We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on foot walking safari game drives watering hole complete confidence real credit wished we had stayed longer safari experience six stars huge amount tracking animals exceptional staff bore hole spent nights close encounters with elephants wildlife including meal times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 236 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2018

Super camp, stunning view over waterhole, excellent service! Thanks to Kim for all our private lunches and dinners! Special thanks to guide Andy,for lion tracking on foot, super exciting and with succes.great food and wines, everybody was very helpful ,great service

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank oosterhesselen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2018 via mobile

Camp Hwange is a safari lodge with tented chalets in Hwange National Park. We are used to staying in the National Park Accommodation so weren’t quite sure what to expect from the camp.

On arrival we were met on the road up to the camp, where we were welcomed by the staff with cold (much needed) drinks and lots of smiles.

The accommodation facilities were beautiful. Really upmarket and luxurious for the bush. Taking a shower watching elephants at the pan was a real bonus! Beds comfy and the turn down service was great.

The communal areas were comfy and well thought out. Food was really great, a good selection, I particularly enjoyed the lunches! There were a large variety of drinks on offer and we were worried that as a large wedding party we might out drink the place, but try as we did, they were too well prepared!! Sitting round the fire in the evenings was a real treat, watching all the wildlife go by!!

Wildlife wise, as a group of mostly Zimbabwean safari familiars, we were still in awe. We saw 28 lion, including the male leading the pride and a litter of cubs a few weeks old, as well as a lion kill. We saw elephants galore, thousands of buffalo, giraffe, water buck,hyena, leopard, ardwolf, ardwark, serval, civet, jackal, wild dog, loads of birds including eagles and eagle owls. The list goes on...

The guides were really amazing. Helpful and friendly to be with, Kevin and Adam were knowledgeable and a real credit to the establishment. Washington needs a special mention as someone who’s talent seemed natural both with the animals and our group. A really talented guide, I have to thank him especially for getting me so close to a lion and for the really great morning drives we had. An amazing guy!

All the staff were amazing and Melissa organised everything with precision and flexibility, catering to all our needs.

All in all, I can’t recommend Camp Hwange enough and will be raving to everyone I see about how great it was!! All I can say is if you have the chance then go, you won’t regret it!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank FarAway596988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at hwange camp and a wonderful time
We appreciated the authenticity of the place, the nature, the passion of all people there
There was a very friendly atmosphere
Our guide was amazing and fully passionated, everyday was different with a lot of surprises
The houses are really comfortable and offer a nice view on the nature

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sophiehoehlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018

We loved Camp Hwange. I can't imagine there is a more experienced and knowledgeable guide the Julian. He knows his stuff!!!. We spent quality time with 6 Lions as they finished off a buffalo from the previous days kill. We saw lots of birds and lots of animals including painted dogs, Roan, secretarybirds etc.

Staff was fantastic and made us feel at home. Food wa sall good and the rooms were comfortable with great views of wildlife at the watering hole.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp H, General Manager at Camp Hwange, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Dear Steven L

We love hearing back from our guests, especially when they have great things to say such as yourself. Thank you very much for reviewing Camp Hwange. We are thrilled that you had such a great time.


We look forward to hosting you , should you decide to return one day.

Kind Regards

Camp Hwange Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

The staff at Camp Hwange are so well trained - very knowledgeable and went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed. Julian was our guide for 3 days - can't say enough good things about him and our experience with him!!! Highly recommend!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank LaurieL995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews