We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Cheerful”
Review of Hotel 20 Mars

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Douz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel 20 Mars
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Douz
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel 20 Mars is popular with locals and visitors alike, and for good reason. Probably the cleanest and most comfortable dwelling for it's price, it was fully booked out for the whole time we were there during the Douz festival. The room we had was at the back of the courtyard on the ground floor and was tiny. The little extra details such as the locally crafted lamps and small Berber carpet made it look cheery though. Our shared shower did not have hot water all the time and the mattress was a little thin. Still it was a nice experience here and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_Lin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel organises trio in the Sahara as you wish, from a 2hours camel ride to a full week in the dessert called Méharé.
They are very friendly and obliging.
We spent a night in their camp in the Sahara and it was a great experience, and it did not break the bank as it was really resonably priced.
Star gazing in the dessert is a must, even if you are not into astronomy. What a sight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sébastien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel 20 Mars is on a die street near the main square. It has a typical Tunisian house layout - two off-set vestibules leading to a courtyard. The rooms are set out round the courtyard and the upper floor rooms are accessed via balcony all round The rooms are fairly basic with a small shower & bathroom off.
The joy of this place is that it is remarkable economical (£8 B&B Oct '12), simple, clean and the people are warm and friendly. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We liked the upper floor; and if you avoid a corner room, you should have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Amazing location in Douz, near anything you'd need.
Staff are very friendly and accomodating.
Very reasonably priced, best value I found in Tunisia.
Compfortable spacious rooms, ensuite available.
Breakfast optional but worth it as very good, large servings and cheaper than anywhere else.
Lots of excursions on offer which can be arranged too.
Nice little roof top patio area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samt_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is the first place in Tunisia we stayed where we actually had no problems. The Inn Keeper was a very nice man and the breakfast was excellent. The 20 DInar price is definitely worth it! The room was clean and well kept. We took a camel trek through the desert (2 hour ride plus dinner) for 35 dinars each. I would absolutely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Second Floor Courtyard rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleandJuho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Staff are helpful and nice.

The room is a bit small but clean and tidy. they have a beautiful interior countyard.

the room rate is cheap. They offer free shower after our Desert Trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Very nice and cosy hotel that is not in the touristic area but close to the market place. Air conditioned room and friendly staff, ver did think this was a very good hotel and liked it a lot.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank TunisiaDjerba2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douz hotels
1.6 mi away
El Mouradi
El Mouradi
#2 of 7 in Douz
218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sun Palm
Sun Palm
#4 of 7 in Douz
130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sahara Douz
Hotel Sahara Douz
#1 of 7 in Douz
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mehari Douz
Mehari Douz
#6 of 7 in Douz
88 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 20 Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 20 Mars

Address: Rue 20 Mars, Douz 4260, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Douz
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing