We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming environment lunch”
Review of Hotel Dakyanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dakyanus
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tataouine
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Welcoming environment lunch”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stopped there for lunch on a 5-day trip called "Le fond du désert" in Tunisia. The hotel is very nice and the employees very welcoming. They installed us on the very nice backyard terrace.

We had a nice great 5-service lunch with typical dishes from Tunisia (Brick, couscous, etc.). This lunch was huge and very satisfying.

It is a place we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 999Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
11
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dakyanus for two nights half board in January 2013 whilst on a motoring tour of Southern Tunisia. It is a long way outside the town and your own transport is necessary. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, and the food was plentiful and of good quality. Although the price was higher than expected,because we were using a Lonely Planet guide which was two years old, it was good value, especially as there is considerable inflation in the country (but a better exchange rate for sterling). Of course, in January, we did not use the unheated pool. The hotel was in a good position to explore the local sites (Including Luke Skywalker's home). At night, walking in the grounds it was perfectly still and silent, except for the sound of the breeze. The stars were spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We had to wait twenty minutes to talk to someone at the reception. Although the interior design of the hotel and the pool area was very nice, after having seen the room, we decided not to stay at this hotel. The room was very dark and very basic, the bathroom dirty and run down. Not recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliawaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Dakyanus for over 2 months in total. The friendliness of the staff is excellent. Whenever I stay there they treat me exceptionally, my room is always made up excellent, fresh towels, soap etc. The kitchen staff is also very accommodating, they usually prepare a daily dinner meal, but will make you almost anything you ask for, and the food is very good.
I have stayed at other hotels in Tataouine, and this is by far the best one. The owner of the hotel is also very accommodating, he will go out of his way to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We arrived to this hotel without previous reservation after we got a shocked reception at Kenza hotel in Chenini village (which is highly not advisable during summer period because of extremely high temperature inside the caves-rooms). After Kenza, Dakyanus hotel appeared as a heaven for us. There is a huge clean pool. The rooms are simple but have everything needed. Air conditioning is weak, but at least it exists. There is free private parking. The dinner is very good, but is served dish after dish and therefore takes about 1.5-2 hours. Breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

When we came in to book, we got a free fruit drink, AND a outrageous price. We eventually agreed and got a average room. The pool was good, but there was no hot tub, and it got cold late in the day. The setting was a beautiful faux-ksar, and the room inside was average, but lacking in a bathub. The main dinner was stewed lamb gargoulette and chicken couscouse, with a mediocre vegetarian plate. The lamb was debatable: good if you like it tender, but I thought it rather overstewed. We were glad not to have to pay for another night there. I'm not sure: it might be the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravelers660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tataouine
3.1 mi away
Sangho Privilege Tataouine
Sangho Privilege Tataouine
#2 of 3 in Tataouine
99 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kenza
Kenza
#1 of 1 in Shanini
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ksotel Auberge De Tataouine
Ksotel Auberge De Tataouine
#2 of 2 in Tataouine
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mabrouk
Hotel Mabrouk
#3 of 3 in Tataouine
18 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dakyanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dakyanus

Property: Hotel Dakyanus
Address: Route El Ferch BP 234, Tataouine 3200, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tataouine Governorate > Tataouine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tataouine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dakyanus 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dakyanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakyanus Hotel Tataouine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing