We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Safaris Little Makalolo Camp
Nearby Hotels
$92
$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The N1 Hotel Harare(Harare)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Inn(Harare)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$108
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronte Hotel(Harare)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
115
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holegame drivesstay nightsblankets and hot water bottlesindoor and outdoor showerswilderness safarisauthentic safari experiencefantastic experiencewonderful animalspack of wild dogshis knowledgethe entire staffsable antelopethree daysa wonderful jobsouthern africa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 126 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2009

From soup to nuts this place delivers! The staff, Charles and Angie, may be some of the friendliest and most knowedgable in the park! The food...amazing and given you are in the bush...better than amazing. Chances of seeing the big 5 are slim but I captured (on film) 3 or the 5 and almost 4...just missing one of the cats and a rhino! Game Drives day and night, non stop hosipitality, great clean "tents" with awesome bush showers!!!! Really, come to Zimbabwe and stay at Little Mak! Don't second guess it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m121775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We spent 4 nights here and had a great time. Charles the manager and guide is very good, very funny and very knowledgable. Angie the host is lovely and made us feel very much at home. Food is good and plentiful. Still a lot of water in the park in May so game spread out but we saw 4 of the big five ( no rhino) but more importantly for us Sable and eland. This is a real safari experience and we can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

I cannot say enough about Little Mak. Wilderness Safaris has done a wonderful job of trying to preserve a "classic" style safari here. The camp is small, only 5 tents maximum 10 guests. But we were the only ones for 2 days. Food was excellent, which surprised us considering the difficulty in obtaining many staples in the country. Charles the manager was fabulous and one of the best guides we have ever encountered. The wildlife here is outstanding. There was recently a reintroduction of rhinos to the area and we were priveledgesd to have 2 sightings during our stay here. The guides here are not just safari guides, they teach you about the life and habits of the wide variety of life found here, at times you feel as though you are with a Nat'l Geo researcher, they themselves are still fascinated by their "studying" the wildlife even after many years as guides. The tents are simple yet beautifully appointed and attention has been given to provide guests with all necesary comforts, albeit the camp lacks electricity (which we loved)...don't bother with modern conveniences like hair dryers... Charles' idea is to put you in the back of a vehicle and take off at high speed... if you need that kind of modern living go to a different camp... seriously this camp is for the serious safari enthusiast, not prima donnas. The main gathering area is very quaint (retaining an old english feel) and there are ample reference books for the guests. Your view from both your porch and the main area is of the waterhole, which has constant activity. In fact the hide (a bunch of logs at the water hole) was one of our favorite spots during siesta time... talk about up close and personal with the ellies! We had some incredible sightings during our stay, including an albino baby elephant, a very large blind older male elephant (he looked as though he had developed cataracts, but he felt his every step with his trunk, it was fascinating), a mating pair of lions as well as the 3 bachelors in the area. We would awaken during the night to the sound of the ellies lightly stepping all around out tent, and find evidence they had been there all night when we would awaken in the early hours to head out on our game drives. This place was wonderful, and we hope to return once the situation within the country stablizes. We truly loved the staff and the location... one of the TOPS in our books!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy-Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

Makalolo Plains, a sister camp to Little Makalolo, is an elevated tented camp, with everything built on stilts off the ground and no fense surrounding the camp. It overlooks a waterhole with outstanding morning and evening wildlife viewing.

The rooms are tents over permanent wooden frames built on top of a wooden platform, almost like a treehouse minus the tree. When the staff serviced the rooms in the morning, they opened the tent flaps over the windows for good views, and during dinner, they would turn down the sheets and lower the flaps again, to keep the room warm. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom well equipped (hot water, plush robes, thoughtful amenities.)

Meals were oustanding. Breakfasts were had on returning from the morning game drive, with a light lunch during the day. Afternoon tea at this place was an especially good spread, as were the sundowners while out on an evening game drive--racks of glassware and different wines and a white tablecloth...right next to a watering hole. Dinners were outstanding multi-course events, in the tradition of everyone sitting at a candle-lit communal table, telling tales about what they spotted that day.

The staff and guides here were the best we encountered on our safari. Zimbabwean guides undergo extensive training and testing to earn their guide certification, and it shows. These guides could go into national-geographic-level detail about the animals, the land, the ecosystem, and wildlife / land-use politics.

With so many pump-fed watering holes, there are endless opportunities to see different game at different locations at different tiems of the day. There were two camp-owned hides that you could be driven to during the day (one treehouse, one waterhole.) Elephant viewing and lion viewing was outstanding, and yes, we really did see some elephants drinking out of the swimming pool just before dinner. The camp is self-contained on stilts, so animals are free to wander through the camp. Armed guides escort you back to your tent at night, just to be on the safe side. A pride of lions even camped out for two nights about 50 yards from one of the tents. Incredible. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

We love adventure travel, and have been all over the world, but have never had such an adventure as we did at Little Makalolo! It is truly a "luxury" tent camp, and they even catered amazingly to my extremely strict vegan diet.
The tents are on ground level, and you'll be amazed when you are woken at 3:00 am with an elephant 3 feet from your tent door, munching on twigs and leaves! We had hyena and elephants come straight through camp at all hours of the day, in addition to many other critters.
The watering hole, which sits about 300 yards in front of camp, is the only water for miles, so all day long you'll have animals coming through for a drink. There is a tree hut near the pan that you can sit in and watch the action or - if you're really adventurous - you can go and sit in the log pile which is right at the water's edge! This will allow you to get within feet of elephants, buffalo, lions, or whatever else comes through for a drink and a romp in the pool. You'll be amazed at how the elephants all time it in the evening so they show up at the watering pan together - almost like all the families have a big reunion planned at 5:00 pm, and they all show up promptly! We video taped about 70 elephants in one long line running to the pan, and there were others coming from different directions - about 120 in all, splashing and playing in the mud. The tiny babies are the sweetest.
Of course, your guide, Sacha, will take you out for game drives and even walks in the bush if you're up for it. He's pretty amazing! Tamlin, your hostess, will see to it that you are always comfortable, full and happy. We couldn't recommend this place more!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdventureTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews