We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXTREMELY BEAUTIFUL ... BUT NO REAL COFFEE AT BREAKFAST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“EXTREMELY BEAUTIFUL ... BUT NO REAL COFFEE AT BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We travelled the world, yet we managed to be greatly surprised by Le Domain de l'Orangeraie!
The accomodation has to be seen to be believed. They managed to merge the Borneo's primary rain forest Lodges with the open air bathroom facilities of the best resorts in Bali with an incredible care of details and clever unusual solutions in every corner with particular reference to lighting.
The pool setting is incredibly beautiful to look at and also practical.
The electric cars that shuttle you from sea level to the jungle level are always there ready for you day and night.
We cannot comment about the food, we found some local simple places with very good Creole food and didn't have time to try the hotel restaurant.
The place is so beautiful it lets you forget about the somewhat erratic room servicing and a lying manager who guaranteed free cappuccinos at breakfast for us  and then put all of them in the bill... Cappuccinos is basically all we have for breakfast and didn't want to pay €22 a day for them having already paid for B&B.  In reality this is the only (minor) negative comment. It's a fact that the place is not actually completed, the final restaurant area was due to be ready in a few weeks. Once it's up and running Managers and Staff will learn... maybe.
Should we return to Seychelles L' Orangeraie ... with free cappuccino ... will be our only choice.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    389
    143
    70
    33
See reviews for
206
1,162
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beau Vallon, Seychelles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

This was my third trip to La Digue, and I was anxious to see the development of this hotel. Although I didn't stay here, I booked two spa treatments and had drinks at the outdoor bar on several occasions.

For a spa appointment, the club car takes you up the mountain to the spa villa which is beautiful. My first treatment seemed a bit rushed, but since this is a new hotel, I hoped they were in the process of working out some service details.

My second treatment, a spa manicure, was fantastic! I was not rushed at all, and in fact encouraged to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery from the air conditioned spa room.

I was also given a free tour of the hotel grounds which was a nice touch. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, and I love the outdoor showers (my favorite feature). The bungalows are built into the mountain and take advantage of the lush surroundings.

The outdoor bar on the patio is lovely and is a great place to unwind with friends with a tropical drink and warm Indian Ocean breezes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Souffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We had read all the comments on your site about the building work , but thought we would check it out. Arrival is greeted by about 50 builders working around the hotel and
a huge digger on what looks like a bomb site next to the main building. Incredibly grand
receptionist can let us have a room for e26O for 1 night only. No thanks - it's not even in
a great place on this very beautiful island. We got straight on our bikes to La Digue Island Lodge which is absolutely lovely - on a beautiful beach, with completely delightful staff.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank HarrietRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeraieManagement, Director of Sales at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Sir, Madame,

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your opinion.

With this message, we would like to draw your particular attention that Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie has opened its seafront area since December 20th 2010 already. A place, where our clients can enjoy a magnificent infinity pool and stylish cocktails on a terrace, overlooking the Indian Ocean.

We therefore regret that you feel like being on a “bomb / building site”, despite the fact that the extension is done since weeks, the area is opened and seems to be an ideal retreat to unwind on La Digue Island, according to recent comments. More pictures of this area are available on our latest newsletter which can be provided upon request by our reservations or sales department, for your perusal.

On another hand, our Eden Rock Spa located on a peak surrounded by massive granite boulders, opened its doors on November 1st 2010, and welcomes guests in the most enchanting setting of Anse Severe.

A Presidential villa with generous living space, private butler, swimming pool and whirlpool is also opened since November 1st 2010, and completes our collection of Garden Villas, Villas de Charme as well as Villas de Charme Elegance.

Please feel free to contact us via our official website for more information,

We remain available at all times and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you and make you feel the exoticism of our property,

Best regards,

Sales & Marketing Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We had great time in La Digue, so was the saty in this resort.

The lobby is an open one, looks fantastic. A great garden with pavillon, meadow, tropical plants. Our 2-storey semi-detached villa is located in the green garden.

The ground floor of our villa has an open Kitchen with cooking utensiles, living room and the terrace where we had our breakfast and dinner. The first floor is a bedroom with storage room and bathroom. The villa is decorated with local artwork and wooden handcraft, nice! You can find fresh flowers on the towels, fruits plate, tropical touch…

Beside the bathroom on the first floor, on the ground floor we have an outdoor shower, which is quite convenient for washing the sand away after coming back from the beach which is a few steps away.

Guests can borrow bicycles for free, for snorkeling equipment you have to pay an extra fee. So we rode almost the whole island by bike. It was a great time.

The breakfast was abundant and delicious, without doubt. Two women in white served it on our terrace, fabulous!

The rate is reasonable, compared with Chateau de feuilles in Praslin.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_vM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for two nigths last September, as a part of our honeymoon in Seychelles.
At first I should say that we had booked via a local travel agent a Garden Villa, though upon our arrival we were upgraded to a Villa de Charme without even tell us that we got upgraded. Villa de Charme was absolutely stanning! Great decor, amazing decorative items, separate toilet room, exterior shower and bathtub, two sinks, all in stone and marbles-really zen! Great shampoo-shower gel etc. Big room with beautiful veranda overlooking to a little lake inside the property. The bed was amazing. As honeymooners they had complimentary wine, fruit and chocolates waiting for us. In the afternoon when we were out they made our beds and left us on the bed little chocolates, the news of the day along with a 'bonne nuit' greeting. Free internet at the lobby-expensive in the room.

BUt although the room was really clean, we noticed some things pretty weird....on the balcony door there was a little animal dead that had never been cleaned and there were ants all on it.....disgusting I know! Also I noticed one day an insect on the room up on the ceiling (unidentified creature yet) and we called for someone to have it removed! I should say though that because all the 'Le Domaine' property was actually a garden with lots of trees and plants, it was normal to have lots of insects and little creatures.
The restaurant was ok but gave you the feeling of temporary-the buffet though at dinner was great, big variety-the breakfast was nice too but the staff was extremely disoriented, like there was noone there to tell them what to do, to give them some instructions etc.
When we were there the construction kept going on the seaside, so there was no pool, bar, big restaurant but we were not bothered by noise as our villa was on the hillside. At dinner because the restaurant was rather small they put tables on the lobby too to cover the needs...
The location was really good, near La Passe and 3 min walk to Anse Severe.
On the day of our return, after check out, they had a safe place where we could keep our luggage and a separate building where we could sit, have coffee, have a shower. Also really appreciated that when I asked for a particular type of bike they managed to have it in 15 min-here should say that bikes are provided free by the hotel.
I recommend this hotel and definitely would go back. I believe that when the construction on the seaside is finished (and I think it's finished now) the pool and the bar will be just dreamy. It deserves a second chance!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocojelado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed in a garden villa B&B. The villas are one storey buildings and very roomy. Interior is well designed and reminded me on Asian hotels. Also there it is no beach close to the hotel, the garden view was OK. On the other hand for the price we paid (230 EUR per villa) you could get in Asia a beachfront villa with plunge pool. The hotel is expanding and building a new restaurant and a pool (not finished by far in September) and have recently build new villas up the hill. Even there was a not very “romantic” construction site across the street of the existing premises we had not been disturbed by construction noise. The hotel offers a paid transfer from the jetty. We found it would have been better to walk the approx. 200 meter (allways follow the main path way to the left) and spend the money for a bottle of wine.
Breakfast was delivered to your villa terrace. There was no choice to choose from, especially we were missing any ham and the number of bread given to us was by far not enough, e.g. only four pretty small slices of salami for two had been a bit greedy for a 4 star hotel. Breakfast was bigger than on a plane but not much.
Later we found out that there was a nice looking small breakfast buffet served in the hotel restaurant but I assume this was for the more expensive "charme villas" guests.
We had no chance to check out those "charme villas" but given the fact that our garden villa had been very nice and stylish and you need to climb a steep hill to reach the "charme villas" we had been very happy with our choice (They even offer transfer to your room by golf cart for those guests staying up the hill).
The hotel provides for their guests bikes for free (also they were not really in good order) which was a plus. To the next real beach it is either 5-10 min up and down the hill (Anse Severe) by bicycle or 5-10 min passing the village by bicycle and short walk through Union Estate Park (Anse Source D'Argent).
The small evening buffet at the hotel did not offer more than any other buffet on the island but with a ridiculous price tag (130 EUR for two). We ate most times at La Digue Island Lodge buffet restaurant, which offers even some tables close to the beach. Count here about 60 EUR for two (plus 15 EUR for a carafe wine).
As we are real beach lovers and are always heading to beach destinations I have to admit that the Seychelles had been a bit disappointing. We have seen probably 20 beaches on three islands, but only one has been really stunning (Anse Lazio, Praslin). Only about 6 out of 20 had been really nice but almost all beaches aside Anse Lazio are not good for a swim (either sharp coral banks in the water very close to the beach or strong currents). The best beach in our opinion on La Digue was Petite Anse next to Grand Anse. Both with strong currents but perfect soft white sand and nice setting. Anse Cocos was not worth the jungle track from Petit Anse. Anse Source D'Argent was a one time nice to see (for an mere of 10 EUR pP entrance/access fee if you pay in EUR; less in local currency), but very crowded and water was not really accessible due to sharp coral banks.
When I recap the holiday I have to say that for almost everything you are paying up to double the price compared to what you would pay for the quality delivered e.g. in Europe (we have seen two star guest houses for 150 EUR, food for double the price you would spent in a European restaurant, tours around the island for double the price you would pay e.g. in Greece, ferry service prices which would get you double as far in Italy, etc.). In total we had the feeling you get on Seychelles always only half the quality/service/amount for the money paid. Even almost all the shells on the beach had been cracked in half by the reef. For the money spent it would have been better to go to Maldives or Hawaii for better value and service.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viennaresident9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Amazing...The best place to spend a few day in paradise

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aure55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
5.9 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie

Property: Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing