We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! This place is a real gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapula Private Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing! This place is a real gem!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Amazing! This place is a real gem!

We loved every minute and would definitely go back. The rooms are gorgeous, lovely tents on stilts with four poster beds and even the option of an outdoor shower while you watch the zebras and elephants!

The lodge is situated in what would easily pass for the Garden of Eden - the immediate area is crawling with wildlife. We heard lions on a couple of evenings however we were not lucky enough to see them.

The birdlife is also simply incredible with the birdwatcher sure to tick off a number of species in quick succession.

The main tent area is also lovely and well kitted out with everything you need and if all else fails you can sip a drink and watch the game.

The communal nature of the kitchen could make things a little awkward if you are sharing the camp with other guests.

The staff are amazing and so helpful. We had a braai (BBQ) on two evenings which was really special.

This is a very special camp right in the bush, relaxing and so comfortable, would highly recommend a trip. Perhaps not child friendly for small children as you cant let them wander about.

Amazing!

Room Tip: Tent 4 was great, you could walk to it from the main tent and very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Wow what a place, with beautiful views. Many animals . Great staff! Hot water showers, hot water ready when hou wake up for tea or coffee and so on. although self catering, it is a very nice kitchen with anything you need! Very nice rooms, out door and inside shower. At night very nice solar lights what gives a very romantic feeling. Near Masuma Dam - a place where you can watch animals for hours.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing stay at this camp in October, it is fully equipped with everything you need and super comfortable. The tents have a great view of the vlei and we saw game from the camp day and night. Masuma dam a few minutes away kept us busy for most of the trip, we saw numerous breeding herds of elephants daily, lions, buffaloes, wild dogs and plenty of general game over the three days we were there. On the first evening we saw the 22 strong Kapula pride on the concession road, one of the best lion sightings of my life. While watching them a baby elephant emerged out of the Mopani's and the big male lion took it down in front of us, but a few seconds later the mother elephant came crashing through the tress and knocked the male straight off the baby! The mom and baby got away safely. We had incredible game viewing in the area and the camp is perfect. We will be back soon!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvesstrybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

SOUTH CAMP: We spent one night at South Camp and expected very basic camping amenities. What a fantastic surprise to find that the tents are very spacious with en-suite bathroom. Everything you need in the kitchen & excellent staff. Looking forward to the deck being erected.
NORTH CAMP: Absolute luxury. From the deck we saw elephants, wild dog, giraffe, kudu, impala, baboons aplenty, identified 77 birds. Kitchen and braai area perfect. We heard roaring of lion very nearby most nights, together with hippo grunts, hyena & jackal calls & ellies munching away at the trees.

Room Tip: NORTH CAMP: Tent 1 or 2 in North Camp are quieter and secluded, but if you're worried about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A welcome reprieve from the rigors of self-camping. The comfortable beds and warm showers were much appreciated by members of the group after several days of camping in Ngweshla. The outdoor shower with views of the elephants and kudu was a major plus. Waking up early to watch the sunrise from our deck was also excellent; of the two tents we looked at, tent N1 has the better view than tent N2. Was also more isolated, can't hear the main tent. We were 5 in our group and 1 stayed in the guide tent, which was more than adequate. The kitchen is very well stocked with anything you could need. Heard lions each night and saw 6 lion cubs on the road right outside camp. One note: the sign marked "No entry" on the way to the water pump is for non-Kapula campers only (we didnt know this until the last day); nice game drive down that way, saw a pride of lions on the way out. Overall no complaints, only good things to say. William was excellent; our group was bummed to leave.

Room Tip: Tent N1 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This camp is well situated next to Masuma dam. The tents are spacious and extremely practical. Everything works well. The kitchen is very well geared as well as the braai area. The service is perfect. The only drawback is there is not much of a view. A definite must if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zouero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Kapula for 2 nights late April. It was absolutely amazing, the setting, the staff, the accommodation, the kitchen, all brilliant. And to top it off we saw a very large male lion up close only a few kilometers from the camp.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MelChrisJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hwange National Park
0.0 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 22 in Hwange National Park
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 22 in Hwange National Park
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#1 of 22 in Hwange National Park
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 22 in Hwange National Park
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 22 in Hwange National Park
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapula Private Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapula Private Camp

Property: Kapula Private Camp
Address: Hwange national park, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kapula is a game viewing paradise during the dry season where guests can see vast herds of elephant and buffalo in addition to plain game, and hear the lions roar at night. The Kapula concession consists of two camps: North Camp with four 2-bed luxury safari tents on raised wooden decks with en-suite bathrooms and additional outside showers, self-catering; and South Camp with four 2-bed safari tents, on concrete slabs on the ground with en-suite bathrooms, self-catering. We prefer to keep the camps small and intimate. There is no 24 hour standby electricity at Kapula and all rooms’ electrical requirements are solar-generated. Guests are therefore not able to use hairdryers, kettles etc. in the rooms. The communal main building does have facilities for charging camera batteries, cell phone batteries etc. Both camps have a kitchen equipped with all the necessities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing