We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
212
13
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on foot walking safari great lengths to ensure watering hole game drives complete confidence every single meal wished we had stayed longer safari experience exceptional staff open shower elusive leopard six stars huge amount spent nights tracking animals bore hole
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 227 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2017

recently went to Zimbabwe chasing an amazing experience l had at a game reserve in Sth Africa some four years ago. well thank god this place didn't let me down. Hear are the positives. Only eight huts, guaranteeing a personalised experience you can't beat that l promise you. Excellent staff, especially the girls who greet you everytime you come back from a drive and offer you a drink, you can go on walking safaris and the setting is beautiful. Finally the huts are great, heaps of room and open air for that African feel. A few negatives, water pressure in showers not good ( they need to attach pumps or raise the header tanks), walking safaris are part of morning drive would be better to design more walks and some from the camp.finally when walking take your own toilet paper, couldn't believe when l had to go the guide didn't have any on him( so embarrassing). Having said that this place earns a 5 star rating from me. I am a hard critic and to get this rating says alot. Finally the food. While simple it is excellent, and the grog is included and generous. The night fire ( which l love) says going until YOU go to bed, most places wont do this, another little but special reason l like it here. Well done

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vern794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp-Hwange, Manager at Camp Hwange, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Vern
Thank you for your review. It was great to have you two, and we really enjoyed our fireside chats! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you as well for your suggestions. We always appreciate any feedback. We are pleased that we were able to give you the amazing experience you were chasing!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

Thank you to everyone at Camp Hwange for another stay. All things positive at this camp! We really enjoyed being here in the green season with with a greater diversity of life. The bird life is amazing. Keep up all the good work and see you again soon. Best guides, relaxed atmosphere and genuinely wild.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank cbrightman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Camp Hwange. David Carson and his team were outstanding. The rooms had a great view of the waterhole. The elephants, zebras, cape buffalos, hippos, etc. were plentiful and made for a wonderful experience day and night. The safari's were so informative. David and his guides shared their knowledge about all the different animals and birds. The food was fantastic! The sundowners were a special treat. They thought of everything. Thank you David Carson and your wonderful team for an unforgettable experience!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank akkesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016

Perched on 800' ridge, the tents all have a magnificent view. The food excellent and the staff were wonderful, very curious, and knowledgeable. The return to the tents at night included armed guards for protection from animals. Reminding us we we not in Wisconsin.
One morning after some rain, our guide spotted fresh lion tracks. He said, "We are all in or we don't go. What do you think?" We said, "Yes." The ground we covered was open and we had two armed guides at each end of the line. Exciting doesn't describe the experience. We found the lion 70 yards ahead climbing a ridge.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank EdA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016

Normally rough and ready campers, we have just experienced an amazing few days in luxury at Camp Hwange with our family. Considering it was the end of November, the game was still fantastic with a very up and close encounter with a beautiful cheetah to round off the holiday. Thanks to Julian, Adam & Liberty our fantastic guides, Bridgette, Ash, & Francie for taking such good care of us and to all the little "elves" that we never saw but made sure everything was perfect - thank you. A special big shout to the chef who didn't disappoint at meal times - a fantastic job! Definately a must visit destination.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews