We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience in a beautiful facility with employees who truly care.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We loved our 5 day stay in this magnificent setting overlooking a water hole where you can watch animals from your tent! Game drives were awesome. Food was outstanding. Staff were the best! Very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slimebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

Davison's Camp exceeded our expectations in every aspect.

The setting is absolutely beautiful and the accommodation is clean, comfortable, spacious and well worth it.

Game viewing was fantastic even though we visited during the rainy season. During our 3 day stay, we saw lion, a stranded lion cub, elephants, buffalo, wildebeest, impala, steenbok, sable, zebra, giraffe, jackal, 3 species of vulture, and loads of other bird life. Our guide, Tendai was amazing and extremely knowledgable. Thanks to him, we managed to track a solitary male lion, spending close on two hours with him until he walked away into the sunset in search of his pride.

Initially I thought that 2 game drives a day would be a bit much, but it was perfect as there is so much to see and the surroundings are so diverse.

All the staff are excellent and somehow manage to provide individual attention to all the guests. And the food . . . . well it just didn't stop coming - breakfast before the morning game drive, snacks during the drive, lunch upon return, afternoon tea before the second game drive, sundowners on the game drive, and finally a 3 course meal for dinner. It was all excellent, not to mention that we all left the camp a couple of kgs heavier than when we arrived.

I would without a doubt recommend Davison's Camp to anyone, and would love to return. However, Wilderness Safaris have a number of other camps within the concession so our next trip to Hwange will probably be to a different camp. If they are anything like Davison's camp, then we'll definitely not be disappointed.

Thanks to the Davison's Camp for an incredible break (Dec '11/Jan '12)!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TarynM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We've been to quite a few lodges and find 6+ hours a day sitting in a safari vehicle a bit much. So we usually did the morning drives, then came back for brunch, and spent the afternoon in the lounge area which looks out towards a huge waterhole, perpetually filled by one of the bores which Wilderness tends in their area of the park. The sightings there were magnificent, and we enjoyed the restful and comfortable afternoons. Guides and other staff were great as always.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VFlaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I was picked up at Victoria Falls and we drove to the Hwange park entrance - about 2 hours drive. At the park, I transferred to a safari vehicle and was given a sack lunch. On the way to Davison's Camp, the ride was bumpy and we saw plenty of wildlife - the usual suspects including the rare white rhinos! my guides were equally excited to see the rhinos, that was a good start of a good safari!! My guides, Honest and Sean took every opportunity to stop for a photo shot, for an education on elephant's dung, to get the best views of the wildlife and to point out the birds and their names. Took us about 3 hours to get to camp.

Reaching camp, we were greeted by Sarah and ........... face towels - yep! each time we get back to camp, moist blue face towels awaits! There are 9 tents with one main lodge where we met for breakfasts (5.30 am), lunches (1 pm), afternoon teas (3 pm) and dinners (7pm). The main lodge faces a pan, and it holds the dinning and lounge areas. Make sure you check out the nearby bathroom, what a view =)

Tents are far apart from each other and guests had to be escorted to the tents after dark by a guide (armed with a flashlight and loaded rifle). Bring your own personal flashlight. The night skies are also amazing!!! The tents are really nice with comfortable beds and plenty of reading materials - no TV, no phone, no electronic devices, no internet, no wifii and no heater. Bring warm clothes for winter nights. For emergency, there is a emergency horn which thankfully i did not use. Good hot water and water pressure. Complimentary toiletries that are biodegradable. Electricity is run by generator, so it shuts down at about 10 pm every night and in the afternoons, and it starts up at about 4.45 am every morning. I had to plan my battery charging accordingly. Once the generator shuts down at night, you can hear the wildlife, incredible! If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.

There are 2 safaris scheduled per day - morning safaris starts at 6 am with an option of driving or walking/driving safari. The afternoon safari starts at 3.30 am. Free time is 1-3 pm. There are tea breaks during the safari drive and bathroom is at your own risk in the wild. Food is so good and I ate well. Meals are eaten with some of the staff and with other guests, and service is impeccable!

I went during winter so trying to spot some wildlife was a challenge due to the long grass. But THANKS to my guides, staff and manager (Chris), i saw 4 out of the big fives (no leopard), and 3 out of the small fives, and managed gained a couple of pounds. what a safari experience and service!!!! WOW!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ll213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Davison’s provided an outstanding safari. We saw all the big 5, watched lions hunt buffalo—from a few feet away—and watched near dawn as a large pride awoke in the grass. Honest, our guide, was knowledgeable, brave, and patient. Not being rushed, he led us to seeing less common animals, such as roan antelope, bat-eared foxes, and side-striped jackals, and to hearing baboons at night crying that a leopard was nearby. After quietly waiting for some time near the waterhole, we observed the leopard approach our vehicle, circle us, drink, and return to the woods. The rhinoceros required more patience—seen after dark at a waterhole...well, we won’t give out Honest’s secrets.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank merryole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was OUR perfect holiday experience. Truly wild wilderness area, yet luxury tented accommodation in the most sublime bush location next to a waterhole. Only 9 tents with tented dining and lounge areas, all with same outlook over waterhole. Staff and guides were perfect. - polite, friendly, knowledgeable and genuinely delighted to see Brits! - nothing was too much trouble, and everything was done to make our holiday so very memorable.
Silver service dining with excellent cuisine.
Game and bird viewing was fantastic despite our being there in wet season.
We don't have a single criticism and would go back again tomorrow.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dragonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skuenzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
39.4 mi away
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
#3 of 25 in Hwange National Park
443 reviews
32.2 mi away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 25 in Hwange National Park
41 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 25 in Hwange National Park
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 25 in Hwange National Park
272 reviews
32.9 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 25 in Hwange National Park
179 reviews
35.9 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#18 of 25 in Hwange National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp

Address: Linkwasha Concession, Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Hwange National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Safaris Davison's Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set under a shady grove of ancient false mopane trees, Davison's Camp overlooks grassy plains and a shallow pan that entices a steady stream of plains game and elephant herds in their hundreds, especially in the water-scarce winter months. Named after Ted Davison, the first warden of the Park who devoted 30 years of his life to it, Davison's offers the quintessential Hwange experience combining excellent wildlife viewing with the opportunity to visit a local village and participate in community projects. • 9 tents (1 family) • game drives • nature walks • village visits • viewing platforms ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Davison`s Camp Hotel Hwange National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing