We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Elephant's Eye, Hwange(Hwange National Park)
$974
$929
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hide(Hwange National Park)
$1,132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ivory Lodge(Hwange National Park)
$575
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ganda Lodge(Hwange National Park)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/29
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hwange Safari Lodge(Hwange National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The N1 Hotel Harare(Harare)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sable Sands(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gwango Elephant Lodge(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malindi Station Safari Lodge(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
192
11
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
11
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson footgreat lengths to ensurewalking safarigame drivesevery single mealsafari experiencewatering holehuge amountopen showerelusive leopardan exceptional experienceafrican wildernessvictoria fallsbush dinnergreen seasonmeal timesmorning drive
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 205 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017

Had an amazing time at Camp Hwange. I stayed there for 5 days and if you are serious about going on Safari, this is the camp to visit. Morning drives typically go out from around 615AM – 11:30AM and the afternoon drives go from 4:30PM -7PM or even later. You can tell all the guides are very passionate and excited about being Safari Guides. They seem more excited to see animals than the guests. Our guide Julian has an incredible amount of knowledge about everything in the bush and he also has balls of steel. He got us to within 30 feet of bull elephants on walks and also to within 30 yards of lions feeding on a kill. We also did walks up to cape buffalo too. The Guides and the Staff at Camp Hwange really make for a truly special safari experience.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

We can't say enough great things about our time at Camp Hwange - the experience of our wonderful guide (Andy), the delicious food, gracious staff , and of course the animals! A shoutout to Beth for literally letting me buy the fleece off her back. Only problem was staying only 3 nights - in retrospect we wished we had stayed longer

Stayed: September 2017
Thank janicea216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

It was an absolutely unforgettable experience despite the fact that we only stayed for 2 days. Our guides, Julian and Washington, were both warm and welcoming. Extremely knowledgeable about the terrain in Hwange. You could see that they had a lot of passion about being bush guides and it shows in the manner with which they convey themselves. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

We got to see 3 lions at the watering hole situated approximately 100 yards from our chalet. It was so wonderful listening to the sounds of lion roars at night. Knowing that they were a few hundred meters away and doing what lions do best: asserting themselves as the kings of the bush. Nothing short of breathtaking!

The game drives were otherworldly. We had one night drive where we perched ourselves behind some large branches and watched dozens of bull elephants make their way down to a watering hole while a lone hippo watched. We had another game drive where we saw the elusive leopard. Our last game drive involved an older male lion (12-13 years old) who was presumed dead for over a year until Julian discovered that this lion took over a pride of 9 lionesses. Absolutely stunning when we came across this group of animals. Even more amazing to learn about the backstory of this lion and to see the look of amazement and wonder on an experienced bush guide!

The rest of the staff were equally amazing. We felt very welcomed there. The food was delicious. The service first rate. Our room and the camp grounds were absolutely stunning. Thank you for a memorable experience!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Huy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Camp Hwange was the most beautiful camp we stayed at. The facilities are beatiful, clean and very romantic. Their attention to detail is very impressive. We ate VERY well. The kitchen was always pleasantly surprising us with amazing and creative dishes. Bravo to the entir staff!

Our guide, Julian, was fabulous. He's a wealth of knowledge and gave us a phenomenal experience. We saw multiple kills, approached elephants on foot and had many good laughs. Thank you!

Highly recommend Camp Hwange.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

Gorgeous camp, great views from room & dining area. Good food and plenty of it. Guides are excellent and go out of their way to find out what animals are in the area and even call you before your scheduled game drive to go see something that's close by. We followed a male cheetah calling for a mate. An impressive sighting.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews