We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hwange Safari Lodge
sedgefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic experience!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently travelled up to the Lodge from SA to attend a family wedding there. It was a weekend of memories that we will cherish forever. The staff were incredible , the rooms were clean and comfortable ( everything worked), the food was great and the waterhole /animal experience out of this world.Thanks to all the staff at the safari lodge who worked so hard to make this such a memorable occasion. Everything was amazing with the exception of the cost of the drinks and food which were very expensive even compared to Harare prices, something that the management might like to review because it is the only thing that detracted from the overall experience. Thank you Thank you Thank you. Hopefully we will be able to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkisedgefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    68
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
41
38
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hadn't been here for 12 years and was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. It's in a stunning location, our room balcony overlooked the waterhole with a contant flow of Elephants, Buffalo and Impala. The room was far better than I expected after reading some reviews on here, and the outside BBQ was of a high quality and the outdoor fires completed the Safari experience. We have previously stayed at Ivory Lodge and in our opinion this was a much better experience at a fraction of the cost. We went with 2 children and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Folks, please remember when you plan a trip to Zimbabwe what the country has gone through. What it is still going through. The lodges, hotels etc are bound to be very run down. Run down but not dirty. I love this country and am willing to turn a blind eye to the grubby bath tub that is so in need of being changed or the tile grout that is not so white and the food that may not be up there with the best. Most of the people here are wonderful the game is amazing and the staff try their best. Hwange Safari Lodge is in need of a do over but so in the whole country. I know the upgrade has started on Hwange Safari Lodge and keeping fingers crossed it keeps going. I hope all the beautiful places in this country get a chance to shine once again but it will take stability and time. LB

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Leora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We made a last minute booking for one night for US$150 incl breakfast. Check-in was very quick. There were some issues with the room.... the phone wasn’t working, the toilet didn’t flush very well but the game that we saw at the water hole made it all worth it. All the rooms face the bush which is great because you can see all sorts of things during the day and night. The room was reasonably sized and generally clean. The bathroom was quite worn, especially the bathtub but we were only here for one night so I wasn’t too fussed.

At night, we spent about 3 hours watching the water hole. We saw about 50 elephants and also baboons, monkeys, impalas. The elephants come really close to the fence, so much so I had to run away because they were staring at me intently! We saw elephants chasing zebras, elephants fighting... This is why I’ve given the hotel 4 stars because of the game we got to see.

We had dinner and breakfast here. Dinner was fine, reasonably priced and quite tasty. They were happy to accommodate us by serving dinner outside, even though it was very cold, so that we could watch the animals. There was a fire at night. Breakfast was great as well with a good variety of options. We booked the morning game drive through the hotel and that cost $35 pp. We saw some animals, not as much as I hoped for, but you can’t force these things. It’s just your luck on the day!

Room Tip: Try to get a room closest to the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

OK, the place wouldn't get 5 stars for luxury but this is Zim, look at what has been happening there! The rooms are ok, bathroom a little tired but if your in Hwange you are there for the game, which is where this place excels. The food is ok, nothing special but you wont starve. Game viewing is wonderful, the game drives are very reasonable and are great with a very knowledgeable guide, if you are there for a few days it is interesting to see where things move to. We saw cheetah tracks one day, saw the cat itself the next, magical. OK, the place has power cuts, just about everywhere in Zim does, even Harare and this is in the middle of nowhere. They have a gennie for lights though. If you are driving here, watch out for elephants on the road. I liked it here and can't wait to return, just remember, it's Zim, not SA!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed as a group after having stayed at Hwange safari lodge five years ago .l was shocked by how both the hotel and the service has changed. The staff were very friendly, food was fresh and the staff was willing to help.Even though the rooms have seen their time and are in need of a refurb they were very clean. The hotel still pumps water ito the water hole and we had an oppotunity to see most of the animals from the pool side.The lounge and the bar are now tilled giving them frseh air unlike before when they had an old carpet.What was more facinating was seeing a herd of elephants while having breakfast in the lounge. The game drive was superb it is a must for all visitors. i will definately be back Mrs EDWARDS

Room Tip: Ask for tilled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The only saving grace is the water pan in front of the Hotel. The food is absolutely abominable. If you have no other choice of accommodation, take your own food! No power frquently affects this Hotel and often no water as a result. Tired rooms and poor service. Sorry, Management, travellers have choices and this place, considering the charges, is best avoided altogether.

Room Tip: Not at this Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctrinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hwange National Park hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 22 in Hwange National Park
39 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 22 in Hwange National Park
41 reviews
6.7 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 22 in Hwange National Park
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#1 of 22 in Hwange National Park
423 reviews
44.3 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 22 in Hwange National Park
174 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gwango Heritage Resort
Gwango Heritage Resort
#1 of 1 in Hwange National Park
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hwange Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hwange Safari Lodge

Property: Hwange Safari Lodge
Address: Farm 39, Hwange National Park 5792, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hwange Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hwange Safari Lodge is an oasis of luxury in the heart of the African savannah. Surrounded by untouched wilderness our guests have access to all the modern amenities required to make their stay truly comfortable. The hotel has two restaurants, one which is located outside with views of the watering hole. The swimming pool is a popular oasis for cooling down each day and the bar is the ideal place to relax after a safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hwange Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hwange Safari Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing