We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelmed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachcomber Seychelles Sainte Anne
Certificate of Excellence
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here after a week on safari in Kenya and were a little disappointed. Perhaps it is unfair to compare with the Maldives but it is priced at that level so should really stand up to comparison.
First impressions were good - a short boat trip from Mahe and a welcome from the Manager and a girl called Casey. She took us to our room in a golf buggy and gave a very brief introduction to facilities on the way - she seemed quite keen just to drop us and get away. In fact most of the staff other than waiters were not particularly friendly when you passed them in the resort.
The villa was very nice, large and well equipped but not much of a view other than a few palm trees. The bikes which we hoped to ride around the resort were downright dangerous, one had a front brake lever which was not connected and the other had no side stand. They were also very uncomfortable so we did not bother with them again. It can be quite a walk around the resort but there are golf buggies which you can summon if required.
The view from the pool/restaurant area is rather disappointing as it looks out over the industrial areas of Victoria with its wind turbines which detracts from the tropical island feel.
Food in the Abondance buffet restaurant was generally very good but it was a bit of a struggle
to get booked into the other restaurants - suggest booking them before you arrive to ensure you get a reservation - you can always cancel once you are there.
Robinson is quite nice, rustic and situated on the beach. You cook your food on a hot stone but the table we were given was very dark and it was impossible to see whether it was cooked so we did not eat much rather than get fstomach problems.. The seafood restaurant was nice - also on the beach but there is not a huge choice. Our favourite was Mont Fleurie which was the fine dining option and we went there twice as we do not really want to have buffet twice a day.
The cocktails in the bar were very good but the service could be slow. Lunch options are limited to the buffet again or a light salad/sandwich at the beach bar.
One major gripe was the lack of any decent beer - the local brew is just fizz - surely Carlsberg, Heineken or Bud/Becks is not too much in a 5 star resort
There is a distinct lack of information about trips and excursions but ask at the sports bar
Snorkelling to the left of the jetty is quite good once you get out over the seagrass. We took the snorkel excursion twice and enjoyed it both times, seeing a turtle and a large Eagle Ray. The glass bottom boat trip was a bit of a waste of time- not much to see until you stop and feed the fish.
The visit to Moyenne island is also well worthwhile. Take cash as there is an entrance fee and also a small bar/cafe where you can get refreshments.
The giant tortoises are amazing and the walk around the island very interesting but a little steep at times - best to take water!
There is not a great deal at the airport - no lounges etc and shops which seem to open in rotation!
Overall a nice rest but would not rush back

Room Tip: The rooms at the far end near the Mont Fleurie have a better beach and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BADGEREssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    214
    78
    46
    32
See reviews for
256
609
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed over Xmas and New Years at this lovely spot in heaven again. Just again pure joy: lovely attentive service, fabulous food, unbeatable but relaxed athmosphere. Especially the New Year's Party was an absolutely thrilling event! Grandezza in Paradise. Thank you to Norbert, Kevin, Govind - but also to Carl, Gutam, Tinesh as well as to Jean-Loup. You make this place so special - it's like coming home.

Room Tip: Let Govin take care of it - it will work out just fine. For families - there are a few villas with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Beau Vallon, Seychelles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was not our first time to Ste Anne, and from the moment of arrival we immediately felt 'at home'. The staff are so welcoming and its just those extra little touches that leave memorable experiences. What was truly amazing was the buffet on New Years Eve; the food was not only exquisite but the décor, layout and entertainment was first class. For the first time in years, our children happily played at the Kids Club whilst we could enjoy dinner, dancing and mingle with other hotel guests. From our perspective, 2014 definitely started off very well thanks to the great evening we spent. The following day was spent having a massage, eating and relaxing by the beach with friends and family....having cocktails at sundown whilst your children are in the pool or playing hide and seek leave lasting memories. We hope to be back again for the eve of 2015!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Seychelles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I just spent Christmas 2013 at the Beachcomber Sainte Anne Resort & Spa and had a marvelous time! This Beachcomber is the only hotel on the wild and mountainous 220 hectare Ste. Anne Island located within the first marine park ever established in the western Indian Ocean. The Resort is accessible by a short 10 minute boat ride from Victoria, the capital of Seychelles--no need to island hop by air to reach Ste. Anne (although helicopter service is available). My villa was a comfy world in itself, with WiFI, TV and movies, a well stocked mini-bar, and special fruit and dessert treats provided by the resort. There was a spacious indoor bathroom with double sinks, a bathtub and shower, plus a separate toilet room, and a second outdoor open-air shower in a private jungle setting. Because most of Ste. Anne Island is yet undeveloped, the Resort offers a variety of excursions including mountain hikes, snorkeling, ... and visits to hawksbill sea turtle nesting beaches. The female turtles of this endangered species nest in the daytime and will provide nature lovers an unforgettable experience. If you are lucky you may even see baby hatchling turtles making their way to the sea. The main restaurant, aptly named the "L'Abondance" offers buffet service for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with so much variety that the choice of food is almost overwhelming. In fact, the only reason that I didn't gain weight during my visit was that the Resort offered so many activities that I was able to burn as much energy as I consumed... swimming, hiking, turtle watching, bicycle riding, a well equipped gym and even yoga classes.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just returned from a two week trip to different islands in the Seychelles with our two kids (age 8 and 9). Our last destination was Sainte Anne Resort & Spa on a private island in the middle of a marine park just outside Mahé. This is a really luxurous resort with large villas (many with private pools) and activities like kids club, snorkling trips, good gym facilities etc. But what’s really outstanding is the incredibly personal and friendly service. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel like extra special guests and make our visit absolutely the best experience for the whole family. Things like allowing us to keep our villa and extending our all-inclusive dining our whole last day until 9 p m, with no extra charge, but also “little things” like knowing exactly what soft drinks our kids liked, and delivering free canapés and snacks to the room each afternoon.

The resort has a buffet restaurant and other a la carte restaurants (two that were open when we were there). The food in the buffet restaurant was very good, but we would definitely recommend the two a la carte restaurant for a more relaxing dining experience. At the Robinson restaurant you could grill your own food, which was fun for the kids. We took the shrimp and lobster supplement, which was a very good choice.

Room Tip: We would recommend the beach villas with private pools, they were perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjorkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was not our first and definitely not our last visit to the Beachcomber Sainte Anne Resort & Spa because we love the idyllic setting, the happy team looking after us and the absolute relaxation. This time was made even more special because we were privileged to see a sea turtle coming on the beach to lay her eggs. We also did an amazing, must do, four-hour walk around the island of St Anne.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite, with private pool, is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbuDhabiDodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This one comes from the times when Seychelles were exclusive destination and the resort still has blend of those. You can feel it lovely wooden decor and bathroom details in your villa, lauout of central space and whole concept of the place. Its on the island, but still very close to Mahe. Its modern, but classic at the same time. Dont go snorkeling with their boat as the best corals are right offshore to the left as you face jetty. Food is good abeit slighly more simle than in Kempinsi or Ephelia, but still very good resort and probably the best place to get married while on Seychelles. Recomended. Highly

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank KimWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Anne Island
4.7 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.8 mi away
Enchanted Island Resort
Enchanted Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Round Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 36 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Seychelles Sainte Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Seychelles Sainte Anne

Property: Beachcomber Seychelles Sainte Anne
Address: | Mahe, Sainte Anne Island 22440, Seychelles (Formerly Beachcomber Sainte Anne Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Sainte Anne Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte Anne Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beachcomber Seychelles Sainte Anne 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One island, one resort in Seychelles If you are dreaming of a luxury holiday in the Seychelles, choose the Sainte Anne Island, a Beachcomber hotel set on an exclusive private island. Sainte Anne Island is undeniably one of the finest hotels in the Seychelles and an ideal choice for couples and honeymooners. An optional all-inclusive package offers you carefree holidays from the moment you arrive until the day of departure. Accommodation is in 87 private villas, 29 of which have private pools. All are set on a 220-hectare private island, surrounded by one of the largest marine parks in the Indian Ocean. Sainte Anne Island blends seamlessly with nature. Lazy days can be spent discovering the island's natural delights. On the pristine beaches, strewn with granite rocks, the only footsteps that you will see will be your own... Colourful bougainvilleas, frangipane trees, hibiscuses and palm trees blend in with the original vegetation. Immerse yourself in an island of dreams and sensual pleasures. Superb cuisine is served in the resort's four restaurants*, which include three beach restaurants to add to the enjoyment of your holiday in the Seychelles. Sainte Anne Island has paid a great deal of attention to its leisure facilities. Nestled in an idyllic tropical setting, the Spa by Clarins is a spacious sanctuary for the body and mind. The resort also has a sports & leisure centre. In the crystal-clear waters of the marine park, a colourful kingdom of sea-life is ready to be explored. The underwater kaleidoscope of colours, shapes and slants of light swirls with innumerable fish species while spectacular corals, sea anemones and algae act as a fascinating stage set. Departing from the sports centre, three different treks invite you to discover the many facets of Sainte Anne Island under the guidance of the qualified staff. Another plus is Sainte Anne's location, just 10 minutes away by boat from Mahe, making it a convenient stepping-stone for island hopping in the Seychelles. *The hotel reserves the right to close up to two restaurants throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelocity, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcomber Seychelles Sainte Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sainte Anne Resort And Spa
Sainte Anne Hotel Sainte Anne Island
Sainte Anne Island Hotel
Sainte Anne Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing