We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A boutique hotel that I will always remember. Fantastic service and beautiful outlets for the most relaxing time on La Digue.
I only stopped for lunch at this place, whilst visiting La Digue for a daytrip, as I was staying on Praslin Island.
Comprehensive lunch menu with local specialties, finger food, snacks, salads and sandwiches. Attentive waiters. To finish with, you will sip a cocktail near the infinity pool overlooking the turquoise Seychelles waters.
What else ?
Thanks to the team for the warm welcome.

Room Tip: Get a table near the pool, if weather allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Visiting La Digue Island the Restaurant is an amazingly beautiful place to have lunch. The view is facing the ocean and the food high quality at a reasonable level. We just stopped by biking along the coast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Planned for a year, extensive world travelers, decades of travel advising, Seychelles was on my "beach bucket list of life". We traveled 2 days all the way from California. Outsiders and Seychellois call La Digue the jewel of the Seychelles and a step back into time. Worth the trip. Some cars, tons of bicycles, a few ox carts (including their "home" just next to Le Domaine if you peer through the fence!) We stayed a full week at Le Domaine. We could not have chosen better for so many reasons: The Atmosphere: Chic African. Whoever designed this hotel is briliant.
The Room: I met with management and were even toured the Presidential villa. First I had asked for a Villa de Charme up high with a view. The room we were upgraded to and moved to - for the first time ever made "a room with a view" not important. I also met with management with a map about the "best" villas to be in. So without hesitation, worth the money, try to get Villa de Charme elegance #226. Most villas have soaring ceilings - chic natural materials. 226 was effectively a "compound" - the far side and end unit in a small building of 2 villas - whose outdoor walls are the naturally set huge boulders of the Seychelles (wow) - walking distance to the center of the hotel or call the constant golf carts of the hotel. Outdoor terrace and then outdoor huge bathroom. Dressing area - double sinks - tub - shower area. The 3 Villa de Charme at Le Domaine also have an outdoor jacuzzi in its own mini pavillion with gauzy curtains. Set among the rocks, glowing turquoise at night, we don't normally care about jacuzzis but the rock setting and lighting added to the magic of the room.
Magic: There are several special things to note Le Domaine does/has. 1) They take turndown service to a new level. The typical turndown of the bedding and chocolate but they add some touches. All the wall mood lighting and lighting of the turquoise jacuzzi are aglow - a hanging overhead candle is lite each night - a huge palm tree like piece of art - that is in many units - is at night aglow with a changing each few second 3 color spotlight . 2) Breakfast. Beautiful waterfront setting and the special touches are a sand floor and unlimited complimentary good quality Nederburg S. Africa sparking wine. 3) Sunset. Get a drink or a bottle of wine poolside and sit and watch the sun set behind Praslin in the distance. So lovely and scenic. The people:
Amazing employees. I want to point out exceptional interactions with Selby - delightful, caring reservations director, Ishan - charming witty front desk manager, Bahwanee - the sweet and ever smiling best waiter you will ever meet.
Excursion: A must and reason to see La Digue is "the most beautiful beach in the world" Anse Source d'Argent. Le Domaine has a veritable fleet of bicycles so enjoy the short bike ride and we ate lunch right there waterfront at Lanbousir. As a public place, we were still surprised that a country "gem" like this beach has litter and broken glass. Sad to see that.
Stocking the room: There is a grocery store just outside the gates of Le Domaine on the left in town - then much further Gregoire's also on the left. Note, we were so surprised that both had little to no beer or wine. We felt very grateful we had bought wine at the 24/7 duty free in Dubai airport and at grocery stores on Mahe before coming over.
Safety: Le Domaine is very carefully guarded as years ago hotels in the Seychelles had robberies. We felt very safe there. However when we walked into town one night with our 2 teenage girls about ten 15-25 year old youths harassed them and one got right in front of them - even with us their parents right there. I wanted to go for a run on my own in the daytime and I was told as a solo woman not to. As such, we only 1x left the hotel at night.
Beach: Le Domaine can and does very carefully control the quality of the resort - "their beach" just next to the pool is physically open to the public so there was trash/broken glass and we would have had to watch our possessions vigilantly so never strayed from the pool seating. As such a spectacular, clean, safe beach is the one downfall of Le Domaine but they can't control that.
Access: There is ferry service from Mahe/Praslin whose dock is visible from the Le Domaine pool it is so close. Inbound we took a ZilAir helicopter as the water was so rough. It lands 5 minutes by golf cart from the hotel. Outbound we took the ferry which was a little rough but fine and clearly highly economical vs a helicopter.
Bottom line .. . if the Seychelles is on your beach bucket list .. .do not miss Villa 226 at Le Domaine. My personal opinion is that the water/beach/property of the Conrad Hilton Maldives is a #1 beach experience in the world. But . . . the boulders and tortoises of the Seychelles are a beach goers "something to see". Thank you Le Domaine and Selby and Ishan for a life memory trip.

Room Tip: Villa de Charme elegance #226 is considered by management - and by us after a tour - as the best vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was a great choice, we are talking about a beautiful place with large rooms and amazing outdoors, the location is simply amazing and the view to the sea is a great way to start the day during the breakfast.

This is a relaxing place where you will feel very comfortable and the surrounding areas are great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank jlucas_ericeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel for someone looking to explore La Digue the worlds best beach. There are a lot of guest houses on La Digue but if your looking for a boutique hotel which is comfortable this one is perfect.

I loved the spa which is built around the granite boulders offering stunning views from the treatment rooms.

The rooms are spacious best part is the bathroom beautifully decorated.
Rooms are dimly light some extra lighting would be great.

Highly recommend this little hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank sarina-reel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights in a Villa De Charme and would stay another again. The villa is beautiful; massive balcony with sun beds, large room, outdoor shower and bath. The only thing was the toilet which felt a bit claustrophobic but thats the only complaint. We sampled every theme night and the food was great with lots to choose from and things that were cooked on the spot for you. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and well mannered. We didn't use the little beach area as we didn't see the point because you could use one of their bikes (yes, some are old but they work perfectly fine for going round the island which we did) and go to the other amazing beaches like Anse Source d'Argent. The pool is great too as it looks out over the water and you can see the harbour, which is literally 2mins away. Had food at the pool too and ate it there without problems. Perfect!

Room Tip: For Villa De Charme, make sure you dont get the first one as it looks onto the staff area and doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skydiver30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a very nice property in close proximity to the ferry dock. It is relaxing but probably the trendiest spot on the island. The pool is beautiful and the bar is very nice at night although it is pricey.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank e w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#4 of 7 in La Digue Island
933 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,063 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
811 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa

Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range: $421 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing