We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
211
13
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on foot walking safari great lengths to ensure watering hole game drives complete confidence every single meal wished we had stayed longer safari experience exceptional staff open shower elusive leopard six stars huge amount spent nights tracking animals bore hole
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 226 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2017

Right up there amongst the best lodges we have stayed in in twenty years or so of wildlife safari. Simply but elegantly designed a central open sided thatched lounge/dining area with four thatched very comfortable chalets ranged in a crescent on either side all facing a large (pumped) waterhole. Excellent food, great guiding and some fabulous wildlife. A great few days on safari.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights last year. It literally was the best holiday we have ever had.
Everyone looked after us, I've never felt safer.
The food was amazing. We would have loved to have stayed up around the camp fire but we were so tired we had to go to bed.
Every day was an amazing day.
Thank you so much Julian Brookstein and Washington and Dean McGregor

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 236sineadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

Our guide, Adam, was delightful and worked very hard to make sure we saw as much as possible. The camaraderie between the guides was great and we had a lot of fun listening to them bantering with each other at meal times. Lindsay is an excellent camp manager and her team can't be faulted. We appreciated the charging points in the room and wifi. We were served excellent food throughout our stay and all staff were extremely kind and attentive. On our first drive we saw many birds and buffalo and later on a dramatic electrical storm during sun-downers. It was a great treat to see my first serval on the way back to camp. Next day, saw a large group of lions and more lovely birds – the neddicky being my favourite new bird! We also saw a cheetah which we tracked then followed until he went to sleep for the rest of the day! Our sun-downers at the tree hide were superb. Goodness knows how many elephants arrived to drink at the waterhole. We were surrounded! Thanks very much to everyone at Camp Hwange for a very enjoyable and memorable stay. PS Please tell James that we eventually saw the 3 banded courser at our next camp,The Hide, without the aid of an arrow in the sand. He'll understand!!

Room tip: Bush camp so all similar
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank christinebeehive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

We stayed at Camp Hwange from 2nd Oct till 5th Oct 2017. The staff were very warm and friendly, our hostesses went to great lengths to ensure our stay perfect. The guides were professional and knowledgeable, a special thanks to James who took us on several walking safaris which we thoroughly enjoyed. The camp chef should be complimented as the food was varied and excellent even down to the afternoon cake. The remoteness of the camp was one of the reasons we chose this camp, despite it's remoteness we could find little to criticise. The wildlife was abundant and many regularly visited the waterhole and on occasion our accommodation. Overall an amazing experience. Thanks once again for all your efforts. Gary and Carole

Room tip: All are equally good.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

From the moment we were picked up at the main gate, we knew we'd love Camp Hwange. The drive to camp from the gate with Beth was informative, with varied terrain and several animals to enjoy. The greeting from the staff on arrival was warm and informative, they made sure they had my dietary restrictions (vegetarian, with a few little quirks) correct and showed us to our room to settle in before lunch.

At lunch, we met our guide, Andy and enjoyed a variety of fresh, healthy foods. The game drives and walks we did over the coming days with Andy, Chunky and Washington were stellar. I knew we'd walk some, since we requested it, but I don't think I realized exactly how much, how varied, how informative and how fascinating the walks would be. We saw a huge variety of mammals, birds and foliage every single day. Did foot approaches to elephants, lion, leopard and walked with buffalo. Felt safe, and awe inspired.

We loved communal dinners chatting with the guides and staff and learning more about the camp, the concession, the park and the country. We did one full day drive/walk, which was amazing, we saw three leopard, countless elephants, giraffe, lions, birds, etc. - and the lunch they sent was unbelievable. In honor of my husband's birthday, and another couple's anniversary, they gave us a bush dinner on our last night. Again - amazing. From breakfast, to snacks, to tea time to dinner, every single meal was outstanding and the vegetarian options provided were great. My husband raved about the meat options, too.

The chalets were clean, comfortable and offered an amazing view of the watering hole with quite the soundtrack (buffalo, lions, etc) at night. Felt safe as a kitten inside.

I wish we had another day or two there, as my only complaint is more a compliment - the common areas and tent porch were so wonderful, I would've loved to have been there long enough to justify taking a drive "off" to enjoy the space and simply watch the light change over the water hole and see what showed up.

Thanks for a great vacation!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank abbyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews