We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the highlight of the holiday”
Review of Camp Hwange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camp Hwange
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easily the highlight of the holiday”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My stay at Camp Hwange was the icing on the cake for what was already an incredible return to Africa. From the moment I was collected by Washington (guide) at the Park gate to meeting the rest of the staff at the camp I was made to feel welcome, relaxed and part of a family. The staff were constantly charming, attentive and enthusiastic.
Accommodation at the camp is airy, comfortable, full of rustic charm and affords great views over the nearby waterhole. We were constantly treated to elephants drinking and bathing in the water and one night I had the unforgettable experience of standing in my bedroom watching a bull elephant eating not four metres away.
The food was superb with pre and post game-viewing snacks and ice-cold drinks (very welcome) provided along with sun-downers and a sumptuous three course meal each evening. Delicious!
What really sets Camp Hwange apart from the multitude of camps I have visited previously is the staff's flexible approach to each day's activities. Guests preferences were taken into consideration each evening and the following day's itinerary adjusted accordingly. I was lucky enough to be there with an English couple who were as keen as I was to maximise time game-viewing. Consequently early starts and late finishes were the order of the day. Julian (guide) took us on some incredible walks and got us unbelievably close to more elephants. His knowledge and confidence relating to all things 'bush' inspired the group to get out of the vehicle and closer to nature more often. Back at camp Ashley and Ruth were always awaiting our return and eager to here of our sightings and adventures.
There are myriad luxury camps in Africa selling the safari experience but most offer fairly rigid/inflexible itineraries. If you're looking for a more personal, tailored and exclusive experience then look no further than Camp Hwange. You will not be disappointed.
Thank you to everyone at Camp Hwange for making my holiday brilliant. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D and S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
71
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

There are other camps that have the same facilities and are as beautiful as Camp Hwange, but Camp Hwange has something more. You feel like a part of the family and everyone makes an effort to get you to feel special. It is also nice that you don’t have the same strict routines of when for example lunch and dinner is served, if you find something interesting the game drive, there is always time to explore it.
Thanks for a wonderful week. It was lovely to come back to you and everything was at least as good as last year. It was interesting to see a very different Hwange this year. Even if it was at the same time as last year, the environment was much greener and the animals looked in much better shape than last year when it was very dry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasAnderssonSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our four nights at Camp Hwange were the highlight of four weeks in Africa. The Camp strikes a great balance between style and comfort. The tents are large with beautiful African touches and natural materials, with a great view of the pan both from inside and outside. Ashley and Ruth were great hosts in camp, the food was excellent, and always served by the most wonderful smiling staff.

On game drives, Julian, Dharmish and Stephen were fantastic. Their love of the animals and the bush shone through in everything we did. Stephen was particularly good at bird-spotting and at sharing tradional knowledge, both of which were special interests for us. We also spent two great days with Dharmish on long game drives seeing numerous animal species. We were privileged to be there for the darting and re-collaring of Goose, the area's oldest lion, which was an amazing experience. We came away feeling that this area of Hwange National Park was in the hands of a very enthusiastic, caring group of young people, even down to the pet bush mouse keeping cool in Julian's pocket!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Julian mentioned that they don't often get travellers from the Zambian side, but I'm glad we made the trip. Camp Hwange is, to put it simply, spectacular. Ashley is a fantastic host, the staff are extremely hospitable and the food exceptional (make sure you try the green hot sauce).

The lodge is located around a watering hole teeming with activity. Each chalet is fairly secluded and looks directly over the water, so the sights of elephants, impalas, kudu (and if you're lucky, lions) should keep you entertained - be it in the shower, brushing your teeth, kicking back on the bed or sitting out on the porch.

As far as the guiding is concerned, we spent three days with Julian and Washington and it was exhilirating. Be it searching for cheetahs in the early morning, tracking elephant bulls on a walking safari, gazing at a pride of over 20 lions lounge about in the afternoon, or watching 70 odd elephants have a mudbath under the moonlight. And if you're lucky, you'll get to meet some of the local characters like Goose.

If you're reading this, then go to Camp Hwange. It's not only an exceptional camp, it's an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Myself and my dad visited Camp Hwange and Zimbabwe as part of a longer trip to South Africa and we were so glad we made the journey up from Cape Town!! Described as a comfortable but basic camp by our travel agent, we were not expecting the luxury, friendliness and plentiful wildlife that we encountered during our two day stay at Camp Hwange. Julian and Ashley are such excellent hosts and their team there are just fantastic.

We were met at the entrance to the Park by Washington who is excellent at finding the wildlife and in our drive in alone we were fortunate enough to see Giraffes, Elephants, Zebras, all types of birds etc etc. Our game drives were led by Julian who really brought Hwange to life - he was so personable, professional and a real pleasure to have hunting out the many different animals we saw on our day with him - we even got to see the rare Wild (Painted) Dogs and an Aardwolf!!

The Camp itself was excellent - all staff are very courteous and nothing is any trouble for them. We particularly enjoyed meals around the dinner table at night (food is exceptionally good - they have a great chef) sharing stories with other guests and, of course, sundowners whilst out and about with the animals.

Really thanks a mil guys for such a fantastic experience and I'd love to have the opportunity to return for longer next time!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Let's start with the game viewing :
Elephants : lots, one one occasion we followed a herd on foot (yep my heart was beating hard, but what an experience). Then seeing 70 of them having a bath under the full moon.. there are no words to describe that sight!!
Lions : not asleep all the time, we saw to failed hunts, lots of cubs, and were given a lot of info about the different prides in the area. Some lions are collared and have names (big hugs to Gus!!), and we saw 3 generations of the same family!
There were lots of other animals as well, we had a 2 sec fleeting sight of 2 cheetahs, servals, jackals, owls, zebras, giraffes (I could go on...)

That would not have been possible without Julian and Washington our guides. Thanks for sharing all this with us!! The guiding truly was amazing. I would also warmly recommend the walking safari. The perspective is always different when you are on foot, regardless of what you see.

The camp is nice and comfortable and you will likely have the most amazing views whilst brushing your teeth or having a shower, because the bathroom faces a waterhole. The hospitality was excellent, the food was excellent, Ashley and Ruth, thanks for all this!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheLuckyDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The camp is in an excellent location with lots of game and hardly any other accommodation around. It is easy to get to from Victoria Falls, only about 3 hours drive away. Our room was very clean, beautifully decorated and the very hot shower is definitely a bonus if you are visiting in the winter. At night and early morning temperatures drop almost to zero! We thoroughly enjoyed our walks with Julian who is very dedicated and passionate about guiding. Keep up your excellent work, Julian! Stephen - who has the biggest smile in Afrika - took us on an evening/night drive and found us a serval and a wildcat. Both a first for us. He also had some very adventurous stories to tell which were great to listen to. Ashley and Ruth together with their staff did a fantastic job back in camp. The food was the best we had on our trip through Zimbabwe. A highly recommended camp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penguinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
54.7 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 22 in Hwange National Park
425 reviews
44.3 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 22 in Hwange National Park
151 reviews
40.7 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 22 in Hwange National Park
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.9 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 22 in Hwange National Park
41 reviews
50.2 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 22 in Hwange National Park
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 22 in Hwange National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Hwange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Hwange

Property: Camp Hwange
Address: Hwange National Park, Hwange National Park 1111, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Hwange is one of the newest camps to be built in the Sinamatella region of the Hwange National Park in Zimbabwe. The construction of Camp Hwange, using local materials, skills and labour wherever possible, is the culmination of a dream. Our vision is a camp that rekindles the spirit of adventure of a bygone era, and capturing the excitement of an authentic safari in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotel.de, Fastbooking and HRS so you can book your Camp Hwange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing