We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
220
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on foot walking safari game drives watering hole complete confidence real credit wished we had stayed longer safari experience six stars huge amount tracking animals exceptional staff bore hole spent nights close encounters with elephants wildlife including meal times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 236 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Highly recommended. The food was top notch. Staff was excellent. Safari's were perfect. Highly recommend.
We went with our daughter on her Honeymoon and they never felt we were in there way. Each cabin is spaced quite a distance apart. So you hear nothing but nature. Lots of elephants.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank terryk850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

The serenity of the place was impeccable. The surrounding forest area and the wildlife were lovely. Particularly, a late afternoon visit by a kudu. That was the highlight of our stay. The stay seemed to go very fast and would have loved to stay longer.
Thank you

Room tip: All room are nearly the same and designed in a beautiful way
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SirObey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018

Camp Hwange hasn't changed since we were there in late 2014. The accommodation is still very comfortable and clean with all amenities to hand and a view across to the pan. We were really well looked after by Francis, Tracy, Julian and the boys not forgetting Beth and Washington. Adam Jones, an old friend from Musango Island was our guide for the 4 nights we were there. The cuisine was excellent and they looked after me very well considering that I an Type 2 Diabetic by providing the necessary food to suit. Adam really was a great guide. There are always plenty of Elephant in Hwange but our treat was to follow a pack of 24 Painted Dog (included 7 puppies) hunting. Unfortunately we lost them in the rocks around Mavumba Dam where we couldn't get access and within 10-15 minutes of losing them and catching up with them again they had killed and eaten. As a bird-watcher we did very well and clocked up 185 species over 3 days, somewhat curtailed at times by storms. December is a good time for 'twitchers' as the migrants arrive with the rains. Camp Hwange is really worth the visit and you will not be disappointed.

Room tip: All rooms face the pan.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017

Our guide Washington was by far the most knowledgeable, enthusiastic and sharp eyed guide of our entire three week trip. Not only was he a keen observer he was a wonderful teacher. Even though it was rainy and chilly during out time in Hwange we were thrilled by our visit. We were always learning. The accommodations are comfortable and being greeted by elephants and birds at the watering hole helped wake us up at 5 AM. Food was good and special care was taken to accommodate allergies. There was a problem with dormice. We were warned to put medicines in the safe but should have been told to close and secure duffels as well.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

This place was a long drive down a very torn up road, but was totally worth it! The service is amazing from the staff greeting you as you arrive to serving an amazing dinner and breakfast each day! Happy hour with a good selection of drinks each day made it complete! Garth, our contract tour guide is the best you could ask for. He is an endless source of knowledge on not only the animals, but the floral and fauna along with astronomy. The guy is a genius and very proud of Zimbabwe. He is also and excellent tracker on foot.

The accomodations were incredible also, with great canvas semi-permanent tents that had a an awesome open shower that overlooked the watering hole if your shade was open. The bed was great, complete with misquito netting. A little cement patio with a few chairs outside your back door with an awesome view of the watering hole. 2 hippos were in there each day, and at night, the hippos and elephants would come right outside our tent and eat! One night several of them actually rubbed on our tent on each side. It was a great and crazy experience. For you light sleepers, bring ear plugs, because these animals chew loud!

Room tip: Closer to the main lodge equals less of a walk each morning and night to your own tent.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tall-Traveler6ft7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews