We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on foot walking safari game drives watering hole complete confidence real credit wished we had stayed longer safari experience six stars huge amount tracking animals exceptional staff bore hole spent nights close encounters with elephants wildlife including meal times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 236 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Absolutely fabulous camp. Awesome setting round the waterhole, very friendly and knowledgeable staff, nothing ever too much trouble. The guides truly set this operation apart as world class.

All the facilities are simple but brilliant, you cant beat sitting round the camp fire watching and listening to animals coming up to drink.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lgyajh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Camp Hwange is a very special camp deep in Hwange National Park. The setting is glorious in front of a waterhole. The staff are very attentive and we felt very spoilt. The food was delicious. Our guide, Julian, was extremely knowledgeable and we learnt so much. The combination of walking and drives really allows you to immerse yourself in the bush. We saw masses of wildlife including 40 different lions. We encountered leopard, hyena, jackal, followed a cheetah and tracked a male lion on foot. We loved every minute of it.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

This was by far our favorite stop on our trip. The staff was wonderful- greeting us with warm smiles after a cold bumpy ride to the camp. It’s deep into the park. Our guide, Julian, was spectacular. No sooner had we settled in for a relaxing pre-dinner cocktail on our 1st night when he hustles all of us onto the truck, in the dark. He heard jackals and jackals mean possible leopards. And YES! We see a leapoard within 1/2 mile of our camp. Lions, hippos, more elephants than we could count. Tracking animals on foot. Great stuff!

The accommodations were beautiful. The food fantastic every day. This is “GLAMPING” and we loved it. The tents look out to the watering hole. Anything could be here at any time. You CANNOT wander around after dark, but shine a flashlight into the grass and you’ll see lots of little bunny eyes. Maybe something bigger! Cold weather but a hot water bottle in your bed at night helps!

Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We stayed one night at Camp Hwange and wish we'd been able to stay longer. Unfortunately we only had time for 3 days of safari and wanted to see both Hwange Main Camp and Sinamatella: it was my husband's brithday in the middle and we didn't want to send his birthday travelling, so logistics meant we had just one night at Camp Hwange and two nights elsewhere. We so wish it had worked out the other way round. Our short time here was just magnificent, both relaxing and exciting at the same time, as we were able to immerse ourselves in Zimbabwe's nature offering in the most beautiful and hospitable of safari campls.

We travelled down from Vic Falls and met out transfer at the entrance to the park. We were escorted by the most wonderful guide, Spike, who was incredibly knowledgable and great fun. By the time we had arrived at Camp Hwange we'd seen so much that it felt like we'd had a safari already, having spotted loads of birds (much to my husband's delight), baobab tress, buck and a herd of elephants at the nearby watering hole. We arrived for a late lunch which was wonderful, eating overlooking the watering hole and the savannah. After relaxing for an hour or so in beautiful surroundings it was time to head for an afternoon/evening game drive with our guide, Washington, along with another two other guests who were sharing our jeep. Heading to a watering spot we found some rarely spotted bird as well as hippo and then drove around some more seeing elephants, jackal, giraffe and zebra. We stopped for a gin and tonic sundowner (magical) before heading back for dinner.

Dinner is served around one big table which I had mixed feelings about at first, but it was really sociable and fun. The table itself is beautifully decorated (as the rest of the shared space - I would have happily had most of the art in my house) and the staff wonderful. The food itself excelled my expectations and the starter of a corn fritter was so delicious. Wine was flowing as were the laughs.

After dinner, as we were having a digestif and chatting with Dave the owner, there was word that there were two unfamiliar male lions wandering close to camp. Dave asked if we wanted to join him as he went to check them out - how could we say no?! So back in the jeep we jumped and tracked down the young male lions. It was exhilarating to follow the beautiful animals as they wandered along the paths in the moonlight (we hardly needed a torch), smelling the grass and the wider bush. We must have been tracking them for over an hour before they dissapeared out of sight. We were so lucky to have experienced this - truly life affirming!

Slept really well in our comfortable and well decorated rooms, but we needed to get up early to squeeze in a short safari before heading to our next camp. Breakfast was delicious and generous. While it was a quiet morning for game we still saw a huge herd of of buffalo and some more zebra in the beautiful morning light. We then headed off for our next lodge, which was a long day's drive. If we had more time we would have loved to have joined a walking safari following lions but it wasn't to be - but hopefully we will be back!

Final word - if you need internet, local sims don't get a good reception so you'll need to buy internet cards.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

I have been on safari in S Africa, Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana and Zambia, but my recent trip to Zimbabwe was the best I have ever experienced. This is in no small part due to the exceptional staff at Camp Hwange. Genuine enthusiasm, none of the fakery you get at many high end places. It is staffed by people who love being there and want to share their excitement with their guests. Our guide Adam is the best we have ever had, fantastic knowledge shared brilliantly. A superb tracker with a feel for animal's instincts and next moves. Kim runs the camp with joyful efficiency. Hwange itself is quiet and seems to attract nice engaging fellow travellers. Camp Hwange has exclusive use of a large area which means sightings are special and often solitary. In three days we saw, many lions, leopards, a magnificent cheetah, giraffe, painted dogs, hyena, porcupine, honey badgers, hippos and hundreds of elephants.

Room tip: There are no bad rooms
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DylanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews