We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Bush!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Harare
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beyond Bush!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A real bush camp - real bush, real camp! All done with great luxury and style though! Very private and a feel of Africa as it should be. The staff were excellent, attentive and helpful. All were very knowledgeable about the game and the camp itself. We felt enormously privileged to have a taste of wild africa through Wilderness Safaris.

The camp is small and thus intimate, a great fire to sit around and relax at night, with the thrill of possibly meeting an elephant on your way back from your evening shower - safely protected by your guard of course! The food was excellent, well above average. The tents are comfortable and luxurious without being opulent and over the top.

If you want to be out in the bush and be surrounded by it, this is your place!

Room Tip: If you are nervy about wild animals then ask for a tent close to the main living area......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyReaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    7
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We couldn't have asked for better service or better accomodations during our 20th wedding anniversary vacation. A tree with baboons right outside our window made it extra fun. Every tent has a view of the watering hole where hundreds of animals come by each day. The guide was superb and we met interesting people.

This was all the fun of camping without the work. I loved sitting by the fire in the morning with coffee and by the fire at night with cocktails.

To show how detailed the staff was, the camp chef even prepared a surprise dessert for everyone to share one night, a 20th wedding anniversary cake!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachykeen1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Davison's Camp, and we couldn't imagine a better experience. Our guide was Themba, and he was so friendly and knowledgable. His knowledge of the park and the game was exceptional. As for the camp itself, it is wonderful. The staff there is so friendly and kind. They really make you feel at home and not like you are just another couple passing though thier camp. They really go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need. We spent every evening after our wonderful dinner around the camp fire talking and joking and just enjoying each other's company. The tents were very nice with attached bathrooms with flush toilets, sink with running water, and shower. They had extra blankets in the room and at night, they'd put a hot water bottle in your bed. What a nice surprise the first night. It sure was chilly. The view from the main common area as well as from your tent is wonderful - overlooking a watering hole that is frequented by elephant, sable, warthogs, baboons, baffalo, steanbok, kudu,zebra etc.

I would definitely recommend this camp to anyone coming to Hwange. Themba and "B" are truly wonderful hosts whose hospitality and genuine kindness was unmatched throughout our entire 16 day trip through Zimbabwe, Zambia, and South Africa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlarew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a super 2 night stay in June. The staff were amazing and went out of there way to ensure our every need was catered for. Temba and his team were really awesome and the camp fire warmed the chilly evenings after an wonderful meal before retiring to our luxurious tent. The game viewing was good with a herd of in excess of 500 buffalo at the waterhole in front of the camp together with 30 plus elephant on the first evening and 13 lion the following evening calling until late into the night. Must stay longer next time.

Room Tip: All rooms same. If do not wish to have a long walk to the common area request a room near the commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chefane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We would recommend this camp to anyone in a heartbeat! They made our stay so memorable. The staff was exceptional. The rooms were great! And of course the animals goes without saying.

Our guide was Livingston, and wow! What a smart man. It was such a pleasure to have him as our guide. He catered to our every want.

The food was great. You were never......hungry. They took really good care of you.

If you had a problem or question, it was fixed or an answer immediately.

I would just like to say:

To all the staff at Davison's camp: Tammie, B, Andre, Livingston and Bryan.
And to the rest of the folks we did not get a chance to meet. (Cooks, housekeeping and everyone else)

We can't begin to say how much we enjoyed our stay with you at the camp. It was by far our most favorite of our entire trip. Each and every one of you touched our hearts and words can't describe the feelings of emotions that we had. David and I always do things in celebration of events but never has anyone (other than family) else gone out of their way to do something as special as what you did for our anniversary. I think we were speechless. It truly was the nicest thing anyone could have done! Andre, thanks goes to you as you were the one who met us that night after the game drive and presented the night of special occasion to us. We did miss the company of the staff for dinner but certainly did enjoy what had been done for us.

We regret that we did not get to say good-bye to everyone the morning we left, but know that it was deep in our hearts. Our wish is we could return to Davisons in the future and see the same staff that we were fortunate to meet on our visit this March 2012. If there was any possibility that the same staff would be there, we would be there in a heart beat. Each and every one of you will always have a special place in our hearts.

Thanks once again for making this one of the best vacations we have ever had!
David & Susan (Debra)

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank susanlyon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. Brilliant from start to finish. Managers Tammy and Andre were great and led a fabulous team. Our guide Robert was excellent. He had a lovely gentle manner, and his knowledge of the wide life and local area was superb. Lovely luxurious tents. The food was a real highlight. Stunning!!! They went our their way to make beautiful vegetarian food for my partner. The wide life was right on our doorstep...in fact, elephants outside our tent one night was quite an experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ericliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Davison's camp is managed by Wilderness Safaris. That should tell you all you need to make a reservation with them today !

Everything is included in the package. Three well cooked full meals a day. Three sometimes surprising snacks a day. A clean comfortable tent (I use the word tent only because the room had cloth walls. Otherwise it was a room) that is larger than most hotel rooms. The tent is appointed with anything you will find in any hotel room from Cape Town to Anchorage. The only thing I found that I needed to get out of my luggage besides clothing was a small tube of Hair Conditioner. shampoo, soap, shower gel .. whoops .. Sorry .. no toothbrush or toothpaste. .. and .... they wash your clothes (not your scanties though)

The beds are exceptionally comfortable. The sheets are clean and crisp. The room is cleaned daily. In the evening there is the expected turn down service as well as the netting lowered into place.

The staff is beyond compare. They are knowledgable and went so far out of their way to make me comfortable that I felt guilty if I asked for anything, because it was always fulfilled. Andres the camp host is a great guy and Christabelle a camp intern helped make my stay something to remember. The staff's concerns for the animals and the local environment are certainly laudable.

The guide I was teamed with, Godfrey went out of his way to try and find the animals that I wanted capture on film. He was patient with my questions that I'm sure he had to answer with every first time guest. He would wait as I viewed an animal as long as I wanted. Eventually I had to learn to say "Okay" otherwise we would have sat there all day.

Needless to say. I am talking to my travel agent about returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorothyMacaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
13.9 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 23 in Hwange National Park
439 reviews
65.9 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 23 in Hwange National Park
180 reviews
39.4 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 23 in Hwange National Park
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 23 in Hwange National Park
236 reviews
32.9 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 23 in Hwange National Park
153 reviews
33.4 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 23 in Hwange National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp
Address: Linkwasha Concession, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set under a shady grove of ancient false mopane trees, Davison's Camp overlooks grassy plains and a shallow pan that entices a steady stream of plains game and elephant herds in their hundreds, especially in the water-scarce winter months. Named after Ted Davison, the first warden of the Park who devoted 30 years of his life to it, Davison's offers the quintessential Hwange experience combining excellent wildlife viewing with the opportunity to visit a local village and participate in community projects. • 9 tents (1 family) • game drives • nature walks • village visits • viewing platforms ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Davison`s Camp Hotel Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing