We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”
Review of Mehari Douz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mehari Douz
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Douz
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok for one night”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed there for one night during Sahara trip. It's not very good for a sleep though because of camels cried all night long. From the other hand, there is a good pool with hot sulfur water. Also I cannot say nothing bad about the staff. Meat is nothing special, but edible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sviatoslav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

That's the word our group decided on after a one-night stay. Lovely setting and quiet, literally on the edge of the desert. I wish we could have stayed longer. It was a treat to be in a somewhat smaller hotel with fewer tourists :) Our room had no TV (who needs it on holiday?!) or balcony but outside the door was a great niche for sitting under the ornamental arches. The pool was very welcome even in November; did not try the "therapeutic" thermal pool. It was also nice to have a buffet lunch instead of table service. Of course we did the camel-riding experience which was just around the corner from the hotel. That's another story.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed as part of Sahara trip for 1 night. Great pools especially the thermal spring. Could see the dunes from bathroom window. Amazing. Food ok but nothing special, staff very friendly. Would recommend to friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hanc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

stayed here in july as part of the simply sahara tour through thomson and the hotel itself is actually pretty good considering its in a lesser visited area. Its extremely hot down in douz and the pools were ideal after a hot day, the rooms were simple and had aircon. The food was buffet style but had more food i liked than my actual hotel back in PEK. The sky is pretty at night and is a good stop off point for the sahara trip

Room Tip: just make sure your air con worls, youll need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich_break
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here for the night as part of the 2 day Sahara excursion. The hotel is very clean and staff friendly. The food was average but i enjoyed watching the local lady make bread and cook it for us in the buffet area. The Sahara is right in the door step (no joke) and that is what makes this hotel special.

Room Tip: Must have air-con......very hot even in May
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed for the one night as we were on the Simply Sahara trip with Thompsons. I was pleasantly surprised, although I did not sleep very well, but that;s nothing to do with the hotel - that's just me! The room was clean and tidy, beds were comfy, 2 swimming pools, also a TV room and a pool table! Food was excellant, although eating at 4.30 am is not for me!

All in all a good hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercurykat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here as part of an organised tour to the Sahara region of Tunisia. We found the hotel comfortable and the staff friendly.
Enjoyed a sunset camel ride in the desert very close to the hotel.
The best thing about the hotel was the two swimming pools and the fact that they were open until the late evening. After a full day travelling and then a camel ride at sunset it was great to jump in the pool before dinner. It was dark outside and the pool wasn't lit up too brightly so you could enjoy swimming beneath the stars. There was also another sulfur thermal pool which was great as well, although it was a little too dark in this corner of the grounds.
The hotel room was basic but clean and the breakfast and evening meal were fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douz
0.1 mi away
Sun Palm
Sun Palm
#4 of 7 in Douz
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahara Douz
Hotel Sahara Douz
#1 of 7 in Douz
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi
El Mouradi
#2 of 7 in Douz
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Mars
Camp Mars
#1 of 1 in Jebil National Park
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mehari Douz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mehari Douz

Property: Mehari Douz
Address: BP 96 Zone touristique, Douz 4260, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Douz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mehari Douz 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Mehari Douz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mehari Hotel Douz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing