We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night - Simply Sahara Experience”
Review of Mehari Douz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mehari Douz
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Douz
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“1 night - Simply Sahara Experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here for the night as part of the 2 day Sahara excursion. The hotel is very clean and staff friendly. The food was average but i enjoyed watching the local lady make bread and cook it for us in the buffet area. The Sahara is right in the door step (no joke) and that is what makes this hotel special.

Room Tip: Must have air-con......very hot even in May
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed for the one night as we were on the Simply Sahara trip with Thompsons. I was pleasantly surprised, although I did not sleep very well, but that;s nothing to do with the hotel - that's just me! The room was clean and tidy, beds were comfy, 2 swimming pools, also a TV room and a pool table! Food was excellant, although eating at 4.30 am is not for me!

All in all a good hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercurykat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here as part of an organised tour to the Sahara region of Tunisia. We found the hotel comfortable and the staff friendly.
Enjoyed a sunset camel ride in the desert very close to the hotel.
The best thing about the hotel was the two swimming pools and the fact that they were open until the late evening. After a full day travelling and then a camel ride at sunset it was great to jump in the pool before dinner. It was dark outside and the pool wasn't lit up too brightly so you could enjoy swimming beneath the stars. There was also another sulfur thermal pool which was great as well, although it was a little too dark in this corner of the grounds.
The hotel room was basic but clean and the breakfast and evening meal were fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here one night during our Sahara trip. First Impresson wasn't that impressed, but the staff were friendly and the pool was amazing specially after a 13 hour bus trip. Food was good and the bread lady was amazing. Our room however had ants which we didn't realise until we were going to bed and I thought it a bit strange that we had to pay 1DNR to take our own photos in the restaurant. On the whole ok for a one night stay but not for a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saby202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

In our trip through Sahara, we stayed in this hotel for one night. It was a true surprise that there is such a hotel in the middle of the desert. Food was great , rooms were nice and clean. There is a outside pool with hot water, it was a nice experiance enjoying in the pool, in the middle of the night in the middle of desert ;)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vojnicivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

On our stay in Tunisia we had the opportunity to go on a one in a lifetime trip. Mid-way on this trip we stayed in the Mehari Douz. I was worried that we were going to be put in a dirty little basic hotel however I was more then pleasantly suprised.
The room itself was basic; en-suite, bed and dressing table, but it was all clean. Our stay was half-board and we enjoyed a lovely dinner including bread made right there and then in the dining room by a lady. It didn't have the choice of our main hotel but it was all good.
The pool area was beautiful but even more impressive was a warm water pool which had sulphuric rock in it which is good for the skin.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisamarieWhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I stayed at the Mehari Douz hotel for one night in July only because this was the hotel my travel agency (TUI Nordic) had chosen for the 2 days Tunisia trip. It was supposed to be a 4 star hotel but expect more of 2 star hotel. During check in the staff were sort of 'competing' over who could 'help' the most people to their rooms. I didn't see the point of this as the hotel wasn't that big and there were clear signs showing the direction to every room in the hotel. Me and my girlfriend only carried one backpack but one staff member insisted in showing us to our room. I could tell that he was not doing it because he was friendly but because he wanted a tip.

As there were many people arriving at the same time he walked in front of us very fast (so that he could continue with other guests ASAP, I guess). After having showed us the room I said thank you and started to small talk with my girlfriend. I noticed that the man was still in the room looking at us. He didn't speak any English but it was easy to tell that he was looking for money. I said thank you and very politely bye bye. He closed the door with a smash, didn't say a word. I mean, why would a tip a guy for doing something for us we didn't even want? Was he doing as a favor? Doesn't he get a salary?

The room itself was pretty clean, however it didn't have any windows, balcony etc, and the walls were kind of thin. It felt cheap but I guess that's what you can expect while being so close to the Sahara dessert. We didn't bother to swim in the pool so we decided to leave the hotel for a walk. There was nothing, just a road and sand. Wen't back to the hotel and awaited the dinner buffé. The food was OK and the drinks were overpriced and cost me a lot more than it would have done back home in Scandinavia, now talk about taking advantage of the situation. As there were so many people dining e had to share a table with another couple. In what four star hotel would you have to do that?

I'd say the hotel is OK for one night's stay if you're doing the Tunisia tour. However I wouldn't stay here for much longer due to the hotel's location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sq7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douz
0.1 mi away
Sun Palm
Sun Palm
#4 of 7 in Douz
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahara Douz
Hotel Sahara Douz
#1 of 7 in Douz
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi
El Mouradi
#2 of 7 in Douz
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Mars
Camp Mars
#1 of 1 in Jebil National Park
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mehari Douz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mehari Douz

Property: Mehari Douz
Address: BP 96 Zone touristique, Douz 4260, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Douz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mehari Douz 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Mehari Douz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mehari Hotel Douz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing