We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari at Hwange”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hwange Safari Lodge
Indianola
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Safari at Hwange”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The lodge was a very nice place. The room had nice accommodations and the bed was very comfortable. They have a outpost that you can go and look out into the reserve to look at animals and it was a nice treat. The food was great. I even got to try a Kudo. It taste like beef. We stayed for a weekend and went on two safaris. I was scared for the first half hour and think I relaxed and enjoyed it. We saw a variety of animals. We only saw one of the big five, the lion, which is unusual, most people see elephants. Other people in our group saw elephants, leopards and more. It was a great experience.

I highly recommend it. The buffets had a large variety of foods. You could eat you normal diet or you could try some things that you had only seen in pictures. The also had a generator for the times that the power went out so you are never in the dark. They also had free Wi-Fi. I enjoyed it. They did have a nice pool but I did not get to try it out, I was to busy doing other stuff.

Room Tip: rooms in the lower number are closer to the main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    71
    38
    11
    8
See reviews for
43
41
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The only good thing about this place was the magnificient view over the water hole. The Hotel is run down and shabby. At times we felt like we were the only people in the Hotel. The room itself was ok, bathroom was very dated, poorly maintained and maids kept leaving the louvre windows open so we always came back to lots of insects. No fridge, one bed 4ft wide we were both afraid we would fall out. no safe, did have hairdryer, tea/coffee toiletries in bathroom. shower over bath. After 1st day no more water, we had to purchase from Bar and bring back to room. Staff sat outside at night and were loud. Food was a big dissapointment. We both got the impression that as only a few guests were booked in that no food was ordered. 1st night out of @5 starters only two available. Meat was overcooked and vegtables bland. Drinks were expensive. Breakfast was buffet which was very limited and you order hot food, I lived off eggs the whole time I was there. When I asked for a cheese sandwich for lunch I was informed "no cheese" Staff were friendly but over attentive due to lack of guests. Pool was in dire need of maintenance and cleaning. The highlight of the entire stay was the game drive and sitting by the water hole watching all the game we sat there for many hours, morning and afternoon game drive which was amazing we had a very knowlegable guide we saw so much game, driving out of the Hotel at 6am still dark and turning a corner to find a herd of elephants not 10ft away was amazing and not a mile down the road we saw lions truly awesome. We enjoyed marking up the board each evening ticking off all the game that we had seen. This Hotel needs urgent upgrading it is such a shame as it could be really nice. Staff need to be more aware what guests expect, we walked out to breakfast pass some maids, and someone had left a tray of food on the floor outside door, also had been sick, we expected this to be cleaned up but upon our return one hour later this mess was still there, we had to yell out to arriving guests to watch were they walked. My husband had been in this Hotel 15 years ago and was not impressed by the condition it was in now.

Room Tip: Only two story building all rooms face towards water hole, but some views are obscured by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoMo512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at here for 2 nights and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were nice and spacious with lovely view to the watering hole. The air conditioning was not working but the ceiling fan was- it was not a big issue for us as it wasn't too hot but I guess it could be unpleasant sometimes. The staff were lovely and helpful- in particular the waiting staff in the restaurant who provided great service. Not all menu options were available but the food we had was very good as was breakfast. The pool was clean and it was lovely to be relaxing at the pool watching elephants, zebra and impala at the watering hole. If you are booking a game drive you should specify if you want to enter the national park or else you will just drive around outside. All in all had a very pleasant stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vichunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I take students from a University on study abroad experiences and we stay at this hotel every year for a few days. The students love the water hole out back as well as the large chalkboard in the lobby area to see what game has been in the area that day. The dining area outside is great at night with the large bonfire area. The rooms are okay, but when at a space like this you should be out exploring. The game rides are brilliant but be sure to take a morning and late afternoon ride so that you can see a greater variety of animals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is one of our favourite holiday resorts in the world. This time around we were very disspaointed by the poor maintance of the place. For a start the swimmimng pool is a death trap very filthy and really needs a good clean out. Get experts who can help you and get the pool cleaned.
The rooms what can i say peeling paint, dated decoration, leaking toiltes and yes old worn out carpets that need changing. In our room when we took a shower there was a big puddle in the bathroom.
The staff were great they made our stay enljoyable as they tried their best . The scones are to die for very tasty . I really enjoyed having tea and scones. The towels need replacing as they were as dry as ever , tablecloths outdated they have seen their days. My family would love to go back again this year but not if the place is not renovated, no chance.There is no fitness centre so how can I rate this. Each room had colour televisions what a waste of money no one wants to wacth TV when there is exciting things to see and do there. Theere were no lights in the lounge so you can not have a drink there as you can not see what you are drinking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hwange National Park hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The Safari rides were great and our guide was awesome, we seen all the big game and as a photographer getting close was the highlight of my stay. Dinner was outside which I loved and nightly fires were great to hang around and meet new people. It does need updating and they have no air conditioners just air circulations (like fans) which was pretty uncomfortable in summer. So if you deal with the heat at night everything else offsets it

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyadamron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This Lodge needs many repairs and would be an ideal place to stay if it could afford to make them. The economy here is not getting better as fast as some in other counties that are also suffering from a downturn. The staff and employees are wonderful and do try to make your stay as comfortable as they can with what they have to work with. The food was also very good I certainly hope they can make this place as wonderful as it had been in past years.

Room Tip: Check to make sure the Air Conditioning is functioning before you unpack if it is during their warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 23 in Hwange National Park
40 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 23 in Hwange National Park
43 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 23 in Hwange National Park
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 23 in Hwange National Park
377 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 23 in Hwange National Park
239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sable Sands
Sable Sands
#11 of 23 in Hwange National Park
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hwange Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hwange Safari Lodge

Property: Hwange Safari Lodge
Address: Farm 39, Hwange National Park 5792, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hwange Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hwange Safari Lodge is an oasis of luxury in the heart of the African savannah. Surrounded by untouched wilderness our guests have access to all the modern amenities required to make their stay truly comfortable. The hotel has two restaurants, one which is located outside with views of the watering hole. The swimming pool is a popular oasis for cooling down each day and the bar is the ideal place to relax after a safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hwange Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hwange Safari Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing