We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to North”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Island Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Island
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Forget about the price this is paradise, the staff are exceptional and very accommodating to all your needs......... simply beautiful.....

Room Tip: The villas are equally brilliant and with all the creature comforts, one can only say that the furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafarieCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

Since there are only 11 villas on the island all the staff get to know you much better. Everyone is smiling and willing to accommodate your every need. The food was good, though I feel like they should have a proper menu instead of a set menu for everyday. The wildlife there is amazing, where ever you go you get to meet many tortoises. Whilst there we got to release baby turtles into the wild. The lectures were a good learning experience and its amazing to learn how the island irradiated rats and how they take such great measures to keep them away. The spa is gorgeous overlooking beautiful views of the turquoise blue sea. The villa was beautiful and the beach was in pristine condition (no garbage) just gleaming white sand. Sometimes you could spot the eagle rays leaping out of the water near the shallows, but they are harmless. Overall we had an amazing experience at North Island and hopefully will be back soon!

Room Tip: Travelling in March and April choose a villa 1-6 since they have the biggest beach at the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Though rates are high, once there you are in heaven. I think that every minute we spent there was worth the money we d paid. They put themselves out to make your stay perfect, you are spoilt beyond expectations, there s never a NO. Decoration is amazing, every tiny detail has been thought and taken care of in such a tasteful way. Staff are amazingly spontaneus and friendly. An ideal place to nurse your soul and spirit. They always make sure you you meet as few other guests as possible. If you are looking for peace, quiet and privacy, it s the place to go. The only tiny drawback is that the sea is a bit rough.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pau222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The place is exeptional and I agree with all the brilliant reviews.

However, the food in the restaurant is average. And, most importantly, my friend had a significant amount of money stolen from the villa. Management was helpful and waived some of the bills.

Just make sure you keep everything in a safe box provided.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Alexandra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We wanted to say a huge THANK YOU to the staff of North Island for one, if not the, most amazing and spectacular time of our lives. Everything was to perfection – the food, service, accommodation, I could continue! ...and of course the proposal from my fiancée did help!!!

The management team were in a lot of dialogue with my fiancée prior to our visit organising for the ring to be in safe hands, and for the evening all to be perfect, and it was! Honestly, everything was more than I could have ever dreamed off...

The accommodation itself is so breath-taking, when I walked in I simply cried as I was so overwhelmed at the beauty of the view and the bungalow itself. You have your own cinema room, three/four bathrooms, your own kitchen, pool, relaxation area around the pool etc. The beach in front of your bungalow is stunning; we did not see one other family/couple at all on the beach during our weeks stay.

Turtles and large tortoises walk the island freely. Make sure you get a tour from the guides that look after the animals, they are so knowledgeable and have named most of the 80 or so tortoises! We were luckily enough to free baby turtles into the ocean during our stay (and it was the morning of the proposal!).

One of the most luxurious parts about North Island is the “no menu” policy. The chef would sit with us most mornings to discuss what we might like for that day. One night we said we would like the type of food served at Nobu and Zuma… he delivered! the food was as if we were at those restaurants in London!! The food served on North is what you would expect from a Michelin star restaurant.
The staff are so so welcoming and friendly and make your stay the best experience you could ever dream of. So amazing, I cried when I arrived and left!!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We were here for our honeymoon and our luggage didn't make it (it went to Paris for some reason) so they upgraded us to the nicest room and we could not have loved the place more. The bathtubs overlooking the ocean are reason enough, the delicious food, the gorgeous design, it's a really special place, one of the nicest I've ever seen. We combined it with a safari in South Africa.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The North Island resort in the Seychelle Island group is simply called North-Island because the 11 Villas are the only thing on the island!!!! 25 people can be accommodated in the 11 villas. Each one is over 5000 square feet (this is not a typo!! 5000 square feet!!) of rustic luxury for two people!! There are 110 staff (including biologists) to look after the 25 guests and the islands resident Giant Tortoises (all have names!). Needless to say, the service is understated and impeccable.
This is the ultimate barefoot luxury.......at happy hour if you are feeling a bit snacky, the Bartender asks the Chef to come down to the beach to make you fresh sushi or pizza in a wood fired oven as you watch the sunset.....then later for dinner the staff will set up a Barbeque at your villa and the Chef will cook your catch for you as you dine al fresco!! If this isn't your bailywick you can eat at the restaurant outdoors or in, or dine in your huge villa...private plunge pool, outdoor romantic cabanas...just make sure to fluff the pillow first so you don't accidentally sit on a gecko!! They also like to hang around the showers climbing up and down the rock walls...very amusing to watch them.

The island is forested and the roads are wide enough for the golf carts so you can explore by driving around (watch for toroises on the road) or hiking if you prefer...there is a PADI Certified Dive Shop and they take you diving or snorkelling as you wish...all included in the cost. We got to briefly frolic with a dolphin and saw eels, lovely corals, loads of colorful fish...some of which ended up on our BBQ that night!

What makes this island the ultimate getaway for Billionaires and famous people wanting privacy (Bill Gates rented the entire island to ensure privacy) is that the island is out in the Indian Ocean, unreachable except by helicopter. There are no wharfs or jetty's and the closest island is too far to arrive by boat. There is no air-strip to land a plane.

When you land on the grass field that is the helipad, you are welcomed by the Manager and a fleet of golf carts to take you and your luggage to the reception/office and restaurant area.

The check- in area is an open area where you are offered a cool, wet towel to wash your hands and a fresh cold drink. The formalities are finished and you drive off to your Villa in your Golf Cart. Think Robinson Carusoe goes LUXURY and you will have a picture in your head of buildings seemingly made of rustic materials found on the island...naturally fallen trees removed from the forest to now be used in construction of the villas...each one is a unique work of art with every single technological convenience hidden in the walls...each villa has 5 showers, a private film viewing room, a gigantic bath tub with the wall that slides open and you feel like you are outside, the main bedroom is fully sealed off with air conditioning for those not liking the tropical heat to sleep in......I say, bring it on!! Outdoor showers, walls that roll away bringing the outdoors inside......the wildlife, natural beauty, diving, snorkelling, fishing, hiking, baby turtle hatchings, gigantic Tortoise experiences......the ultimate in a nature based getaway.

You all might remember last year when it was rumored that Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt got married in secret......GUESS WHAT!! They were on North-Island at the same time we were!!
One of our group saw Brad but none of us believed him!!

Our stay on North-Island was a one night "always to be remembered" experience....we were on a cruise ship and flew by helicopter to the island for one stunning day and night and then helicoptered to meet back up with our ship at the next island.....thanks to Linda at TravelWizard.com for telling us about this hidden paradise and for making the complicated arrangements for us...lucky that it was not windy and the helicopter could fetch us on time to make it back to the ship.......other wise we would have had to join the ranks of Robinson Carusoe and be stranded in paradise!!!!!!!!

This island comes with a hefty price tag.........is it worth it?? I think every penny was well spent and I am grateful to have had the experience that only the very wealthy can afford!!

Room Tip: All the Villas are Beach Front and each Villa comes with a Golf Cart to get around making the the 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank livetotravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Island
18.6 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
23.6 mi away
Enchanted Island Resort
Enchanted Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Round Island
189 reviews
19.5 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
24.6 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort & Spa
Hilton Seychelles Labriz Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Silhouette Island
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Island Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Island Seychelles

Address: North Island, Seychelles (Formerly Wilderness Collection North Island Seychelles)
Location: Seychelles > North Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Island
Price Range: $2,800 - $2,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a turquoise haven of unspoiled oceans filled with sea life, North Island is a spectacular tropical retreat that epitomises barefoot luxury. Miles from the bustle of daily life, you will be coaxed into relaxation and indulgence within this paradise. With only 11 individually handcrafted luxurious villas shaded by lush vegetation and the white sands of the beach but a step away, privacy is at its utmost. A lounge, dining room and library, scenically located health spa and gym, and rim-flow pool are all set on a gigantic outcrop with fabulous views over the clear, warm waters. A sunset bar and restaurant are tucked away on the western side of the island. This rare sanctuary where natural habitats are being rehabilitated will inspire and touch you. Did you know?Since our inception we have been rehabilitating the natural habitat of the island and reintroducing critically endangered Seychelles fauna and flora – known as 'the Noah's Ark Project'.Cradled between three gigantic outcrops, North Island comprises 210 hectares of lush tropical vegetation, coconut palms and takamaka trees surrounded by pristine beaches.Activities include scuba diving, snorkelling, fishing, boating, walking, and biking. On the ocean floor, hard and soft corals are circled by an endless array of colourful fish, such as spotted eagle rays, parrotfish, round ribbontail rays and white-tip reef sharks. Green and hawksbill turtles emerge to nest on our beaches in growing numbers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Island Hotel North Island
North Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing