We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and Cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 20 Mars

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Douz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel 20 Mars
Save
You added Hotel 20 Mars to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Douz
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel 20 Mars is popular with locals and visitors alike, and for good reason. Probably the cleanest and most comfortable dwelling for it's price, it was fully booked out for the whole time we were there during the Douz festival. The room we had was at the back of the courtyard on the ground floor and was tiny. The little extra details such as the locally crafted lamps and small Berber carpet made it look cheery though. Our shared shower did not have hot water all the time and the mattress was a little thin. Still it was a nice experience here and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Lin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
36
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel organises trio in the Sahara as you wish, from a 2hours camel ride to a full week in the dessert called Méharé.
They are very friendly and obliging.
We spent a night in their camp in the Sahara and it was a great experience, and it did not break the bank as it was really resonably priced.
Star gazing in the dessert is a must, even if you are not into astronomy. What a sight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sébastien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel 20 Mars is on a die street near the main square. It has a typical Tunisian house layout - two off-set vestibules leading to a courtyard. The rooms are set out round the courtyard and the upper floor rooms are accessed via balcony all round The rooms are fairly basic with a small shower & bathroom off.
The joy of this place is that it is remarkable economical (£8 B&B Oct '12), simple, clean and the people are warm and friendly. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We liked the upper floor; and if you avoid a corner room, you should have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Amazing location in Douz, near anything you'd need.
Staff are very friendly and accomodating.
Very reasonably priced, best value I found in Tunisia.
Compfortable spacious rooms, ensuite available.
Breakfast optional but worth it as very good, large servings and cheaper than anywhere else.
Lots of excursions on offer which can be arranged too.
Nice little roof top patio area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samt_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is the first place in Tunisia we stayed where we actually had no problems. The Inn Keeper was a very nice man and the breakfast was excellent. The 20 DInar price is definitely worth it! The room was clean and well kept. We took a camel trek through the desert (2 hour ride plus dinner) for 35 dinars each. I would absolutely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Second Floor Courtyard rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleandJuho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Staff are helpful and nice.

The room is a bit small but clean and tidy. they have a beautiful interior countyard.

the room rate is cheap. They offer free shower after our Desert Trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Very nice and cosy hotel that is not in the touristic area but close to the market place. Air conditioned room and friendly staff, ver did think this was a very good hotel and liked it a lot.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TunisiaDjerba2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Douz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sahara Douz
Hotel Sahara Douz
#1 of 11 in Douz
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Mouradi
El Mouradi
#3 of 11 in Douz
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mehari Douz
Mehari Douz
#5 of 11 in Douz
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 20 Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 20 Mars

Property: Hotel 20 Mars
Address: Rue 20 Mars, Douz 4260, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Douz
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing