We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on foot walking safari game drives watering hole complete confidence real credit wished we had stayed longer safari experience six stars huge amount tracking animals exceptional staff bore hole spent nights close encounters with elephants wildlife including meal times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 236 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Pros: This is an excellent camp in the north of Hwange with absolutely amazing staff. We were most fortunate to have Spike as our guide, although he usually works at the sister bush camp. We have been on many safaris and Spike has been the most knowledgeable guide we have ever had. Kim the manager of the camp is extremely efficient and professional, as well as enjoyable to talk to and kind.
Cons: June is very cold and even with the hot water bottles and blankets provided, it is still cold at night and very cold getting dressed in the morning. Although the camp tries hard e.g. warm ponchos and blankets in the jeep, our very early drive out of the park in order to be picked up for transportation to Victoria Falls, was long and freezing. Ensure that you have a warm hat, many layers including a down jacket, and a face mask.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naturelover_777983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Highly recommended. The food was top notch. Staff was excellent. Safari's were perfect. Highly recommend.
We went with our daughter on her Honeymoon and they never felt we were in there way. Each cabin is spaced quite a distance apart. So you hear nothing but nature. Lots of elephants.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank terryk850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

The serenity of the place was impeccable. The surrounding forest area and the wildlife were lovely. Particularly, a late afternoon visit by a kudu. That was the highlight of our stay. The stay seemed to go very fast and would have loved to stay longer.
Thank you

Room tip: All room are nearly the same and designed in a beautiful way
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SirObey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018

Camp Hwange hasn't changed since we were there in late 2014. The accommodation is still very comfortable and clean with all amenities to hand and a view across to the pan. We were really well looked after by Francis, Tracy, Julian and the boys not forgetting Beth and Washington. Adam Jones, an old friend from Musango Island was our guide for the 4 nights we were there. The cuisine was excellent and they looked after me very well considering that I an Type 2 Diabetic by providing the necessary food to suit. Adam really was a great guide. There are always plenty of Elephant in Hwange but our treat was to follow a pack of 24 Painted Dog (included 7 puppies) hunting. Unfortunately we lost them in the rocks around Mavumba Dam where we couldn't get access and within 10-15 minutes of losing them and catching up with them again they had killed and eaten. As a bird-watcher we did very well and clocked up 185 species over 3 days, somewhat curtailed at times by storms. December is a good time for 'twitchers' as the migrants arrive with the rains. Camp Hwange is really worth the visit and you will not be disappointed.

Room tip: All rooms face the pan.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017

Our guide Washington was by far the most knowledgeable, enthusiastic and sharp eyed guide of our entire three week trip. Not only was he a keen observer he was a wonderful teacher. Even though it was rainy and chilly during out time in Hwange we were thrilled by our visit. We were always learning. The accommodations are comfortable and being greeted by elephants and birds at the watering hole helped wake us up at 5 AM. Food was good and special care was taken to accommodate allergies. There was a problem with dormice. We were warned to put medicines in the safe but should have been told to close and secure duffels as well.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews