I never managed to find the time. On this occasion I was determined to make it, even though I only had a day. I wasn't disappointed at getting to this award winning place on a concession just outside Hwange National Park. Nothing quite prepares you for the experience - there are no fences and elephants, buffalo, leopard, lion...basically just about anything can decide just how close they want to come to you. In fact, I found that I saw more sitting on the main dining area at the Hide than by driving around the part. The most breathtaking experience was watching scores upon scores of elephants arrive at the waterhole just a few metres from the Hide...we must have seen at least 200 elephants in about 2 hours and I was told this was actually less than par for the course. We also saw a leopard coming to drink, a hyena, a herd of buffalo and several giraffe, sable antelopes etc. We also missed seeing 2 lions coming to drink because we decided to go a night safari! The best part about the Hide though is the hospitality and food. Everyone was friendly and always asking if you needed a drink or something to eat...the food was excellent and I found that a pleasant surprise since this is a really wild location. Of course, its all about the wildlife experience and having elephants and buffalo grazing just a few feet from my hut was an experience I can't even begin to describe. It is an amazing place and I do need to come back and spend more time...I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HemantBuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Hide has had recent refurbishment, and the tents are all extremely comfortable, no matter which category you choose. Staff are helpful. I see other reviews have mentioned meals - we found that these were variable, but just when you thought one was rather average, the next one more than made up for it. (At night you may hear train noise, but you are just as likely to be woken by hyaenas than diesel engines)

Guiding was of the very high standard that one expects in Zimbabwe. Game sighting is always variable, and while we saw no big cats, we were pleased with what we did see. The two "hides" were great fun and certainly are a feature of the property.

The only unusual item that deserves a mention is the (suggested) tipping system, where three envelopes are provided for three categories of staff - it is unclear who actually falls into which category and we felt that it wasn't a clever or fair reward system..... some of us ignored it and directly tipped our guides, but weren't sure how to give something to the wonderful "back-of-house" staff that do such a good job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wild_World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
25.5 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 21 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 21 in Hwange National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
54.7 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 21 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 21 in Hwange National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hwange National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 21 in Hwange National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide

Property: The Hide
Address: | Hwange National Park, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hide 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known and much loved, The Hide Safari Camp is situated within Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe's largest game reserve, renowned for its abundant and diverse wildlife. Built in 1992, The Hide has justly earned its reputation as a great wildlife experience wrapped in warm and welcoming hospitality. Accommodating up to 20 guests in comfortable, spacious, en-suite luxury tents under thatch, The Hide prides itself on having a family of experienced, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides. Activities on offer include guided walks with a professional guide, day and night game drives, ‘hide’ sits, sleepovers at the romantic Dove’s Nest and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide Hotel Hwange National Park
Hide Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing