We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location with stunning beaches and snorkelling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed for 12 nights late October/early November (2 boys aged 7 and 8 + my wife and I) in a Beach Villa half board.

Beach Villa accommodation:
Whilst the villa is a good size, the single room layout meant that in the evening after we'd put them to bed there were few options for us - every night we went outside onto the balcony and either read or watched TV on a portable DVD player that we'd brought with us. This was fine as long as you put on the mosquito cream!! The mosquito cream supplied in the minibar worked really well for us and we didn't get bitten at all when we used it. The villa is right on the beach and when the tide is high the sea is only about 20m away. The villa was cleaned every day and turned down for the night and they always did a good job. Beach villa vs Garden villa?? We'd recommend the Beach Villa every time. The Garden Villas face onto the backs of the Beach Villas so we were glad with our choice.

Location:
The location is stunning with great beaches, coves and forest; fruit-bats flying overhead, lots of colourful fish in the sea. There are crabs *everywhere* on this island. During the day you'll see crabs diving into their holes, and at night hermit crabs come crawling out. Whilst there is a tortoise enclosure in the village it is a bit run-down and not the picturesque sanctuary you might envision. There are a few paths that lead off into the forest which is nice - some longer than others so it's good to plan ahead.

Activities:
Swimming. Snorkelling. Read for a bit. Swim. Eat. Go snorkelling again. Rinse and repeat. The snorkelling off the beach was fine - plenty of fish to see and with the reef being 200m out, the sea is very shallow near the beach. Great for the kids to try a spot of snorkelling. Watch out for lionfish and wear reef shoes to protect feet from sea urchins. From the beach we saw several rays, lionfish, all kinds of fish (mostly Picaso Triggerfish) and crabs. For the more adventurous there is a dive centre that organises both snorkelling and dive trips. We did two snorkelling trips and saw sharks, turtles, cuttlefish and big humphead parrotfish to name a few. The dive centre staff were brilliant. To leave the island costs quite a bit of money - several hundred euros per person - so we didn't leave. We did another excursion around to the north of the island - a boat trip + picnic; the beach they took us to was nice but the food was decidedly average.

There is one pool (saltwater) split into a kids shallow pool and deeper pool. This is located in the central area by the breakfast buffet place and surrounded by sunbeds. You can order food from the pool menu and there are floats available for the kids. Sunbeds nearest the pool get 'reserved' early as people head for breakfast.

Food and service:
Good time to talk about food. We were half board so we ate buffet style breakfast and evenings a reasonably good buffet selection was offered. There are three or four restaurants all run by the hotel. We visited the Japanese restaurant several times - this was our firm favorite. The italian was ok. So for breakfast and dinner the selection was fine. Lunchtime was more challenging however. The main area near the pool is really the only place you can go for lunch where the menu is ok for a week long stay but you do yearn for a bit more when you are staying for longer than a week. Room service is an option but the food is the same. Although the Japanese restaurant was superb the standard of food and choice elsewhere was a let-down. Also as other reviews have no doubt mentioned food is expensive: £17 for a club sandwich. Drinks are reasonably priced. Maybe you could live off beer...

We expected more locally caught fresh seafood and generally better cuisine - the exec chef was however very friendly and helpful and did everything he could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. In his defense he's only been there for 6 months and is in the process of transforming the menus and food offering. We said we'd go back if the food situation improves!

Just a quick note on service - this was bizarre. Some staff were fantastic - you could see that they were doing their utmost to make sure you had a great stay. They remembered your name, talked to the kids, went over and above. Shamman was the chap supervising the Japanese restaurant and he was great, as was Shaiful the exec chef. Mohamed was good also. The bizarre thing was that other staff weren't so good. They would forget your order, leave you waiting at the table for ages before taking your order, you would ask for something and the wrong thing would arrive...etc. So I think they have a bit of a staff issue, but the few great people there made up for it.

Transfers:
Once you land there is a minibus that takes you on a 40 minute ride to the jetty. This ride is over very hilly terrain so doesn't set you up well for a 45 min boat journey! The boat itself wasn't great - but as long as you pinned your eyes on the horizon and put up with it the end goal is worth it. Apparently this coming year they are putting on private boat transfers - I'd certainly opt for that if I came again.

Weather:
In case you are scouring these reviews looking for weather in October/November information, the two weeks we stayed at the end of Oct/ beginning of Nov were broadly fantastic weather-wise. We had one day where it mostly rained and another day where it rained for a couple of hours before becoming fantastic again. We occasionally saw thunderstorms out at sea but the weather would be glorious where we were. We were worried about rain spoiling our holiday but it wasn't an issue at all for us.

Summary:
Great. Loved the snorkelling. Beach fantastic. Sea clear and warm. Food not so great (Japanese restaurant the exception). Service sometimes excellent, sometimes poor depending on who you got. Expensive. Buy your gifts in the airport gift shop on the way back, not at the hotel or dive shop. We spent £20 on a small tortoise keyring in the hotel (it was one of the cheapest things); we saw the exact same one for £3 in the airport gift shop. Children friendly - there were lots of families there with small kids. Not sure if the honeymooners appreciated that though!

Room Tip: Beach Villa every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank edralph_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynelleamante, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa.

We have noted your concerns regarding the quality of food and the efficiency and speed of service provided by our team members. Rest assured that your feedbacks are taken with utmost consideration and necessary measures have already been initiated in order to further improve our services.

Once again, thank you for your inputs and we hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa and to any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just returned back after 9 days of total privacy , relaxation and spoiled luxury holidays!!! Had an amazing beach front villa , a step away from the sea water, very cleaned resort, the spa is so unigue and spiritual design , very impressed really amd simply i say after all so many far away experiences in other destination, this spa touched my heart and i rate it at the top of 2 spa i ve ever been in my life! The beach was really great , white sand and water so clean.. We were a bit unlucky for our last one day and a half that tropical rain started but that didnt destroy a single minute of our holidays, we had the best ever tropical relaxation for xmas holidays! Love the litya products of australia for all the facial treatments, massages and pedicure/ manicure as well as the l' occitane products in villas, bought some unigue staff for all from boutigues. Gym very satisfied as well. As far as restaurants are concerned , all 5 restaurants have served amazing food , sakura, tepanyaki, lo brizan with the special music, djs and the special and unigue band, the xmas decor and the whole fantastic program and dinner set for the nrw year eve! Both our kids and us had amazing night and thank u so much for the fantastic villa bed decoration for my daughters birthday on new yr's eve as well thanks to mrs diana for organising special moments at night with the band and the songs, candles and birthday cake for my nicole's special day!!! It was really very touching for us and even more for her!! Portobello restaurant was also very well set of dinner with amazing italian dishes and the view... So amazing too! The grann caz restaurant with creole was also a different experience, that is the restaurant in the village , first experience of seychelles food! Generally the resort is ever so beautifully oriented with breathtaking views of the green forest at the hills as well as the breathtaking views of its ocean and beach!!!! We ll definetly return to seychelles and no doubt we could easily return to this beautiful resort , even though we could have a different island experience probably again to a different resort, but sure we all loved this one and would love to stay again !! 2 are the negative aspects though: 1. Mosquitos too many around the island, day and night , had a really bad bite all over the body plus face of my younger 2 yr old daughter, we got afraid of a severe infection even though the sprays we used on us and her all over the body every 20 min, nothing worked unfo. The night of new yr eve was much better as they sprayed against mosquitos from morning all around the island. The other and only left negative aspect was the very late room service that really got on my nerves. Very dissapointed since whenever we asked for anything in the room took around an hour and few times even more to come, that was so annoying and seriously they have to take serious actions about it as nobody can accept more than half an hour for room service. That was the worse thing of the resort. Apart from that the staff all around the resort including the spa was really friendly, helpful and amazing nice people, even the kids loved our badler and everywhere we went! Fantastic new year tropical holidays on a magical destinatuon we ll never forget, and honestly we ll return to seychelles again !!!!! Love you paradise of 2012!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kikola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynelleamante, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa.

We were very pleased to know that you had a wonderful festive holiday in our lovely resort and we are grateful for your kind comments on our team members, our beachfront villa, the quality of food in our restaurants, the beach, the spa and our resort facilities. We have noted your concern regarding the room service; rest assured that necessary measures will be implemented in order to further improve this area.

Once again, thank you for your inputs and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa and to any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

If I could, I would give 4,5 out of 5. But 4 is would be unfair I believe. We spent on the island 2 weeks over Xmas and really enjoyed it.

Silhouette is a "one resort island" where is only Hilton Labriz hotel a about 35 local people living as we were told. Surrounded by beautiful and worm see the entire island is a pretty hilly jungle where you can go hiking.

Everyone working here we met was super friendly and willing to help. Every time you walk on the narrow sidewalks and a buggy is passing by, they always slow down to make you feel safe. It is a great place to come with kids. Actually, all the food for kids until the age of 6 is completely free, including orders a la carte! There is a "Jungle Fun" club for kids which is open daily with a lot of toys and even beds for sleeping.

The Silhouette spa is free of charge and has steam room and sauna with small swimming pool and a jacuzzi. There are 6 private rooms for treatment spread in the hill hidden in jungle for complete privacy. My wife had a thai massage and loved it.

I would like to especially thank the executive chef Shaiful and front office manage Nawal for their great care. The chef was always in between the guest asking for feedback on the food and making careful notes. It is visible, they go the extra mile to make the delight every guest.

Apart from the main restaurant where every evening is a buffet of different style and very good actually, there are 4 other restaurants a la carte to choose from. Make bookings as early as day before to make sure you get your place, they were always full.

Now few things to improve to make the review complete :)

- Our stay was split into about 5 bookings (we made them as the dates became available online). This proved to be a source of issues during the stay. Our cards stop working 2 days after arrival (were programmed incorrectly), they called us a few times to organize our departure although we were not leaving yet and then it was quite a challenge to print the bill
- Everyone is super nice and helpful but the process are not in place or are not always followed. We discovered by accident on the 10th day that we should not be charged for the children food and then had to remind a few times to get it of the bills we already signed. Also, we always asked for pasta for your 15 month old and practically always a different price was charged.
- Every time you get a bill to sign (which is always after you eat) the prices on the bill are printed without the VAT and "service charge" which is shown only as total at the end. So there is no way how you can check what you are paying for

Every issue that we had was at the end resolved. We are leaving with great memories.

Room Tip: beach villas are much more private than the garden villas. It is worth to pay more to get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xsima78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynelleamante, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa.

We were very pleased to know that you had a wonderful festive holiday in our lovely resort and we are grateful for your kind comments on our team members, our beachfront villa, the kids club, the spa and our resort facilities. We have noted your feedback regarding the price discrepancy of the bill print-outs; rest assured that we will look into this matter and necessary measures will be implemented in order to further improve our services.

Once again, thank you for your inputs and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa and to any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Dec 14 to 23, 2011 family (6 & 8 yr old). Booked with www.mauritius-seychelles.com Garden villa half board 449Euros per night (300 without H/B). At least H/B is now OK to use other restaurants,maybe slightly cheaper paying for meals directly (great cash exchange rate at Hotel). Boat leaves 10am for Silhouette and returns 4pm- sitting upstairs was fine. Can pay taxi 40 Euros extra on way back if late flight to go to Victoria and Eden for dinner. Free Wifi in room, 2 big bottles of water free/day, skysports TV. Brought along 2 boxes of wine, lovely sitting on the beach sipping cold wine (got 2 glasses of ice from the bar). Portabello lovely lamb, £30 for 2005 St Emillion (at least you don't need mossie gel at this restaurant). Free tennis, free bikes (1 hr). Good Jog on trail past tortoises (1st beach has turtles in eve-need torch), stops on beach after waterfall. Trail beyond Spa along beach then 3km signposted to huts (couldn't find trail beyond) took 2hrs rtn. Trail to other side of island is at end of road signposted to church (before Labriz enterance), I took left path halfway up,this goes over the top then down ,along right and up over another ridge then I assume down to other side , would take at least 3 hrs return,I wore trainers and took small water bottle,great adventure at 6.30am , got back for breakfast 10.30am. Diving morning 2 dives ,cost 140Euros, afternoon 2pm 1 dive 85Euros, they go to north of island. Snorkling directly infront of pool , saw Stingray, b/w sea snake(never seen that in Maldives), very friendly sergent fish. Can swim out to past reef , bit shallow where surf is but easy with flippers then see loads of fish. Think most turtles out on beach past cemetary. Monday free drinks 6-7pm. Happy hour 5-7pm, otherwise bar very empty in eve. think they need some kids entertainment like on Bandos, magician show etc.Kids club was empty but pool great for kids. Only negative point was awfull tea at breakfast (just give us a tea bag), poached eggs -tell her not to put in vinegar, scrambled eggs & omelettes over cooked and dry. Otherwise everyone on Silhouette super friendly. Bring boots Mosie gel, crisps/snacks,ibroprohane (shop doesn't stock headache pills), snorkle equip,trainers,a few boxes of wine and enjoy. Sun disappears behind hill 5pm. Weather was quite OK in Dec - only 1 day rained most of day. Hotel got quite busy 22nd dec onwards, just went to beach instead.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRoger12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynelleamante, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa.

We were pleased to know that you had a fantastic holiday in our beautiful resort and we are grateful for your kind comments on our services, our garden villa, the beach, the nature walks and our resort facilities. We have noted your feedbacks regarding kids entertainment and the tea and scrambled eggs at breakfast; rest assured that necessary measures have already been initiated in order to improve the above mentioned areas.

Once again, thank you for your inputs and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa and to any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had a 12 day trip in December, which I was rather concerned about, knowing there was nothing to do! The resort was under occupied, so was beautifully quiet and peaceful. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The garden room was lovely. We didn't take walking boots so one of the 3 walks was not recommended - they advise trainers at least - Teva sandals better for the two walks I did do. Gorgeous beaches, woodland walks - saw turtles going to lay eggs on the beach. Downside is the price of trips, food and drinks. The buffets were great but £45.00 per head and the wine started at about £30 (they ran out of this one on day 2!) The other restaurants looked lovely, but were really expensive so we didn't try them. Breakfast buffet fabulous. The hotel line is that everything has to be imported hence the price, but it's apparently not that expensive on Mahe! I didn't feel like any of the trips as i was happy doing nothing much - I have never felt better at the end of a holiday.

Room Tip: We were allocated a garden room, which was wonderful. Small children? Go for a beach villa, which y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynelleamante, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa.

We were very pleased to know that you were delighted by the beautiful sceneries surrounding the island and we are grateful for your kind comments on our garden villa and the quality of food in our buffet restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your inputs and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa whenever your travel plans bring you back to the Seychelles.


Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Silhouette Island is absolutely spectacular!!! An island of amazing natural beauty. The beach is out of this world fantastic. We decided to stay at the Hilton Labriz for 10nights as the final part of our amazing honeymoon. It was way below what I would expect from a 5 star hotel, but we didn't let this deter us from enjoying the beautiful surrounding and making the most of it! That said, I would advise against visiting this resort until it has upped its standards.
The ferry to the island from Mahe was very nice, good quality. takes about 45 mins. Its not practical to go over to Mahe say for dinner, so you are confined to Silhouette Island. We were collected in a Golf Buggy and brought to our Garden Villa. My first impressions was the the general landscaping and garden was quite unkept and untidy. Perhaps this is due to the flora and fauna that reside next to the coast line, and also we had just come from a 5 star resort in Dubai (which was like 7star standard, and we may have been a bit spoilt). Cant say on first impressions I wasn't disappointed though.
On arrival at our villa I noticed a big mark on the floor tile just inside the door as we entered. I should have said something at that moment, but I didn't as I prefer not to make a fuss and ruin the vacation. Again, though, I was disappointed at this substandard cleaning. Once the porter had left I looked inside the bathroom, which was filthy. So much so, I wanted to start cleaning it....and believe me you, I am as far from a clean freak as you can imagine! This absolutely was unacceptable so we requested to see a different villa. THis was duly done a couple of hours later. THe second seemed better (although still far from 5 star) and we accepted it. It wasn't til the staff member had left that I noticed graffiti on the lamp shade!!! I really didn't want to complain again, as I was spending my first day on tropical paradise complaining, which is upsetting and not in my optimistic nature. However, we both work really really hard and at £430 a night, this was taking the biscuit!! I was also peeved that the staff member they sent was not a manager, but a regular dude who really didn't give two hoots whether we were happy or not.
After several emails to the company we booked our holiday through the hotel offered to upgrade us to a beach villa for £75 a night (discounted rate) This meant that we were then paying a whopping £505 a night for half board.
So, we went to look at the beachside villa, and the hillside deluxe and beach deluxe villas. Wow!!! there is some difference I can tell ya! If you can stay in the deluxe beach villa I would go for it, they are truly out of this world amazing!!! And the general gardens on this side of the villa are in much better condition. Unfortunately the deluxe beach villas were all booked out (yes, we were willing to pay the additional 400/night for upgrade to these-was our honeymoon after all!). I really wanted the beach view, so we took the regular beach villa. These were absolutely spotlessly clean (thanks Vijay) and with great views. Beach could have been raked a bit more often and cleaned, but other than that no complaints.
Food, was good. drinks, lunch etc on the pricey side as mentioned in other reports.
Staff-some good, some terrible. the best by far was our cleaner for the beachside villa.Also, an egyption waiter very friendly, and a young chef on work experience was a dote! Met Snr Management staff when we were leaving and he seemed like a really nice chap. There was a dude who checked in on us a couple times pre-dinner at the bar. Annoyingly he seemed to check in only with my husband, I noticed he did this with all the couples. Same happened in Dubai (find this very annoying!!)
Spa- absolute heaven!!! amazing, amazing, amazing.
Would I go back? Only if I can afford to stay in the beach deluxe villas and food an expense bill of €2500 at the end (ours came to €1500).
In Summary, hotel needs to fire/motivate some staff members who are performing below standard and dragging down what has the potential to be a great resort! Also, I would have a better complaints policy in place. I feel that we didn't have our complaint treated well. I would have liked a manager to come and check we were happy with the second room, and a follow up call to check all was ok. Also, tidy the beach, that is your main pulling power after all!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annette_odonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakhzoda, Manager at Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and for giving us your feedbacks during your stay with us.

It was our great pleasure to have you honeymoon with us and we hope you were able to experience the true magic of the islands and take home with you many happy memories. We were very pleased to know that you had a fantastic time during your stay in our lovely resort.

We are grateful for your comments on our villas, please note that the cleanliness is our first priority and all villas are being cleaned, inspected prior to arrival of the guests. We took over the management of the resort in March 2011 and have made great effort to make up the 5 star standards. During your next we will be happy and proud to show you our achievements in re-looking and polishing the service level.

We were happy that you were delighted by the exceptional service of our team members and it is with great pleasure we will share your comments with our team.

Once again, thank you for your inputs and we look forward to welcoming you back on your wedding anniversary to the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,
Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

As a rule I avoid passing judgment in the heat of the moment, but this time I am afraid I will make an exception. And before I get on to the details, be mindful that I consider myself an easy person when it comes to holidays. “Just give me the white sandy beach and the sun, the rest I don’t care” is what I usually say, but Labriz has taught me that sometimes there is more to it for a pleasant holiday, esp when you pay the premium.

Cost
By far the more overpaid holiday of my life. Maybe due to the holiday season premium (spent Xmas week) but still... 7 nights, half board, garden villa, indirect Emirates flights from London, a bottle of wine every night, a couple of cocktails during the day and a spa session for 2, you are looking at around £5k for a couple.

Transfer
I’ve got 3 words for you; travel sickness pills. Loads of them. I don’t get sea sick but a few passengers did. The boats used are not just for the guests, but also for supplies and island locals, which makes them flat and wide, hence you feel every wave. Don’t agree with the views of previous reviewers about them being “fishing boats with tents” but they are not modern (airplane seats from the 80s) and definitely not appropriate for the journey (they quote 35-40 mins, ours where 50mins and 1 hr...)

Accommodation
Size-wise the room was massive and quite modern. Yes there were some ants at the mini bar and the bathroom, but hey, it’s the tropics, right? Didn’t make a fuss about it (eeeasy, remember?). Not much of a distance from the actual beach but we did have to walk through the beach villas (if I had one, I’d be seriously pissed with all the people walking by my terrace all the time). The garden villas on the south have a small patio, the ones on the north (after the tennis court) do not.

Island
The island itself is magnificent. The beach is enormous and of tremendous natural beauty. We have also trekked to its secluded beaches and all of them are pc-desktop material. A small advise; take trainers with you and go to Anse Mondon (only if you are aged between 15-35, anything else without the guide will probably perish in the jungle). The pictures at Belle View will be with you forever. Having said that, keep in mind 2 things; a) you will NOT be able to swim almost anywhere. The water is up to your waist at best and you’ll probably need those special shoes to walk on the corals. b) the beach does not have any sunbeds/ umbrellas set up. You’ll take your towel and you’ll lie on the sand. There are some plastic ones piled-up close to the pool area but you’ll have to drag them yourself. And get some mosquito repellent.

Food/ Drinks
When they say buffet, they literally mean buffet, at least when it comes to food quality at the Café Dauban. It wasn’t bad, I still came back fatter, but it was plain simply indifferent. Ask me what is your most memorable dish and the answer would be “I don’t remember a single one of them”. And this comes from a person who doesn’t own a frying pan, so anything is good enough for me. A bottle of average wine is at least SCR1000, a cocktail is SCR200, a bottle of water is SCR40.

Facilities
The gym is okish, so is the tennis court (make a reservation). The spa though is a-ma-zing and a definite must. Phenomenal facilities, great views, the “Degrees” (jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, small pool) are probably best I have enjoyed. Average price for a 1hr-session is SCR1600.

Staff
Words cannot even describe it. I can go on and on about how many times it took them ages to get our order, how many times you get to serve yourself, or the number of times you need to ask for a cup of coffee or tea... even the bills were wrong a few times. I always tip staff by principle. At Labriz I lost the will to do so after day 3. As per room cleanness, twice it was serviced after 3pm (...) and for the first couple of days we had to “beg” for towels.

Conclusion
This is not a 5-star hotel in my book, not even a 4-star for that matter. When you pay £5k for a holiday, during the season where any resort is supposed to perform at its best, this type of service is simply unacceptable. I would advise this resort to people who are into the DIY/ Ikea mentality and jungle photography.

Room Tip: Would advise to request to be located at northern part, as the beach is much better there in my opin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Panos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynelleamante, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa.

We generally receive positive comments from our guests and we take into consideration your constructive feedbacks. As Hilton recently took over the management of this resort, rest assured that we will continue to do our best to improve the quality of service in accordance to the standards and values of the Hilton brand.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your unpleasant stay; I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Etienne Gailliez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silhouette Island
14.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
15.3 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Enchanted Island Resort
Enchanted Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Round Island
174 reviews
24.8 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
16.4 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 69, Silhouette Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Silhouette Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silhouette Island
Price Range: $329 - $1,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa is nestled on the famous white sand shore of Silhouette Island surrounded by lush jungle, magnificent mountains and a rich cultural heritage.Discover a wealth of choice in an idyllic setting. Savour Créole specialties and the freshest locally-caught seafood at our seven restaurants and bars. Tone up in the high-tech Fitness Centre or dive into a 5-star PADI training course. For ultimate bliss,experience the rejuvenating rituals of Silhouette Spa. We are delighted to welcome you to Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa and hope to make your stay effortless, happy and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort And Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Hotel Silhouette Island
Super 8 Mahe Island
Labriz Silhouette Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing