We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to none!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bomani Tented Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What an intimate wildlife experience. This place is special. The tents are huge, bigger than my room at home!
After a long stay In the falls we were a bit worried our stay in the bush in a tent might be roughing it. Wow were we wrong. The tents were amazing, with tiled floors and a proper bathroom. When compared to the rest, Bomani puts you right up close and in the bush with nature. The elephants came up and drank at the waterhole while we sat by the campfire only 40meters away. Food was superb and the staff were brilliant. Our rooms were kept clean, laundry done quickly and we even got coffee on our verander before our morning game drives.
Our guide Mark was full of knowledge and he eagerly answered our questions, no matter how silly they were. An amazing experience in an amazing place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Hi Grant, thanks for taking the time with this review and we of course are very happy your trip was such a success - glad you enjoyed . And believe me your questions weren't that silly! Big congratulations to you and Claire from all of us at Bomani and Imvelo Safari lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 229 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've worked in Zimbabwe for the past two years and I'm always looking for a place that combines a great adventure with a good partnership with surrounding communities. Bomani Tented Camp exceeded my expectations in every way!

Mark was an exceptional guide - a true walking, talking encyclopedia about Hwange's environment! The staff were wonderful and pleasant - Big Boy's kindness was as big as his smile! The views around the park are stunning and we loved watchign elephants come up to the watering hole in camp for a drink at night.

Bomani Tented Camp had all the touches that you expect from a luxury safari lodge (ie: a sugar encrusted welcome drink, candelit dinnters, campfire, impeccably clean, catering to each guests' individual needs and wants). Bomani was without a doubt the best at catering to a variety of dietary requirements (no pork, vegetarian, and halaal) all in one group - a first for us in Zimbabwe!

The safari tents were luxurious, large (beds and a lounging area), clean, and very comfortable. We had tea delivered at sunrise every day. We loved hearing lions and elephants at night as well!

In addition to the wonderful game views, we also got to see Mark's passion towards working with local communities to see that they also benefit from wildlife operations (employees from the local community, proceeds going to build schools, etc). My parents' truly loved the visit to the village!

My parents were visiting Africa for the first time, and they couldn't stop talking about how wonderful Bomani was. I truly recomend it to anyone looking for an adventure and a wonderful time that is a little off the beaten path (1.5 - 2 hours off the tar road, but they drive you there from Halfway house).

Room Tip: We stayed at tent #3 by the watering hole. Great way to see the wildlife. If you're skittish a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hi Omar, thanks so much for this great review. We're thrilled you and your folks enjoyed their visit. Also of course very glad our chefs got their vegetarian dishes down pat. A big thankyou from the Bomani team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges - good luck with your next adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had the most beautiful family stay at Bomani. The game was exceptional we saw elephant, lion and cheetah all within 4 days! The staff are very helpful always with a smile on their faces. The tented rooms were spacious and recently redone. We have travelled around Africa a lot but we have to say the Bomani setting is one of the best we have encountered - beautiful flat savannah plains with tall ilala palms dotting the landscape. We are planning on going back next year with our family again. For our children it just gave them such a good one to one experience with the African Wildlife and our guide Mark Butcher has exceptional knowledge of the bush and animals.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hey Sascha, thankyou so much for your compliments - it was good to have you and your family with us again and we certainly look forward to seeing you again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

So many aspects of our stay at Bomani, which was entirely too short, stand out. The most spectacular aspect was the personalized service. Our transfer from the Halfway House to the lodge was so enjoyable because of Butch's extensive knowledge of Zimbabwean history, ecology, animal behavior, and his sense of humor and personality. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Big Boy's welcome drinks and the housekeeping staff's friendly smiles. Meals were delicious and plentiful. Our tent was incredibly luxurious -- it was a suite -- and was expertly maintained. The all-inclusive bar was enjoyed by all, and our time spent around the fire in the evening getting to know Butch and his staff was very memorable. Our evening game drive with Butch as our personal guide was something we will never forget...watching elephants shake ilala palms as the sun went down, all the while enjoying wine and hors d'oeuvres. Another special experience was the village visit when we were able to meet the headmaster of the primary school and meet some students. We also met several women from the village, and they were very hospitable toward us. There are not enough superlatives to describe our Bomani experience. It is an incredible place of luxury and exceptional service in the middle of Hwange wilderness. Truly a wild place, a special place, and a place we hope to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hey Guys, Enjoyed having you with us, just a pity it was short but we all hope the rest of your trip was a success - thanks for the great review and hope to see you over here again one day !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Upon arriving at Bomani Luxury Tented Lodges, we were met at the entrance by the friendly, smiling and generously accomodating staff... led by the infamous Big Boy! Big Boy handed us refreshing cocktails as we stepped out of our Jeep. The other members of the staff introduced themselves and immediately began taking all of our bags and luggage and delivering them to our designated luxury tents. When I heard the term "luxury tents", I laughed to myself a bit... well... I stand corrected! These tents are beautiful!!! They have every modern ammenity you can think of... in a tent! We had a large group (14), and somehow my family of 4 ended up in an upgraded tent. It was huge... I'm guessing 30' X 20' at least. Our family of four was not crowded... ever. My husband and I shared the King Sized bed with wonderful linens and pillows. My girls shared a comfy full bed, which I think was just brought in the room because we had kids. There is a nice leather couch, a leather love seat, coffee table, desk, TV, etc., etc. AMAZING!! The bathroom was roomy and very nice. Never imagined a tent could be this nice!!! To make it even more amazing, our tent sat about 20 feet from the edge of the big watering hole where all kinds of animals come to drink. At night, you hear the African animals like you cannot imagine. You feel like you are in the middle of their world... and you really are! I cannot imagine an experince like this anywhere else.

The main lodge area is a huge, beautiful, open chalet, complete with a dining area, lounging areas, a lovely bar, two fire places, and amazing African views. Just off of the lodge was the big watering hole, where you can watch a multitude of different animals from the outdoor fire pit. Most amazingly, elephants and hippos are walking around. At night, you see more stars than you even knew existed... absolutely beautiful!

The food was excellent, with a huge assortment at every meal. The service was incomparable... Lovemore, was a dream, he wants to accomodate your every wish. I wish I could have brought him home with me!

Bomani Luxury Tented Camp is connected to the fantastic Hwange National Park. We just drove right in and were escorted around the park for a photo safari. We were able to get up close and personal with elephants, lions, giraffe, zebras, wildebeests, monkeys, baboons, gorgeous birds, and much more! I got some "National Geographic" quality photos, while sitting in a Jeep!! And the sunsets here... breathtaking!

Overall, this was a highlight of my life... nothing like I have ever experienced before, and I cannot imagine visiting anywhere else on earth like it. If you want to experience something totally unique, and all the while in beautiful and comfortable accomodations... visit Bomani Luxury Tented Lodge!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Manager at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments about Bomani. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and encourage to visit us again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Bomani Camp offers the best of all worlds in one place. The hospitality of the staff is amazing, the dining is superb, and the accommodations are fantastic, but you never lose sight of the fact that you are in remote Zimbabwe. Viewing the large herds of elephant and cape buffalo from your tent's front porch as they drink from the water pan and waking to the sound of a lion roaring close by remind you of the reason you travel to Africa. From sunrise tea delivered to your tent to sundowners in the park, you will not be disappointed in any aspect of your stay at Bomani.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Amy, we are truly thrilled that your first trip to zimbabwe and first visit to Bomani was such a success, thankyou so much for this review and we hope to see you again in Januaray cheers from me and all our team at Bomani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just got back from a vacation that was out of a storybook. Bomani Lodge is everything I ever dreamed Africa could be. Tented cabins that made you feel like you were truly in the wilderness but with incredible luxury inside (hot showers, tiled bathrooms, beautiful furniture, laundry service). The animals are truly on your doorstep as the water pan is about 50 yds off the front of your tent - Elephants, Cape Buffalo, Waterbuck, Baboons, Impala.... We went with three generations and everyone loved it. The food and service were unbelievable. They went out of their way to make sure that even the youngest in the group had food they loved in addition to trying local specialties. Location is fabulous as it is only about 5 minutes away from a little used entrance to Hwange National Park. It was like we had the park to ourselves - Sunsdowners under a tree watching elephants and hippos anyone? We were also about 20 minutes from the closest village and our hosts arranged for us to take a tour, visit a regular home and our boys visited the local school. Thanks to everyone at Bomani who went out of their way to anticipate our every need.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLRTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Bomani Tented Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thanks so much for this review, we are all thrilled that you and your whole family enjoyed themselves so much, it was great to see you over here again and we look forward to seeing you in the new year - cheers from all of us at Bomani!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
24.3 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 25 in Hwange National Park
461 reviews
49.6 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 25 in Hwange National Park
420 reviews
41.3 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 25 in Hwange National Park
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.6 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 25 in Hwange National Park
48 reviews
45.8 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#16 of 25 in Hwange National Park
42 reviews
42.9 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 25 in Hwange National Park
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bomani Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bomani Tented Lodge

Address: Ngamo Village, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Bomani Tented Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bomani Tented Lodge situated in the remote south east corner of Hwange National Park at Ngamo comprises:6 Hornbill luxury tents built on raised teak decks with en suite bathrooms with hot and cold running water showers and flush toilets. 4 Spurwing Luxury Tent Suites at ground level larger and again with en suite bathrooms with hot and cold running water and flush toilets1 Royal Suite which is a thatched brick cottage with all amenities incl overhead fans and bar fridges.The main lodge comprising bar lounge and dining room overlooks waterhole frequented by all the big game prevalent in the area.Game activities in the area include drives, walks and night drives conducted by fully licensed professional guides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing