We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't be disappointed in your stay at Davison's”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed in your stay at Davison's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Everything about Davison's Camp was perfect, from the first welcome, accommodations, meals, game rides and to our farewell The staff is so friendly and want to make sure that you have everything that you need. The food was incredible and the game drives did not disappoint, especially the mom and cub lion reunion we saw - amazing is all I can say. At the camp during my stay, there were six men from South Africa that were touring for three months as part of their Tracks of Giants and they had incredible stories to share about their adventures. B and all of the staff, including Brian our guide, were wonderful and I highly recommend a visit - no safety concerns while in Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    6
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
39
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Césaire, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

You HAVE to go there!! We were a group of 10 and we stayed at Davidson's Camp during our trip last september (2012), and it was the best place, SERVICE, clean, FOOD, staff, everything! I usually don't write on Trip Advisor, but this needs to be tell! That place is just amazing, you can tell by the pictures, but make it 100 times better in reality! The staff is kind, professionnal, the cook is amazing, we got to eat "survivor style", outside with candles lights, we also had a open bar in the middle of the park, right beside a lake with elephants all around. Then you go to sleep in your deluxe tent! Very clean and cosy with toilet and shower. Wow is the word you'll be using all the time! I highly recommend this place for the trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: All the tents are far appart so there's no bad room on this site. There's only one that has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The staff wants to guarantee you a true safari adventure. The permanent tents are comfortable, food was good, the staff is very attentive and the location is perfect - a watering hole right in front of lodge with elephants, zebras, baboons, buffalo and other animals and birds enjoying a drink (while we were enjoying a drink watching them!)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

First it must be said that there is absolutely no reason to avoid Zimbabwe as a holiday destination. From our experience Victoria Falls (a neat place in comparison to scruffy Livingstone on the Zambian side) and Hwange National Park are just as safe to travel as places in Botswana or South Africa are. We flew into Hwange by chartered light aircraft from Victoria Falls airport - please bear in mind that they are very strict on observing the weight limitations for your luggage. It is also imperative to use soft bags and nothing else! Luckily there was a Wilderness Safaris representative at the airport to provide an extra bag to repack (one of our bags wasn’t a hundred percent up to their standards) and take care of all the airport formalities. Just allow for some extra time in case there are any complications.

Davison’s Camp itself is a no frills, down to earth, no nonsense safari camp. There’s no fencing and all the tents and public areas are right in the middle of nature. There is a waterhole some 100 yards away right in front of the camp and there’s a chance to see elephants and other animals as they come to drink on a regular basis. While we were there it was mainly elephants who got really close to the tents, we even had them munching on leaves and grass around our tent one night. The facilities are up to normal safari camp standards, you get your en-suite spacious tents, only that it is not quite as fancy as most of the other Wilderness Safaris properties. But surely this is only roughing it on quite high a level. For those who want it a bit further upmarket there are of course some more luxurious options on the same concession provided by the same safari company, albeit a bit pricier.

The staff at Davison’s were just wonderful, ever so friendly and helpful, providing an atmosphere of real comfort and relaxation. The food was absolutely delicious and plentiful – our favourites were the little afternoon snacks before going out on the evening game drive (we even had hot cross buns as an Easter treat). Most of all we would like to thank the Camp Managers Tammy and André for making us feel particularly welcome and at home. Having stayed there for six nights we almost felt like family.

The wildlife experience at Hwange is only slightly impaired by the fact that the Linkwasha Concession is within the parks borders, so you are not allowed to go off road. However, this is more than compensated by the unusual variety of habitats. You have open grasslands as much as wooded areas and palm fringed plains. Sometimes it feels like being in East Africa and then again in the South African bushveld. The game experience can be very rewarding. We were particularly thrilled to get a good sighting of a honey badger, we also saw lions hunting buffalos (unfortunately in the high grass - but still a great experience), lots of eland and sable antelopes and strangely enough an irritated elephant getting up on its hind legs as we dared to disturb him crossing the road. Only the roan antelope eluded us. So we know that we have an appointment to see these guys the next time we're around. Hwange National Park and Davison’s Camp in particular are surely worth a second visit.

We just loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakadima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Recently while on safari in Hwange National Place, we had the pleasure of visiting this beautiful lodge deep in the heart of the Zimbabwe bush with our OUTSTANDING guide, David Carson. We experienced a wonderful three days in the spaciously designed lodge and rooms. Each had running water and solar energy. This resort was truly magnificent and perfectly located for relaxation and excellent wildlife viewing. The food and wine was excellent. The gift shop was a little pricey for the same goods found in the Vic Falls open-air market.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

WOW! This camp is has the best overall staff I have ever encountered in my travels. The camp itself is wonderful with a very active water hole. The tents are excellent with all the ammenities without being pretentious. They were comfortable and homey and had an excellent view of the water hole. The staff was what really made the place special. Everyone was professional while also being friendly, genuine, and engaging. We spent 3 nights here and by the time we left, I felt like I was leaving new friends.

Even the curio shop was a delight. Everything had been made by the staff or their families and was reasonably priced. It was much more enjoyable shopping here than in Victoria Falls.

This was our final stop on safari and it was the perfect ending to the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keeponcruisin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Davison's Camp was the highlight of our month-long Africa adventure. It was like going to summer camp as a kid only the tents were much better appointed. It wasn't the most oppulant of our camps, but it was by far the best experience. The service and the food were unbelievable. They provide you with whatever you need before you even knew you need something and they do it as though you were a family guest and not a paying customer. I can't say enough good things about the staff especially our guide Robert "Indie".

The food provided by Philemon and staff was delicious and they fed us all day long. They even made special dishes for my vegetarian daughter. Cocktails by the massive fire pit at night were lovely. They taught us how to find the south pole using the southern cross constellation and they sang us African songs.

Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellyblumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
13.9 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#1 of 22 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
39.4 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#2 of 22 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
33.4 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.9 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 22 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
32.0 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
32.9 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 22 in Hwange National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp
Address: Linkwasha Concession, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set under a shady grove of ancient false mopane trees, Davison's Camp overlooks grassy plains and a shallow pan that entices a steady stream of plains game and elephant herds in their hundreds, especially in the water-scarce winter months. Named after Ted Davison, the first warden of the Park who devoted 30 years of his life to it, Davison's offers the quintessential Hwange experience combining excellent wildlife viewing with the opportunity to visit a local village and participate in community projects. • 9 tents (1 family) • game drives • nature walks • village visits • viewing platforms ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Davison`s Camp Hotel Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing