We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”
Review of The Hide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hide
Certificate of Excellence
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ever since I lived in Zimbabwe almost fifteen years ago I've always wanted to go to the Hide - but somehow it never happened, until now! So, the expectations were of course quite high! But, I must say it more or less met my (high) expectations. The fact that I did not see the animals I had hoped for is of course nothing I can blame the Hide for, so keeping to the facilities as such... Very nice setting. Good food and drinks. Management forthcoming, although not as warm and welcoming as I quite often otherwise find that it is in places like this. The cage down by the waterhole is perhaps the most unique thing about the Hide and should not be missed - unless you're claustrophobic and/or afraid of little lizards... Our guide was quite good and my sense was that the other ones were as well. Interestingly they seemed to have quite different personalities - I could see that some guides go better with certain people that others... All in all, if you can afford it, go for it! However, it is rather expensive - so, if this is THE one place you will visit in a long time and want to have a fantastic visit, you may still want to weigh your options...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenAroundABitToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    37
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
118
186
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We consider ourselves to be fairly seasoned Africa travellers with over dozen safaris under our belt. Quite simply this is the worst camp we have been to. It has to be said that the location is pretty good and accommodation is great. Hwange suffers from pretty poor game density. Guiding is mediocre at best with guides talking about flora and fauna without any regard to the guests level experience of the bush? calling zebra 'disco donkeys' might appeal to their normal clientele but it was certain tacky to us. Game drives start at 6.30 well after sunrise and return to camp at 8 for breakfast before departing again at 9.30 staying out till well past midday in the blazing heat. Several other thing just seemed daft. This camp is not for experienced safari goers. AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We both had a wonderful holiday at The Hide due in no small part to the staff and guides. We mostly had Nkosi for our game drives and he made every one of them interesting - if there were no animals or birds around he showed us the flora and how to read animal tracks. The same applied to the walking safaris undertaken with both Nicholas and also Mark. They managed to make everything very informative
The accommodation was spacious and we were lucky to have an outside bath and shower as well as an indoor shower. During the hot part of the afternoon after lunch there is nothing to beat sitting in a nice cold bath watching all the animals walking past you to the water hole
A big thank you to the catering staff who did nothing to help our expanding waist lines. The food was just too good to refuse
Finally an extremely big thank you to both Ian and Nicky for everything that they did for us. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble
We would not hesitate to recommend The Hide to anyone

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10 which had both an inside shower and an outside bath and shower and is away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Staff were excellent and the food was awesome! really enjoyed the evening meals where everyone was gathered around the main table which made for excellent conversation.
Accommodation was comfortable and the beds and pillows perfect.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank denish55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee Vining, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We visited several lodges in Botswana and Zimbabwe -- and The Hide was as good as it gets. The location is incredible. From the porch of our cabin we watched herds of elephants, groups of zebras, buffalo, warthogs, giraffes -- all walking to the watering hole that is directly in front of the lodge. The game drives offered by the lodge are wonderful -- but you can see incredible amounts of wildlife, up close, without ever leaving the premises. We were able to sit and watch elephants for hours while sipping drinks on the veranda! From our outdoor shower (there was an indoor one as well) we could watch the sunset and elephants travelling to the water while we washed our hair!

The food was fantastic, and the staff is gracious and helpful. The guides are highly trained, licensed professionals who have a vast amount of knowledge about the wildlife and plants in the area. We cannot say enough good things about the guides. We enjoyed them all without exception.

One exceptional opportunity offered at the lodge is to sit in "the hide" for a few hours, in what is essentially a blind from which you can safely watch wildlife directly next to the watering hole. This is an amazing experience and opportunity.

For those American citizens reading this review -- we encourage you to visit Zimbabwe. It is very safe, and the people are tremendously friendly and welcoming.

We hope to visit The Hide again.

Room Tip: All are wonderful, but the last cabin (number 7) is especially well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe and Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our first experience of a safari was spent at The Hide for 3 awesome days. The Hide exceeded all expectations with its welcoming and friendly staff, they could not have made our time in Zimbabwe any better. I have to give a big thanks to Nicholas and Duffy our guides for making this experience so memorable. The food was wonderful, the service great and the overall stay has left an impression that will last for a lifetime. We took the opportunity to stay in the Tree House and would fully recommend this experience. We thought this would be our only visit to Zimbabwe, but the experience at The Hide has made us want to go back again and again. Thank you all so much for making our visit such a wonderful lifetime experience. The Orrs, Australia

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Firstly, a massive thank-you to everyone at the Hide for making our experience great. Nicky, Ian and Andrew deserve particular thanks. We stayed at three places over the course of our holiday and this was the part of our holiday that stood out. The service was impeccable although I felt a bit odd having people jump up to offer me a drink when I was already at the self service bar. Some of our favourite experiences were in the evenings chatting with guests and staff around the fire pit.

The food and accommodation is great, and the location is remote, 1.5 hours drive from the main gate to the camp! It really is out in the wilderness. It may seem a bit daft to say, but worth bearing in mind that but other than safari there isn't much else to do here so be prepared to take a good book with you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
54.7 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 22 in Hwange National Park
175 reviews
25.5 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 22 in Hwange National Park
355 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 22 in Hwange National Park
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 22 in Hwange National Park
41 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 22 in Hwange National Park
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 22 in Hwange National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide

Property: The Hide
Address: | Hwange National Park, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hide 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known and much loved, The Hide Safari Camp is situated within Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe's largest game reserve, renowned for its abundant and diverse wildlife. Built in 1992, The Hide has justly earned its reputation as a great wildlife experience wrapped in warm and welcoming hospitality. Accommodating up to 20 guests in comfortable, spacious, en-suite luxury tents under thatch, The Hide prides itself on having a family of experienced, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides. Activities on offer include guided walks with a professional guide, day and night game drives, ‘hide’ sits, sleepovers at the romantic Dove’s Nest and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide Hotel Hwange National Park
Hide Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing