We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
211
13
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on foot walking safari great lengths to ensure watering hole game drives complete confidence every single meal wished we had stayed longer safari experience exceptional staff open shower elusive leopard six stars huge amount spent nights tracking animals bore hole
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 226 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017

Gorgeous camp, great views from room & dining area. Good food and plenty of it. Guides are excellent and go out of their way to find out what animals are in the area and even call you before your scheduled game drive to go see something that's close by. We followed a male cheetah calling for a mate. An impressive sighting.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

Our Camp Hwange holiday started with a drive from Victoria Falls and even before we'd reached the camp we were treated to a smorgasbord of game sightings.

While the camp is remote, being located right in the centre of the Hwange National Park, it is that remoteness along with natural bush that stretches as far as the eye can see and a complete lack of other tourist traffic that helped to make our adventure so special.

The camp itself is designed to extend that authentic African Safari experience with a large, thatched communal living space and fire pit perfect for gathering around along with well appointed thatch and canvas huts. The huts are far enough apart but close enough to the watering hole that we could feel alone while enjoying the hippo frolicking and playing just meters in front of us.

The camp hostesses and their staff were extremely professional, constantly attending to our needs, providing quality meals, snacks and drinks at regular intervals.

The guides were friendly and went to great lengths to ensure that we got to see all the types of game that we wanted to see.

Our iconic Camp Hwange adventure will be remembered fondly along with the great friends we met on the trip.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ANDREW N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

An amazing place to spend a few days.....the camp staff were brilliant. Thank you Tracey and Francie (and everyone else too). We were served wonderful food at every meal time - and in between too! The attention to detail was fantastic, right down to table cloths for mid-morning tea breaks. The guides Dave, Julian, Adam and Mackenzie were very knowledgable and informative with great sense of humour too. Nothing was too much trouble - even helping me with my phone camera to make the most of photo opportunities. The wildlife was spectacular and we had the opportunity to do bush walks. The camp accommodation was very comfortable, immaculately kept and the hot water bottles were much appreciated! We are already planning a return trip. Thank you so much for a great stay

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank sj1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017

Facilities are 5-star, meals are exquisite, guides are professional, game viewing is unequaled. Dave, Julian and Adam make one's visit not-to-be-forgotten. We've visited three times with groups of up to 20 pax, and are returning next year in July with 20 more excited pax. Don't miss Camp Hwange!

Room tip: No need to choose; rooms face the water hole where elephants, buffalo, and hippos come to drink and play.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LGR-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

From the 1st evening we arrived to the final morning, the guides (Julian and McKenzie) provided my family (3 adults and 11 year old boy) with an exceptional experience. The attention to detail and really listening to which animals we wanted to see most was evident each time we went out on safari. Julian can only be described as a pro's pro. We had total confidence in him as we walked behind him on foot, even when tracking a lion. The food was surprisingly excellent; never really expected a great culinary experience in the middle of the savannah, but we totally enjoyed every meal. The chalets (tents really, but so well appointed) were right by a watering hole, no fences or other barrier from the animals; I wouldn't have it any other way. Franzi (spelling?) was a superb hostess as was all her staff. If you usually stay in a nice hotel, consider Camp Hwange instead - we were so glad we did! Jean A, Florida, USA

Room tip: All the chalets have the same accommodations, so it really doesn't matter which one you're in.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews