We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Safaris Little Makalolo Camp
Nearby Hotels
$91
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The N1 Hotel Harare(Harare)(Great Value!)
$66
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Inn(Harare)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
116
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holegame drivesstay nightsblankets and hot water bottlesindoor and outdoor showerswilderness safarisauthentic safari experiencefantastic experiencewonderful animalspack of wild dogshis knowledgethe entire staffsable antelopethree daysa wonderful jobsouthern africa
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 127 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We couldn't have had a better trip. We even saw a pride of lions kill a buffalo. Can't get better than that! Staff was great. Food spectacular. Rooms wonderful. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peloha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We recently visited Little Makalolo camp and had a wonderful time. From the warm welcome by camp staff (not only initially, but after each game drive) to the fantastic food, to the great game viewing, to the beautiful accomodations, Little Makalolo made our trip to southern Africa well worth while and one we would like to repeat. Wildnerness Safaris, which runs the camp, has truly figured out what it takes to make guests feel that they are welcome and appreciated. They employ professionally trained managers and guides and it pays off. Although we did not see rhino at the camp, we did see the other "4" of the Big 5--and not only once, but repeatedly. The safari vehicles, which were in excellent condition, were limited to 7 guests, but we never had more than 5, so everyone was able to take photos without obstruction from other guests.
The food was prepared and presented beautifully and was well-balanced and nutritious. Little things, like the chef grilling one evening by the tables, made our visit to Little Makalolo very special. Our guide, who was with us from arrival to departure, was very knowledgeable and took time to explain interesting details of the animal and plant life in Hwange. Night drives used red-tone lights to protect the animals sight--one of many steps taken to show that Wilderness respects the environment.
The camp was solar powered, yet there was no shortage of electrical power. Steps again had been taken to ensure that the solar panels were sufficient to operate each unit comfortably.
Although the camp is not air conditioned, fans and the design of each "cabin" allow the units to be comfortable for sleeping. Little Makalolo is the perfect safari camp from all perspectives.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happytrails500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hwange National Park is one of the most beautiful places one could ever wish to see. Truly an amazing experience and we were blessed to be able to stay at Little Makalolo. It is a tiny tented camp, just 6 tents but they are a good size, comfortable and well decorated - all are solar powered. The staff working there really were lovely and our guide (who's name has left me, as it was a while ago now that we visited) was particularly knowledgable and clearly loved everything about Hwange. The game drives were long but you never got tired as the landscape, again, was spectacular. There is plenty of wild life and we managed to see most, and were lucky as we went during the wet season where it is harder to see the animals in the lush surroundings. Can't say enough about the place really ! Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoDrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

A 45mins flight from Vic Falls literally drops you in the middle of nowhere (200Km from the nearest town), to be met by a smiling guide and a comfortable Land Rover ( used for game drives) takes you to Camp past zebra, elephants and hippos at the water hole and lots of other birds and animals too.
Arrive at the camp to more smiling faces, a welcome cool flannel and a drink. Bags are taken to your tent while you have a quick chat about what goes on at the camp.
Tents are beautiful - we had a tent for 4, double for 2 adults and twin for 2 teenage boys. Comfortable beds, crisp white sheets, hot & cold water (solar powered) and copper hand basins, lots of towels, robes, lights, indoor and outdoor shower. There are no sockets in the tents but you can recharge cameras, ipods etc in the communal areas. We were there 18th-20th July which is mid winter, so mornings and evenings are cold, as low as 1C, gloves and woolly hats and fleeces are a very good idea!
Days started early with a gentle wakeup call from our guide at 6:30am for breakfast at 7 and the game drive at 7:30-7:45. This seems early but, probably is the best part of the day. It is cold, so early morning showers tend to get forgotten, (best in the outdoor shower after lunch in the warm) so clothes chucked on and head for the warmth of the campfire and breakfast.
Hot drinks, (tea is wonderful), cereal, muffins and/or porridge and toast cooked over the camp fire are great, and taste good, perhaps it’s the crisp, cold air and the wide open view of Africa as the sun rises that makes it special.
Off on the game drive, thermal ponchos provided, buffalo, elephants, zebra, a pride of 16 lions, steenbok, giraffe, impala, sable, and loads more. Don’t forget the birds, eagles, vultures like jungle book, hornbills by the dozen, are all great to see.
Before you know it your guide will stop for tea; or coffee, and a snack, it gets better in the evening, a G&T or a beer under the African sunset. Fantastic. Our guide ‘Sibbs’ was kind, friendly, knowledgeable and great fun to be with – but the other guides Lewis et al were all good from what we heard. In camp all the guides and hosts at the camp (Shane and Kim) were just great to be with and really were what made our stay so memorable.
Back for an early-ish lunch, and a rest, before the afternoon drive at 3-3.30pm after tea and freshly baked cake. All the food and supplies are shipped weekly from the nearest shop 200Km away which makes the high standard of food all the more remarkable – the food is plentiful, fresh, tasty – just great!
While Little Mak is not a 5 star hotel in the sense of a Four Seasons, you will be hard pressed to experience a better place, and perhaps what makes it so special are the people at the camp. Positive, friendly, helpful, just all round fantastic.
Little Mak is relaxed, help yourself to a beer from the fridge if someone doesn’t insist on doing it for you first. Dinner, a chat or few songs by the fire and then most people went to bed between 9 & 10, escorted to your tent by a guide, as the camp is open and animals do wander through it, a torch is useful.
We took some pens/pencils which will be distributed by ‘Children in the Wilderness’ part of Wilderness Safaris who run Little Mak, it is somewhat uncomfortable to see the gratitude for such small gifts but it does help.
We were told the light plane trip luggage allowance was only 12 Kg, but turned out to be 20Kg so do check. We could have done with a few more warm clothes and would have taken more pens etc too.
Our first safari, and we did not know what to expect; Little Mak made a big impression. Fantastic people, a great camp and a special experience in just the 3 days we were there – we were all sad to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bancroftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Unfortunately we were only there for 2 nights, but we still managed to see Ellies under every tree and on every blade of grass - as well as Lions and Leopard and the majestic sable. The camp is run excellently by Ranya and the tents are extremely comfortable with very large bathroom areas, incl outdoor showers which are great fun. The loos with a view are also an added bonus.
We were there in July - height of winter and it is freezing at night, but the hot water bottles mean the beds are a joy and there are plenty of covers to keep you warm.
Everyone we spoke to staying there agreed that the 6am wake up in winter is too early, it is still so cold when you leave at 7am that you are not seeing anything for that first 45-60 mins and you are very uncomfortable. Our last morning I had long sleeved t shirt, shirt, cardigan, velour jacket, fleece jacket, plus the ponchos they provide which are excellent fleece and plastic (water and windproof) covers and STILL we were freezing. You really don't seem to warm up until past 9am, and as you are back in camp about 11-11.30, there is plenty of time to delay the start.
The solar option does not seem to be working too well as two different tents ran out of power, I understand the reason and concept but at these prices you should at least have light.
Also ladies - beware - no socket in room so no hairdryer use possible !! There are sockets available in the dining area for charging cameras laptops etc but it is a pain as we forgot to charge one of the cameras one evening and only remembered when we were in the tent and you cannot leave it again once you have been escorted there at night (due understandably to the fact you may bump into an Ellie or a Lion !)
The food is plentiful and very good
We were so lucky to be with the guide Lewis. I have been going to Africa and the bush for 18 years and he is excellent - very knowledgeable but also great company and a lovely host with a great laugh !! The guide can make or break your safari, and Lewis will always make it - he even managed to organise some gorgeous sunsets for us - especially the last night where the sun set in the west as an enormous moon rose to the east !! Stunning
I would def recommend Little Makalolo, the staff are excellent, always asking after you and ensuring everything runs smoothly and providing seemless service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews