We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Fine For One Night :-)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Palm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Palm
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Douz
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Was Fine For One Night :-)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of the Simply Sahara trip through Thomson holidays.
Although there was a large group of us check-in was very quick and we headed up to our room. The room was basic but for one night what do you really need? As you walked in the bathroom was on the right and there was storage area to the left. Into the bedroom area and it was two single beds pushed together, a small table, a dressing table with mirror and chair and tv which we didn't watch lol
We didn't have long before we headed off for our camel ride but some of the group did head for a quick swim in the pool which looked clean and refreshing.
We got back from our camel ride and headed for dinner and there seemed to be a good selection available, pretty similar to what we were getting in our main hotel.
We then went and sat out by the pool and a nice cold beer before going back to our room for a shower.
The shower was awful no real power it was more of a trickle but somehow I managed to wash my hair and a wash of sorts lol
The room did have air con although there was no remote so you couldn't change the temp and we ended up turning it off as it was getting just too cold.
Overall for one night it was fine but I don't think I would of stayed any longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    29
    15
    4
See reviews for
25
31
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here over night on a Thomson trip to the Sahara from Djerba. It was quite fine for a night and it reminded me of some Eastern European hotels I stayed in about 10 years ago - like it was stuck in a time warp. However the room was big, clean and nicely decorated and perfect for one night.

The blankets were a bit itchy and there was no safe in the room which were the only downsides really.
The dinner and breakfast was both plentyful and very nice.
Good overnight stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ_The_Globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a part of a 2-day trip to the Sahara desert. It was listed as 4-star but in reality is probably about 2 or 3 at best but is probably one of the best hotels in the town. The rooms are Spartan and basic, reminiscent of the old ‘Intourist’ hotels of Soviet Russia.

The food is nice albeit somewhat limited in choice (deserts excepted – they are really nice). The staff seem to be a bit overworked and are therefore a touch elusive at times.

For us, it was functional and it served its purpose but it’s not somewhere I would book to stay at if I didn’t need to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank York-O-Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed at the Sun Palm for the night of 10 June on our 2 day Sahara trip and I must say, compared to the hotel we stayed in on a similar trip a few years ago it was great. Check-in was swift, reception staff friendly and our room was large, nicely although simply furnished but with great air con!!! We were soon showered, changed and downstairs in the reception bar ready for a pre dinner drink and having a laugh with the bar staff.. Can't complain about the food: there was a good enough choice and plenty of it. After a very long day we slept very well, albeit for not many hours before we were up again. Maybe not a hotel to spend a week in, but for a night or two to explore Douz and the surrounding area it was fine. Considering what we paid per person for the whole trip I don't honestly know what some people expect for their money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjacobsbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

the hotel is a pleasant surprise, after a long journey and especially after the exhausting trip in the desert, on the camels.
the rooms are large and nicely decorated - traditional but simple.
the interior garden are, however, the strong issue of this hotel. it's a pleasure to relax during a short walk from the room to the swimming pool.
And on this maze to the restaurant, they also have some snugs, with very large pillows, where you can enjoy a coffee or smoke a shisha.
we stayed only for one night, including the evening before (we came from Sousse that day, and very early in the next morning we left), so maybe that was another reason why we have good memories about this this place ..

Room Tip: try your pillows in the room, the minute you enter. that way you might not have the bad chance to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

we recently stopped here for 1 night on our sahara trip with THOMSON, and i can honestly say it was horrid.
on arrival the reception area was dull and past its best and the reception staff were extremely surly and then we had to carrry our luggage upstairs as there wasnt a lift.
the room was freezing cold, it did have a blow air heater but this didnt work properly and the furniture was scratched and old and the room very sparse, i really didnt want to stop here but i didnt have any choice but at least it was clean.
the food was more like slop than anything else and 4* it definately wasnt, so be warned if you plan a 2 day sahara trip you may end up here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voodoolady24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALIDTunis, Manager at Sun Palm, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Good evening,
According to your review about the stay at hotel Sun Palm Douz on 21th March 2012, we have the pleasure to inform you that the hotel has only one higher floor and if the client ask to the receptionniste he can give one room in ground floor, without forget that we have a bell boy who can help you at any time on demand.
And in order to have more détails, we need just your room number to give an exact answer.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
279 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Sun Palm hotel was included in the 1N/2D tour (Thomson Excursion). After we all checked in, off to camel ride shortly, came back to have dinner and sleep. Then we left hotel in the very early morning next day. I didn't stay here for a long time, but I personally appreciated this hotel very much. I stayed in 2-star-hotel in Hammamet. Comparted to the 2-star-hotel, this hotel is amazing !

Very roomy, enough towels, hot water shower, hair dryer, bathtub, amenities, swimming pool.... Nothing is wrong with this hotel.
There was not scheduled blackouts. So there is enough power here, which is good !

Dinner is served buffet style, it might not be plentiful but you are in the middle of the desert. Considering it, I was very impressed by what they did serve us, because the lunch we had earlier that day was only a plate of cous cous. I was eating rabbit meat unwittingly at the buffet LOL
At the buffet place, a woman was baking tunisian bread in front of us, of course you can have the fresh bread.
You can savour alcohol in this hotel.

There is Hamam/Spa in this hotel, I didn't have a time to try but if my memory is not hazy yet, it is rather expensive !

As our tour had to leave around 6ish or so, hotel prepared early breakfast exclusively our group. It was enough for me to start new day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douz
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sahara Douz
Hotel Sahara Douz
#1 of 10 in Douz
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mehari Douz
Mehari Douz
#6 of 10 in Douz
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Mouradi
El Mouradi
#3 of 10 in Douz
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane
0.0 mi away
Camp Mars
Camp Mars
#1 of 1 in Jebil National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palm

Property: Sun Palm
Address: Sun Palm BP 98 | Zone Touristique, Douz 4260, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Douz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sun Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palm Douz
Sun Palm Hotel Douz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing