We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on foot walking safari game drives watering hole complete confidence real credit wished we had stayed longer safari experience six stars huge amount tracking animals exceptional staff bore hole spent nights close encounters with elephants wildlife including meal times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 236 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Despite the unseasonably cold snap at the end of July, that necessitated hot water bottles at night, ponchos on every drive and lots of layers at dinner this was a great ecologically friendly camp with lovely fresh water from their own bore hole and solar panel-powered shower.

Staff joined us at dinner, and Melissa the hostess was always ready with a hot cuppa in the morning. Lunch - like all meals - was taken ‘captain’s table’ style, and featured a great variety of salads. (Afternoon siestas set us up for large afternoon/sundown and evening drives.)

A highlight was the sundowner table complete with white tablecloth, canapés and wine bucket for (non alcoholic) sparkling wine to accompany an amazing sunset! (Thanks Kim !)

Beth was an enthusiastic guide whose eagerness to learn about every element of the environment was infectious. And Kevin proved to be a great, knowledgeable guide on both drives and morning walks, who continually proved his priority was our safety. They made our stay!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

We travelled in early July and experienced unusually cold and rainy weather which made the work of the guides very difficult as the game was scarce. However, Andy still did a great job entertaining and educating us during our 3 days both on game drive and walking, getting close to elephants (singly and in groups) on foot every day. He instilled complete confidence in us whilst walking, but taking care always that we understood the importance of our behaviour when accompanying him on foot. Andy was also very good at engaging both our interests (seasoned safari-ists) with those of the other guests in our vehicle who were on safari for the first time.
The lodge itself is intimate and set around an open pan so perfect for game viewing without leaving your bed / porch. The rooms are well appointed and not over done - suitably spacious and very comfortable. The staff were always on hand to assist with every need - in our case more hotwater bottles for bed and game drives! And the food - both quality and quality - was just perfect for our needs - tasty, wholesome, plenty of it but not so rich or complicated that you felt that the food was an event in itself. Meals were always entertaining as all staff and guides joined guests in eating together. Very much recommend this place - would happily return.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank natasha o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We went in May, which is definitely not the best time to go. Very cold and Green, which made it hard to find the animals.
Here's what we Liked (a lot) and Room for improvement (minor issues):
Liked:
1. Food is excellent quality, 5 stars
2. Plenty of good wine available
3. Customer Service is top notch
4. The accommodations are extremely comfortable and luxurious.
5. The guides try hard to please everybody
6. Walking in the bush adds excitement to the experience
7. Attention to detail is evident- Afternoon sundowner is fun!
8. Manager Kim was outstanding. Excellent service. They made our last night unforgettable by surprising us with a candle lit dinner for us outside of our room overlooking the water hole under a full moon.
9. Sharing a campfire at night with the rest of group
10. Community meals were a great way to connect and get to know the other guests and the tour guides

Room for improvement:
1. Open air vehicles can have shield in front to deflect the cold wind and dust from blowing directly in your face
2. Offer dust masks. Huge amount of dust is always present in the air and this can create issues for some people.
3. We stayed 4 nights. On our last day of safari, our guide (who was extremely knowledgeable) tried to please a new arrival to the group and forgot about promises made to us earlier in the trip. He kept going to the same small waterholes looking for elephants where we didn't see much.

Animals we saw during our 4 days in the green season:
1. Lots of elephant (the park is overpopulated with them)
2. Lots of hippo
3. Lions eating a large male elephant
4. Lions eating a baby giraffe
5. Cheetah (we got lucky and saw it on our last day heading out)
6. Impala
7. Zebra
8. African wild cat (night drive)
9. Many different types of birds
10. Jackals
11. Kudu
12. Sable
13. Crocodiles

We did not see any wild dogs, but other tourists in a different group did see them on a couple of occasions.

Tips:

Make sure you bring CASH. No credit cards accepted for tips, merchandise at the gift ship.
Bring a dust mask if you are sensitive to dust.
Bring a jacket and skull cap if you are going in May or June. The mornings are VERY cold.
Bring plenty of sunscreen and a pair of binoculars
If we had to do it again we would go in September or October.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icemanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Pros: This is an excellent camp in the north of Hwange with absolutely amazing staff. We were most fortunate to have Spike as our guide, although he usually works at the sister bush camp. We have been on many safaris and Spike has been the most knowledgeable guide we have ever had. Kim the manager of the camp is extremely efficient and professional, as well as enjoyable to talk to and kind.
Cons: June is very cold and even with the hot water bottles and blankets provided, it is still cold at night and very cold getting dressed in the morning. Although the camp tries hard e.g. warm ponchos and blankets in the jeep, our very early drive out of the park in order to be picked up for transportation to Victoria Falls, was long and freezing. Ensure that you have a warm hat, many layers including a down jacket, and a face mask.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naturelover_777983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Highly recommended. The food was top notch. Staff was excellent. Safari's were perfect. Highly recommend.
We went with our daughter on her Honeymoon and they never felt we were in there way. Each cabin is spaced quite a distance apart. So you hear nothing but nature. Lots of elephants.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank terryk850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews