We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hwange Safari Lodge(Hwange National Park)
$143
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuskers Camp Site(Hwange National Park)
Verney's Camp(Hwange National Park)
The Hide(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant's Eye, Hwange(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivory Lodge(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sable Sands(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gwango Elephant Lodge(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ganda Lodge(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
249
14
0
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
14
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig boyhalfway houselocal communitygame drivessense of humourtent wallslooked beautifulrail carmod conshot water for showerslocal childrensuper safarieach morninghoneymoon suitewatering holeskilled guidetrue experience
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 266 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a lovely experience. Wonderful camp with great tented accommodation We expected a small tent on stilts and were pleasantly surprised. The tent was huge with queen/king sized bed and bathroom en suite! The staff were very friendly and helpful .
There is a Waterhole right beside the camp where many elephants and other game came to during the evenings and night.
Never seen so many elephants together before as we saw at one pan!! Must have seen 600 plus in a few hours..
Will go back there for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Manager at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for your fabulous comments about Bomani. We're thrilled that you had a good visit and saw so many elephants! You should come again in the wet season and see how much Bomani changes with a bit of rain. Follow us on facebook and twitter for all our latest news.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What an intimate wildlife experience. This place is special. The tents are huge, bigger than my room at home!
After a long stay In the falls we were a bit worried our stay in the bush in a tent might be roughing it. Wow were we wrong. The tents were amazing, with tiled floors and a proper bathroom. When compared to the rest, Bomani puts you right up close and in the bush with nature. The elephants came up and drank at the waterhole while we sat by the campfire only 40meters away. Food was superb and the staff were brilliant. Our rooms were kept clean, laundry done quickly and we even got coffee on our verander before our morning game drives.
Our guide Mark was full of knowledge and he eagerly answered our questions, no matter how silly they were. An amazing experience in an amazing place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Hi Grant, thanks for taking the time with this review and we of course are very happy your trip was such a success - glad you enjoyed . And believe me your questions weren't that silly! Big congratulations to you and Claire from all of us at Bomani and Imvelo Safari lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've worked in Zimbabwe for the past two years and I'm always looking for a place that combines a great adventure with a good partnership with surrounding communities. Bomani Tented Camp exceeded my expectations in every way!

Mark was an exceptional guide - a true walking, talking encyclopedia about Hwange's environment! The staff were wonderful and pleasant - Big Boy's kindness was as big as his smile! The views around the park are stunning and we loved watchign elephants come up to the watering hole in camp for a drink at night.

Bomani Tented Camp had all the touches that you expect from a luxury safari lodge (ie: a sugar encrusted welcome drink, candelit dinnters, campfire, impeccably clean, catering to each guests' individual needs and wants). Bomani was without a doubt the best at catering to a variety of dietary requirements (no pork, vegetarian, and halaal) all in one group - a first for us in Zimbabwe!

The safari tents were luxurious, large (beds and a lounging area), clean, and very comfortable. We had tea delivered at sunrise every day. We loved hearing lions and elephants at night as well!

In addition to the wonderful game views, we also got to see Mark's passion towards working with local communities to see that they also benefit from wildlife operations (employees from the local community, proceeds going to build schools, etc). My parents' truly loved the visit to the village!

My parents were visiting Africa for the first time, and they couldn't stop talking about how wonderful Bomani was. I truly recomend it to anyone looking for an adventure and a wonderful time that is a little off the beaten path (1.5 - 2 hours off the tar road, but they drive you there from Halfway house).

Room Tip: We stayed at tent #3 by the watering hole. Great way to see the wildlife. If you're skittish about beign so close ot the wildlife they also have elevated tents closer to the dining area away from the watering hole.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hi Omar, thanks so much for this great review. We're thrilled you and your folks enjoyed their visit. Also of course very glad our chefs got their vegetarian dishes down pat. A big thankyou from the Bomani team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges - good luck with your next adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had the most beautiful family stay at Bomani. The game was exceptional we saw elephant, lion and cheetah all within 4 days! The staff are very helpful always with a smile on their faces. The tented rooms were spacious and recently redone. We have travelled around Africa a lot but we have to say the Bomani setting is one of the best we have encountered - beautiful flat savannah plains with tall ilala palms dotting the landscape. We are planning on going back next year with our family again. For our children it just gave them such a good one to one experience with the African Wildlife and our guide Mark Butcher has exceptional knowledge of the bush and animals.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hey Sascha, thankyou so much for your compliments - it was good to have you and your family with us again and we certainly look forward to seeing you again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

So many aspects of our stay at Bomani, which was entirely too short, stand out. The most spectacular aspect was the personalized service. Our transfer from the Halfway House to the lodge was so enjoyable because of Butch's extensive knowledge of Zimbabwean history, ecology, animal behavior, and his sense of humor and personality. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Big Boy's welcome drinks and the housekeeping staff's friendly smiles. Meals were delicious and plentiful. Our tent was incredibly luxurious -- it was a suite -- and was expertly maintained. The all-inclusive bar was enjoyed by all, and our time spent around the fire in the evening getting to know Butch and his staff was very memorable. Our evening game drive with Butch as our personal guide was something we will never forget...watching elephants shake ilala palms as the sun went down, all the while enjoying wine and hors d'oeuvres. Another special experience was the village visit when we were able to meet the headmaster of the primary school and meet some students. We also met several women from the village, and they were very hospitable toward us. There are not enough superlatives to describe our Bomani experience. It is an incredible place of luxury and exceptional service in the middle of Hwange wilderness. Truly a wild place, a special place, and a place we hope to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hey Guys, Enjoyed having you with us, just a pity it was short but we all hope the rest of your trip was a success - thanks for the great review and hope to see you over here again one day !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews