We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hwange Main Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hwange Main Camp
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent value in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

If you want five star luxury this isn't for you, but if you want to feel cosy and have the best access to the park at the best possible price, this is the place for you.

The decor etc hasn't been changed for many years but for us, this added to the charm of the place. It has huge potential to change from something that is around two star to five star but that would come at a price, so best to leave it as it is so people from all backgrounds can experience this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcusWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    26
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We've stayed at a good number of parks in Zim, and for a park location it was well maintained and run by friendly, conscientious folks. It's right by the gate to the game drive and has all the necessary amenities; mosquito nets, bathrooms with a donkey boiler for hot water, basic kitchen, living room area. One of our nets had fallen (they use a silly way of holding them up) and they replaced it while we unpacked. You WILL need nets and repellent. Again, for staying in a park, it was great, and while the lodges don't have a shower, the chalets have a shared bathroom that does. Happy game driving.
Oh, and the animals were just plain everywhere. Best park we visited.

Room Tip: Chalets have a private sink but shared bathroom. Bonus, that shared bathroom has a shower. Lodges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickhex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esigodini, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Staying in a Zimbabwe National Park has always been basic but perfectly adequate and comfortable. Staying at Main Camp last weekend (10-12 Nov 12) proved an interesting experience for judging the state of the camp. We checked into the camp, unpacked and then discovered a large window was broken. Reporting this, they immediately moved us into a vacant lodge. The point here is that the lodge we were originally due to stay in has clearly been renovated and upgraded. The furniture was new, the cooker much more modern and there was a proper kettle. It was a 4 man lodge and had both a bathroom and shower. This is Lodge L for anyone interested. We were moved to Lodges J1 and 2, two 2-man lodges which can be joined together. This left us with older furniture, an older cooker (oven didn't work in one end) and no kettle but really it did not make any difference! Please check my comments on other accommodation at the end.

Self catering is something of a challenge, more because the kitchen is fairly small than anything else. The fridge is fine and the hotplates were certainly hot and even heating water didn't take too long. Bring your own food if possible because the little store, whilst stocking basics, does not have (much if any) fresh food (it also has drinks and toiletries) and is also very expensive. We brought food for our first night and also rolls, cold meat, chips/crisps, biscuits and fruit to make picnic lunches (and mealie meal to make porridge for breakfast which may not be to everyone's liking!) and ate our remaining evening meal at the restaurant.

The restaurant is a little smarter than it was 15 months ago when I was last there. Service is not quick. I suggest you order a meal in advance and give a time of arrival if you can. The menu is reasonable. Not surprisingly it is relatively expensive unless you eat the traditional meal which I highly recommend by the way, not only for being cheap but tasty and filling too. There is a more snack menu for lunch if you wish but I didn't test it. Attached is a bar and TV area (now with satellite). Fuel is also available again at the camp but I imagine it is not cheap!

A few more quick notes on the lodge : the hot water is heated by log fire boilers in the afternoon/evening and was very hot. I found the beds very comfortable and there are mosquito nets and an overhead fan.

There is an attendant who will wash up, make beds, sweep etc and I have always found these national parks workers friendly and efficient though you may need to understand that they service several lodges not just your own!

I also add in that you can have cheaper accommodation at main camp in chalets or cottages (or indeed camping). These again are comfortable and clean but ahve more basic equipment than lodges, perhaps lacking crockery for example and in the case of cottages you have to use a communal fridge and cooker.

Overall, I well recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: If you are a party of 3 or 4 ask for Lodge L which I know has been upgraded. Some others may have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I'd heard a fair bit about Hwange National Park and was keen to check it out, so it was a stop on my recent trip to Zimbabwe. We decided to stop at the Main Camp rather than one of the lodges in the area, and that decision proved sound.

You don't come to Hwange for the accommodation, of course. But it was perfectly adequate for what we wanted and all the facilities were on hand. The unit was a good size although missing a couple of things perhaps - a kettle and a shower would have been nice rather than pots on the stove and a bath only. Still, small gripes and nothing that impacted on our stay.

If you've come to see the animals - and why else would you be here - you'll see plenty. From impala wandering through the grounds to the ever-present baboons, who have to be guarded against (remember to lock the door at all times), there was always some sort of activity in the grounds. Outside the fence you could see almost everything in a few minutes.

We took advantage of a game drive (of course) but our timing meant it had to be a dawn rather than afternoon one. Still, we saw a lot even if it was freezing until the sun came up (warning here: this was in June and it was about -1 when we went out, and that's cold in the back of one of those jeeps. You will need warm gear in winter). But the rewards came as we went through the bush and then at one of the water holes, where there was plenty to see and the animals were not stressed by crowds; there was only us and Henry, the guide, and we were ignored by the wildlife.

The camp also includes a nice restaurant and bar, which offered a good menu. The fire was pleasant at night - it was cold outside - and there's also a TV area. The staff were friendly and helpful without ever being in-your-face or trying to press ever more trips and attractions upon us. Even if, as a foreigner, I pay a premium on the rate I consider the money well worth spending as the park is really quite something and, at $80 for the night (for two, and my partner is a Zimbabwean and therefore gets a discounted rate) it's hardly going to break the bank. In a country where things are tough, spending a few bucks to preserve something like this park is only right.

Access is fine to the camp - sealed road all the way - but beyond that 4WD or a charter is the only way to get around. The guided tour was inexpensive and a memorable experience; Henry saw and pointed out a great deal that we might have missed in the bush and long grass.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Hwange; the only disappointment was that few other tourists were there. Perhaps it's a hidden gem but, if you're in Zimbabwe, one well worth checking out.

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same and nicely spread out. Always remember the baboons - they could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Road_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights while visiting the Hwange National Park.
The lodge had a small kitchen with most equipment available, a somewhat oldfashioned bathroom and a double bedroom. Unfortunetaly the bathroom had only a bath and no shower.
There was a private braai available for our lodge and firewood was available.
Main camp also has a restaurant and a small shop for groceries.

If you want to go view the wildlife early in the morning or late in the evening, camp in the park itself because the gates at the main camp are only open from 6am till 6pm.

Overall we had a decent stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelgiumCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 22 in Hwange National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 22 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#2 of 22 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hwange Main Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hwange Main Camp

Property: Hwange Main Camp
Address: Main Entrance, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing