We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little camp in a good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Little Makalolo Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little camp in a good location”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

My adult daughter and I did 3 nights at this camp and enjoyed it thoroughly. This Wilderness Safaris camp is well managed and does exactly what you want a high end safari camp to do. Our guide, Charles, was excellent. All food and wine, very good.

Their schedule is, early continental breakfast at about 6:00 AM with a game drive to start about 6:30. Return from game drive at about 11:00 for brunch and after brunch, siesta until tea at 3:00, too much food, then game drive with sundowners and snacks at sundown with a night drive to return to camp for supper.

Briefly, a couple of highlights: the first evening we were having drinks and snacks by a water hole when a group of hyenas, 4 or 5, began moving toward us, getting closer and closer. I was clicking pictures in the increasing darkness and gulping beer and when they got really close Cherles shined a light on them and they retreated a bit only to start approaching again. They are big. I think they smelled the snacks. Cool.

One morning we pulled up to a water hole and there was a female lion drinking. We parked in the shade and then the elephants started coming. Every minute or two a new group of 15 or 30 would emerge from the woods and go right to the water hole. We sat there for a long time taking pictures and having coffee and cookies and saw at least 400 elephants. Just wonderful.

The last night as we were returning to camp in the dark we noticed a camp fire, but it was not in the correct place. It was right by the water hole. To our surprise we pulled right up to the fire and there was a buffet supper set up for us right there in the open. We could hear hyenas and other animals calling and we were surrounded by elephants. If the elephants got a little too close the guides shined their lights and the elephants moved on, but there was an unending parade of elephants, some trumpeting. The whole thing was just grand. The next morning we asked Charles if the bush dinner was part of the normal routine and he said they do not do it for everyone because some people would think it was too dangerous and would be uncomfortable. I guess somehow my daughter and I and the other guests made the cut on the fearless or foolhardy index.

By the way, there is plenty of solar power for lights in the rooms and a battery charging station.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank planetjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and I were privileged to spend four nights at Little Makalolo. This was exactly the type of experience we were hoping for! The amount of animals was astounding. Seeing our guide, Charles, track animals and tell us all about the animals and plant life was something I'll never forget. We enjoyed the meals, especially the cook's shortbread for our tea mid-morning. The guides and managers of the camp do a spectacular job. Tents are beautifully done. We even had a bathtub outside so I could take a bubble bath while watching the elephants! We enjoyed meals with the people who stayed in the other six tents. We felt so well cared for. We did have a hyena come into camp and eat a leather cushion. We also had elephants on the path to our tent so we just had to wait a bit until they had moved off. If you want an authentic safari experience and you want guides that are superb, this is the place. If we are ever lucky enough to return to southern Africa, Little Macalolo will be at the top of our list!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

my sister and i stayed at little mak for 3 nights. what a faulous place!!! shane and charmane were wonderful hostesses and everyone at the camp made you feel like family. the tents were wonderful, the animals, in camp and on game drives, were great, and the food and hospitality terrific. a must place to go if you visit zimbabwe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Little Makalolo was our favorite camp by far. It even beat out our other two more expensive Botswana camps. The game in June was awesome! Large herds of animals that you were able to get very close to. Our guides, Dix and Louis were the best.
The accomodations at Lil Mak are great. I was a little worried when looking at some of the pic's posted, but those must have been of the tents before they were renovated. They were luxurious without going over the top so you still feel like you are on safari. The outdoor showers are awesome!! Rooms were immaculate and bug free. At night, the staff will come in and turn down your bed, tucking in a hot water bottle, so when you climb into bed, the sheets are already warmed up for you. Nice touch.
During the afternoon game drive which is from 3:30 to 8:00 p.m. , you will take a break around sundown to watch the sunset and have cocktails. The first night we stopped by a hippo pond and were watching the hippos snorting; I turned around and Dix our guide pulled out this silver tray which had had homemade meatball cocktail kabobs/appetizers with a chutney dipping sauce! What could be better than having a glass of wine, appetizers while watching a family of hippos play?? Not much...
They try to maximize game drive time, which was great in our opinion. We would jump into the jeep at 7:00 a.m., stop for a "tea break" around 9:30, get back into the jeep and drive until 11:00 at which time we returned to camp for lunch. Afternoon drives were at 3:30 and we would stay out until dark, driving home with a spotlight trying to see nocturnal animals. We would usually get back right at 8:00 and since it was dark and we needed to be escorted by armed guards to the tents, we would just all head directly to the outdoor dining pavillion for dinner and not get back to our tents until it was time for bed. We dined by candlelight which was fun and after dinner, we would gather around the firepit with the other guests and guides. ...Overall Great-- You will not be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nailhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My friend & I stayed at Little Mokololo November 2009 - and I could not say enough about it....absolutely spectacular! The accommodations were stunning...it was hard to believe these were in tents because it was so luxurious. Our guides were Lawrence & Louis (who we loved) and it was so fascinating to see how they tracked the game. During our games drives we saw elephant, water buffalo, zebra, lion, cheetah, hippos, jackel, giraffe, sabel antelope, ostrich....and November is supposed to be the off season?? It is a magical experience to hear the animals so close by...I have never had an experience like it! One night a family of elephants came walking right past our tents and another night it was a herd of water buffalo. I loved that I felt like I was really out there. Our hostesses were Tammy & Angela and they made it so homey and comfortable. Each night we had a fab dinner and then sat around the campfire. Absolutely the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alrdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This was a pretty, little, simple, relaxing camp. Tent rooms are spacious with convenient storage and bathroom area. The room we stayed was the honeymoon suite and it had two showers and one outdoor bathtub. It was divine to relax in the cool bathtub during the hot afternoon siestas. Staff is friendly and very helpful. We had a great time with our guide Sam. He always has a positive attitude and great smile on his face. We saw some cool animals. Just relaxing in the room and gazing at the nearby waterhole is an amazing experience. On the day we arrived at the camp, there was a whole family of elephants chilling by the waterhole. Another day there were 6 beautiful crown cranes hanging by the hole. These are rare birds but Hwange has a good population of them. Another unusual spotting for us was a white rhino with a little baby.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPB, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2009

From soup to nuts this place delivers! The staff, Charles and Angie, may be some of the friendliest and most knowedgable in the park! The food...amazing and given you are in the bush...better than amazing. Chances of seeing the big 5 are slim but I captured (on film) 3 or the 5 and almost 4...just missing one of the cats and a rhino! Game Drives day and night, non stop hosipitality, great clean "tents" with awesome bush showers!!!! Really, come to Zimbabwe and stay at Little Mak! Don't second guess it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m121775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hwange National Park
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 23 in Hwange National Park
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 23 in Hwange National Park
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 23 in Hwange National Park
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 23 in Hwange National Park
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Little Makalolo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Little Makalolo Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Little Makalolo Camp
Address: Hwange National Park, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Little Makalolo Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and intimate, Little Makalolo's location in the south-east of Hwange lends it a sense of seclusion and remoteness. Nestled into the treeline, the camp overlooks a productive waterhole that draws large numbers of wildlife, observed up close from the log-pile hide. Elephant, buffalo, giraffe and zebra are regular visitors, while special sightings include sable, roan and eland. The area is best explored on game drives and guided walks, with special extras like an unexpected pizza or a night spent under the stars on the Madison Pan star-bed platform. • 6 tents (1 family) • game drives • nature walks • Madison Pan star-bed • log-pile hide • village visits ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Makalolo Safari Camp Hotel Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing