We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rules, rules, rules, no thanks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“rules, rules, rules, no thanks.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

First I need to start off with the positives because this truthfully isn't a biased review of any sort. Firstly, the island of La Digue - exceptional! Mind blowing! A real beauty! Beaches are surreal and award winning. Then there is the Hotel, Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie - a thorn amongst the roses, an absolute death trap.

On arrival at the hotel, everything seems grand with a marvelous entrance and modern architectural design. Our smiles of awe and awsomeness soon turned into a frown of doom and gloom, which pretty much lasted throughout our stay. The welcoming hostess had a huge chip on her shoulder. She gave us a very brief and cold welcoming and any other questions raised by us was followed by a huff and puff like the big bad wolf. Any requests were a huge inconvenience for her to to follow, let alone answer if they were even possible. Luggage took forever to arrive from the dock. Isn't first impression always the last? In this case, definitely yes.

Rooms on the other hand are to die for, outside showers and private villas had everything you could need, but be carful how you use your bath towel because you only get one each throughout your stay. Maybe shower half your body the one night and the other half another night so you can save damp space on the towels?

As for the restaurant, this is an area to avoid at all costs, not in terms of the food, but it's service. On one event : "sorry sir, you can't come in, lunch is only served at 12.30pm", time check 12.28pm... Are you serious!? Once allowed in 2 minutes later we were moved several times, as we were told you can't eat by the pool, you can't eat at the bar and so on. When we were seated in an area we didn't like, another waiter brings a gentleman a yummy burger and chips at the bar and another tourist a salad by the pool. Hmmm...favoritism? Or just poor un synchronized management and shocking service.

Dinner is were I finish off this review and is the main reason for giving this hotel such a terrible review. On arrival, waiting to be seated I felt like I was back in school again "sorry sir, no slops or shorts above the knee, you can't come in" Instead of getting angry, knowing this is a beach resort, I sucked in my pride and headed back to my room which is a tiresome walk up the hill where you have to catch a golf cart, leaving my partner alone at the restaurant. Once I was finally seated a family of 7 were seated and how were the dressed? Sarongs, shorts and slops. Funny that, how dare they be dressed like that, coming from the beach.

Again, poor management each one with there own set of different rules. We started off by ordering wine that was off and smelt like vinegar. Corked wine, sour staff, it was time leave, so we left without even ordering food and ventured into the village were the locals welcomed us humbly with fantastic wines and homemade cooking.

The next day we decided to shorten our stay, we checked out earlier than arranged coming back to Mahe island were hotels are grateful for your business and we once felt we were back on holiday and not school detention.

Honestly, this hotel does not do the island justice, stern warning!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    416
    150
    71
    34
See reviews for
217
1,231
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Too big, not personalized, crazy golf cart driving from staff, bad to poor service, free bicycles are death traps, but above all, the rudest bunch of people I have ever met in a 5 star establishment.

When you pay for top prices there is an expectation level that is seriously lacking here.

New manager from France apologized after we were accused of racist remarks (utter rubbish). He advised he had just arrived and agreed the hotel needed work. Boy has he got his work cut out for himself.

Good luck to him and perhaps he is just what the hotel needs. A good shake up!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Schmidhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Sadly was only here for one night so not enough time to enjoy it properly. That said the villa was very nice, service was good and breakfast and evening meal were very good too. Transport to and from harbour were painless. Would love to go back but the bikes the hotel have are terrible and make cycling around the island much harder than it should be.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We came on our honey moon for 3 days and 2 nights. The staff at first appeared friendly enough but after a couple of interactions it seemed too robotic maybe slightly commercialised for such a tiny island. House keeping call when you have a dnd ... They might as well have knocked. Internet not the best but that doesn't concern us as we wanted to get away. The bikes they give you to roam around in are questionable. In three days we used about 10 different bikes. I wasn't too bothered but many had child seats on the back and I wouldn't put my child on a bike with no brakes. No room service in the hotel and the buggies that take you to and from the room are infrequent. All in all I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Full service hotel by the beach and what you would expect by a resort of this type. Very nice rooms and pool area. The staff extreamly friendly and service minded. My husband got sick and they were very attentive and helpful with arranging in villa dining etc. The rooms were great! They were however doing some renovations which was a bit disturbing. The beach by the hotel not that great. A la carte restaurant is really good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT_norway79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

It's hard to find fault with Domaine de l'Orangerie. Yes internet is slow and sparse, yes you may have to walk uphill to your room, but the moment you arrive all you want to do is switch off and get lost in the moment - everything about this hotel promotes that. Uncompromising luxury, spacious and environmentally esthetic rooms, lush grounds, exquisite food (the a la carte is a MUST), and staff going above and beyond to make your stay memorable and personable without ever overcrowding. The bathroom gets an extra mention, so too the staff at the evening dinner service in the a la carte restaurant. I wish I knew the name of the young indian waiter from Jodhpur who was instrumental in adding the final touch to our stay, and the pool side shisha... sigh... Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the higher rooms for a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenirens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a short trip to La Digue, 3 days, 2 nights at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie.
We had a very friendly and smiling welcome, and housekeeping did a great job, the room was nice decorated with flowers on the bed. The gardens are really nice, with of the smallest but best details.
For us the infinity pool with the bar in the center was really the best experience. The Bar manager (Sjetty) was wonderful, from the first moment we had a 5+ service, the cocktails where just perfect. Also having a lunch at the bar was great.
Breakfast was really good, à la carte restaurant was nice, and dinner buffet was a very good experience.
The little Boutique “ Safran Vert” , is really beautiful,, unfortunately it’s good located nearby the reception, so my wife visits almost every day.
I can only congratulate the whole team doing its utmost to please its clients and to deliver quality service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crutzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Digue Island
0.8 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
836 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
Le Repaire Boutique Hotel
#2 of 7 in La Digue Island
320 reviews
6.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
997 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
985 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa

Property: Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Address: La Digue | Anse Sévere, La Digue Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > La Digue Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Digue Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De l`Orangeraie Hotel La Digue Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing