We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
211
13
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on foot walking safari great lengths to ensure watering hole game drives complete confidence every single meal wished we had stayed longer safari experience exceptional staff open shower elusive leopard six stars huge amount spent nights tracking animals bore hole
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 226 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Camp Hwange. David Carson and his team were outstanding. The rooms had a great view of the waterhole. The elephants, zebras, cape buffalos, hippos, etc. were plentiful and made for a wonderful experience day and night. The safari's were so informative. David and his guides shared their knowledge about all the different animals and birds. The food was fantastic! The sundowners were a special treat. They thought of everything. Thank you David Carson and your wonderful team for an unforgettable experience!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank akkesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016

Perched on 800' ridge, the tents all have a magnificent view. The food excellent and the staff were wonderful, very curious, and knowledgeable. The return to the tents at night included armed guards for protection from animals. Reminding us we we not in Wisconsin.
One morning after some rain, our guide spotted fresh lion tracks. He said, "We are all in or we don't go. What do you think?" We said, "Yes." The ground we covered was open and we had two armed guides at each end of the line. Exciting doesn't describe the experience. We found the lion 70 yards ahead climbing a ridge.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank EdA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016

Normally rough and ready campers, we have just experienced an amazing few days in luxury at Camp Hwange with our family. Considering it was the end of November, the game was still fantastic with a very up and close encounter with a beautiful cheetah to round off the holiday. Thanks to Julian, Adam & Liberty our fantastic guides, Bridgette, Ash, & Francie for taking such good care of us and to all the little "elves" that we never saw but made sure everything was perfect - thank you. A special big shout to the chef who didn't disappoint at meal times - a fantastic job! Definately a must visit destination.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016

The guides are absolutely outstanding founts of knowledge when it comes to wildlife from elephants and giraffes all the way to small insects and interesting plant life. We even got to see the first Egyptian vulture spotted in southern Africa since 1923! In camp, the chalets were beautifully appointed, very comfortable. The food was delicious and they were able to very capably deal with my wife's food allergies. Everyone in the camp seemed trained to make terrific mixed drinks. The attention to guests' every need by all of the staff would meet the standard of any great hotel! These are truly outstanding people who show a great love for nature and for Hwange and its wildlife. We were privileged to have them share it with us for a few days.

Room tip: All 8 chalets are equally appealing with direct views of the watering hole and its cavalcade of wild animals. Very comfortable.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 802ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016

I was lucky enough to spend some time in the amazing Camp Hwange as part of a longer trip with my husband and my dad. We organised it through Safari Drive. It was unbearably hot (40 in the shade) and we had been wild camping for 3 nights on arrival at camp. What a little oasis we found!
Bridget and all the team hosting at camp were charming and so helpful. Nothing was a problem. Bridget likes her tunes and had great chat and giggles.
The tents were properly luxurious and had everything you could have needed.
The guides were top notch, probably the best I've travelled with and I have done a fair few safaris. Adam blew us away with his knowledge of all creatures great and small and I am sure he'll have passed his final guiding exam with flying colours (when they eventually bother to tell him the result is anyone's guess but that's Zimbabwe). Julian was another font of information, not many people could confidently and interestingly talk about termites for a length of time in the heat without losing the audience. His bushwalks were something else. Coming across lions on foot was pretty unforgettable. Thanks too to Spike and Francie who were also lovely and helpful.
We were lucky enough to see lots of lions and hundreds of elephants as well as jackal pups. I would have liked to see some spotty cats too but I am being fussy and it's not a bloody zoo.
The safari vehicles were comfortable and fit for purpose.
Food and drinks hit the spot.
We were originally booked in for 2 nights but had a such a good time that we stayed for 2 more, that alone should speak for the quality.
Hope to see you all another time.
Ruth

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews